We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service, great rooms and incredible breakfast buffet!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb service, great rooms and incredible breakfast buffet!”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Grand we felt very welcomed. Front desk and the concierge are very efficient and polite. Our room was really spacious and definitely felt luxurious. Room service food is nice, we had some meat balls and pasta. The thing that stood out for me the most was breakfast buffet, the selection of food is I think the most spectacular I have ever seen, a real treat. Location of the hotel couldn't be better. You have all sorts of attractions just minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,052 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,412
    397
    146
    60
    37
See reviews for
312
842
140
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My mother, sister and I stayed in the Grand Hotel during our trip to Sweden. My sister explained to the front desk that it was my mother's second trip to Sweden - the first being in 1949, and she stayed at the Grand then too. Upon hearing my mom's story, the front desk was kind enough to upgrade our room and give us the greatest service. They made my 77 year old mom feel like a queen and I appreciate them so much for doing so! Staff, room, buffet, etc. was all amazing! Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here for business in 2012
Pros: nice bar area / decent rooms / good food / good location / nice view of river
Cons: nothing really stood out / some parts looking a little run down / too many businessmen

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manto_AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I went a little while back. In summary:

Pros:
The Grand hotel probably does the BEST hotel breakfast buffet of any hotel I have ever seen ever. There were at least 5 different types of cereal, numerous juice on offer and lots of strange fruits available like Lingonberry and even things like Deer meat available for breakfast. Fantastic!
The rooms are luxurious and enormous and staff professional and attentive. We all had a fantastic stay indeed!
The location is also good. And it was easy and fun to walk around nearby.

Cons:
This hotel is somewhat expensive. But that is to be expected...

In summary. I had a wonderful time. And would definitely go back again. And cannot recommend the hotel breakfast buffet highly enough. It's amazing! You've got to see to believe it. Suggest you go starving. And just forget about having lunch that day...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian0345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I don't know if this was because we were in bad luck or it's the same for all the rooms. But we had a superior room that really felt ... well, not very up to date and not very comfortable. The bathroom was in really poor condition feeling like a half decent british hotel.
And also: My wife was having a cold in the evening so I ordered a cup of tea to the room which never arrived.
All of this was really dissapointing because we really hoped this hotel to be the best in Sweden.

Room Tip: Ask for the modern part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

An excellent hotel; impeccable service, good food and well kept rooms. Do make sure to go to the bar, not least to see some interesting facial hair on the bar staff. Fantastic location for sightseeing and shopping.

Room Tip: Get an outside room, the interior ones don't even face an interesting courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I live in Stockholm so I can say that there are a number of great hotels, but none I am sure can surpass The Grand Hotel. My husband and I spent one night at the hotel to celebrate his 60th birthday and what an experience. I can definitely recommend this to anyone, even those who live in Stockholm to take a 24 hour break and enjoy a fantastic experience. It is well worth upgrading to a Deluxe room if you can.

Check in early and go to the spa. Even if you don't take a treatment it is the perfect place to relax and unwind. But do try a massage or body treatment (I had the Nordic Beauty treatment which was heavenly). The therapists at the spa are very good at what they do, both my husband and myself were pleased. Also, try a smoothie from the bar in the spa.

The Cadier Bar is a great place either for drinks before dinner or a night cap before turning in. It is always crowded but somehow one always gets a seat after a while or just hang at the piano.

The breakfast buffé is pretty special, make sure you have plenty of time to enjoy it before checking out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baltim0reRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
577 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
1,561 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
284 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
3,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing