We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part of the experience in this amazing city”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Part of the experience in this amazing city”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We spent 2 nights there and was totally worth it. The location could be better: a few minutes away from the Royal Palace and the Old Town and from most of the key points of interest of Stockholm. A very classic hotel, but everything works well and is up to date. Of course, not a cheap one, but good value. The rooms are very pleasant, brand new bathrooms and amenities all over - a surprise in each corner. The breakfast was gorgeous, and a special highlight to the Spa: there is nothing like walking around that fantastic city and ending up the day in a very relaxing pool & sauna. That hotel itself was a very good memory from my trip to Sweden.

Room Tip: Even inner rooms are worth
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,382
    389
    143
    57
    37
See reviews for
306
819
138
466
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Aspects of this hotel are magic. The lobby and downstairs lounge have a fabulous view overlooking one of the many waterways in Stockholm. The food and drink in the lounge are a bit pricy but nonetheless worth every penny. The atmosphere was so lovely that we opted to have cocktails there each evening of our stay rather than to venture out to restaurants. We were never disappointed. The room we were given was ok but not up to the standards we are used to. It was a bit drab as well as small. But the bath was very nice. I highly recommend this hotel despite its drawbacks. The location and ambience are very commendable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santos, SP
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the Grand Hotel for 2 nights before going on a cruise and our experience was very pleasant. We loved the hotel which is very well located, walking distance to the Royal Palace, Vasa Museum, City Hall Tower and the pedestrian street with many shops and restaurants.

The hotel staff was very kind and attentive to us all the time, specially to my father who has mobility problems. Our reservation was made by AMEX Platinum Travel Service so we had complimentary breakfast, room upgrade, late, check-out until 4pm and USD100 per room to spend at the hotel. I spent this money to have their famous Smorgasbord which is a very good Swedish buffet, we enjoyed it a lot!! We also went to the SPA which is very, very good for relax..

Our room was large with separated living room and a big bathroom. Breakfast has a large variety of food and it's very tasty. We had ours included but if you don't have it, it really worth to pay for. There is a nice bar by the lobby for drinks and food too. The hotel is not cheap, actually it's a little expensive if compared to other countries but heyy, you are in Scandinavia and everything is expensive around here, specially a 5 star hotel...

We loved the hotel and the kindness of the staff, it will certainly be my home when I'm back in Stockholm. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Royal Palace and with ocean views are the best, but they are more expensive too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodolphoBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I've stayed in most of the best hotels in the world and this is certainly up there.

The staff were fantastic and the General Manager particularly warm, friendly and most importantly knowledgable.

A hotel worth of its name, on my next trip to Stockholm I'll be stating nowhere else!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed for the first time 30 years ago. I was happy to confirm nothing has changed the status of this hotel as the top notch in the city. Its name is exactly what it was and is : GRAND.
The owners have made a complete internal refurbishing. Bahtrooms with marble tiles, very good taste and modern (no bidet).
The decorators resisted the Scandinavian trend of hiper modern design and succeded in decorating the rooms in a contemporary style but with the flair and atmosphere of some classic touches. All very pleasent to the eye and taste.
We had a suite which was very comfortable with two wardrobe areas, large living room and normal sized bedroom. 2 LED LCDs capable of receiving other inputs plus a totally automated light control sytem made the experience very modern.
AC worked extremly well.
The Spa is superb, with an indoor pool and the usual 5 star accesories of an area of this kind.
Breakfast is served in a ornated beautiful salon with an oversized buffet. In the same area you can have daily smorgasbord for luch and dinner with some aditional vegies and non-fish options.
Aditionally there is a gourmet restaurant and an outside terraca light lunch restaurant facing the harbor and the royal palace.
The location has been and still is fantastic for any tourist visiting Stockholm.
WIFI works throughtout, good speed, though in our room in certain corners the signal was weak.
All the staff we encountered where very kind and efficient.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank guillermohoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We found the position of the hotel excellent right opposite palace, and easy to get to everything our only complaint was our room over looked roofs and air conditioning unit .
On our first night we went to their Swedish smorgasbord very good even though expansive.

Room Tip: Unfortunately this is a very busy time so very hard to get an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miffy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Rather nice and comfortable 5 stars hotel. The price was reasonable. I dont like 5stars but that has a very good location and acceptable price/benefit ratio. I did not take breakfast. But evening bar was comfortable and friendly with affable staff and decent quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BorisAdvise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
567 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,521 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,506 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 154 in Stockholm
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing