We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful.........”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 4 December 2013

What else is to say other than the barman introduced me to the " Hemingway Daiquiri" Superb......The breakfast buffet is incredible all but expensive at £50 per person. What a great position, overlooking the waterfront and close to all the culture and shopping.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have not been renovated, so ask for one that has.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek-Christine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,054 - 1,060 of 2,236 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2013

A great location with wonderful view of the royal castle. Close to shopping and restaurants.
Nice rooms with great service. Nice staff. Beautiful interiors. Lively bar. Breakfast a´la carte or buffet.
Worth a visit!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd or 4th floor that is newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda4069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel in October 2012 but reviewed it just now because I registered with Tripadvisor recently. My memory is still very fresh.
The location was amazing, especially if you have a Royal Palace view room, like I did. We were promptly received at the front gate, but reception formalities took a bit too long. Room decoration was nice. Tapestry, carpeting, curtains, boiserie, doors and windows were all up to standard. Particularly elegant the color scheme. Breathtaking Royal Palace and river view. The bathroom was of good size with nice shower and bathtub.
Staff shoes were low quality and not polished. Many furniture pieces in the lobby were scratched and needed restoration. The Veranda breakfast buffet had good quality food but tables were very small, too close one to the other and it looked like a cafeteria. The decoration was extremely simple and staff wore a very informal uniform. I expected extremely luxurious environment with special fabrics, particular flower compositions and large seats with space between tables as well as very formal uniforms. Definitely not waiters in shirt sleeves.
The lobby was always very cold. Furniture pieces such as armchairs were often scratched and needed restoration. THe main staircase hand rail leather cover was seriously damaged. Carpeting was very cheap. The closest restroom to the lobby was far below the star range. Elevators decoration was worth of a cheap 3 star Hotel. Very simple and tasteless corridors to the rooms, often with dirty or damaged carpeting and cheap or too bright lighting solutions (hospital like).
I was very disappointed when I found out that at 3:15 am I had to ring the bell to enter the hotel. I expect a door man to stand outside the main door all night and possibly someone to open taxi's doors in a five star hotel.
Porters were the worst part. They often had their hands in their pockets, chatted with each other and had a bad and relaxed bearing rather than standing straight and walking elegantly.
Uniforms were terrible. They were almost never fit, fabric was cheap and shoes were of a very low quality and all different, like if anyone picked his own choice as long as they were of black leather. I was mostly surprised at the chief concierge, whose shoes were of low quality and not well polished.
It bothered me to see repeatedly guests in bathrobe going through the lobby, wearing bathrobes (probably visiting the spa). Apparently no one from the staff complained.
I would definitely go back to see if things have changed.

Room Tip: Newly decorated rooms and older ones are hugely different. If you have to stay there, book a room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FersenLisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I recently had the pleasure to stay here on a business trip and wasn't disappointed at all. From the moment I arrived the staff were more than happy to help with any questions I had. I received a free upgrade with a larger room and great views. The room was extremely comfortable and well laid out. I had dinner in the hotel's bar which was very tasty. The wine menu was extensive but like much of Stockholm alcohol is pretty dear, especially compared to the UK. Location wise you can't go wrong with the Grand, it's walking distance to many attractions and a short stroll to the old town.

The hotel is dear but obviously you get what you pay for, going on a work trip makes the experience more palatable. If I was returning on a non-work trip I'd struggle justifying the price consider food and drink is generally expensive in Sweden. If you're looking for a weekend to indulge I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoobyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I prefer more trendy and boutique hotels but stayed here in business for one night. Nothing to complain, my room was in the wing with no views to Stockholm but it was not a problem for me as I only slept in the room. Make sure you get a room with a view if you need it. Nice bathroom, everything according to expectations. If you like "old world" grand hotels this is your place in Stockholm.

Best thing during my stay was the Matbaren Mathias Dahlgren next door. They have an arrangement with the hotel so you can charge to your room. When traveling solo I find it boring to eat proper dinner alone. However at Matbaren you can sit at the bar and chat with the staff. What makes this bar special is that it is a gourmet "bar food" with a Michelin star. Highly recommended, and you can go with a friend or colleague too...

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with no view, ask when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krdn-ctlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We decided a trip to Stockholm for Easter was a great idea and were recommended the hotel by a good friend. We are members of LHW and booked through them - complimentary breakfasts being part of the attraction. The hotel is in a great location and we had a brilliant room with a balcony and great views over to the palace. The room was well designed in a pale palate of greys and muted pinks - it was relaxing, We made use of the bar with its dj at weekends and some great cocktails - the oyster bar was closed for renovation which was a disappointment but not a disaster as there is a great restaurant in the hotel offering michelin star casual and formal dining - the breakfasts were fantastic and the dining room is lovely traditional and spacious. We made use of the spa facilities and enjoyed a dunk in its pool on several occasions after walking allover the city from our base at the hotel. It is not the trendiest hotel - but is probably the most comfortable if you feel like being spoiled.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view and a balcony - worth it to step out and look at the views on a bright beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

I stayed at the Grand Hotel Stockholm for 3 nights while on a business trip.

The positives:
- Its in a very good location, just opposite the Grand Palace on the waterfront and also a 5 minute walk to Sergels square and the nighlife of Stockholm. So pretty much everything is walking distance.
- The breakfast spread is truly lavish and well stocked with good quality food.
- the concierge was very helpful with some good recommendations.

The negatives:
- the rooms are TERRIBLE. its a complete let down to the otherwise beautiful exterior of the hotel. The rooms are small with outdated furniture and tapestry. There is not much space to walk around the room at all.
- the bathrooms are badly planned. The shower was very weak and stopped working the 2nd day of my stay. The water drainage noise was at times coming outside the room too.,
- the corridors to the room are dingy and have steps which make carrying the luggage a big problem.
- the rooms were too depressing to stay in and the sleep quality was poor as there was a constant noise.

For the price, this hotel room was not worth it. The exterior of the hotel is a beautiful facade but the interiors of the rooms are a complete let down. I would be better off staying in a different hotel which is priced 50% cheaper with slightly better rooms. The 2 stars are really for the location and the breakfast. Eevrything else feels 3-star in this hotel. Truly a missed opportunity,.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RMJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
632 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 155 in Stockholm
1,647 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,734 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,358 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#6 of 155 in Stockholm
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £210 - £409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing