We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grand Hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

No wonder the name !!! Excellent staff friendly and helpful , explained were to go and suggest activities and dinners in excellentes restaurants . The location was also excellet at walking distance of old town . My room was confortable with the view to the bay and Royal Palace.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luisrobertobet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,981 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,362
    384
    141
    58
    36
See reviews for
300
805
136
462
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, Brazil
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Conveniently located, beautifully decorated and furnished, attentive and courteous staff. great food, perfect to the fullest extent. Everyone, in the staff as well as all the citizens in Sweden speaks good English. We weren't able book a table at the restaurant, so we booked a table at the bar located beside. The food was not delicious but creative as well , the suggested wine was one of the best, not to mention the artichoke puree.

Room Tip: If you can try booking a room viewing the palace and the sea/lake. This city is definetly not a nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We have visited Stockholm previously, and fell in love with the city. When we decided to return, we chose the Grand Hotel. The view, the rooms, the breakfast buffet, the restaurant and bar. All were perfect. We will return again and again

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Spent 5 nights in the Grand Hotel in June. Great location, boats leave opposite the hotel entrance, shopping is 5 minutes away. The hotel service is top notch, rooms large and very comfortable in a traditional classic style, friendly staff, breakfast was wonderful !

We ate in the bistro twice, first time we ate there we found the food to be excellent, so good that we decided to go back a few days later, only to be very disappointed on the 2nd occasion. Same menu, but food was just not the same level as our first evening ...... chef must have been absent that night ! The exterior terrace bar/restaurant opposite the harbour was good too, albeit with a limited menu. The spa is beautiful with a nice range of treatments. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Walking into this hotel you can tell that this hotel has not forgotten about service. I felt very welcome, and I was lucky enough to have my room upgraded upon check in. My room was large and comfortable, likewise the bed, the bathroom was the size of some hotel rooms I have stayed in recent years.

The bar and restaurant have a nice view and the staff are knowledgeable regarding wine and food selections.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Great hotel. Great location. Not cheap, but the upgraded rooms are very well appointed. In walking distance of all you need to see and if you have a front room overlooking the water then you will have a glorious stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Includes a Michelin Star restaurant but if you want to try it, you had better try and get a booking when you first make a room reservation. The suite we had was quite large.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room in the main section of the hotel. If you get a photo of the hotel it ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A first class hotel with beautiful rooms, attentive staff, and very nice breakfast. Very convenient location. EXcellent value considering hotel quality. Would benefit from more common space in the lobby though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
550 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,492 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,447 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing