We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast ever!!!!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Hotel is very nice, good and clean rooms. The lobby bar is fantastic. If you like to have 5 clock tea this is the place in Stockholm, but remember to book the table! The best thing is the breakfast bufee. I think it is the best one I ever had. So take time to enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank finn_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,206)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,206 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Grand is a great hotel, great location, staff is exceptional and the breakfast buffet outstanding (best I ever had in a hotel) with a great view over the channel. In addition guests have free access to the beautiful and relaxing spa (must visit if you are a guest at the hotel).
Only remark is that the beds are not the best, and not entierly what you could expect from a 5* hotel, but they are OK. All in all a great stay and a favourite in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hotel has in the resent years renovated the rooms, restaurant, bars and lobby. The rooms are classically furnished with a modern touch. The standard room is not big, but still give a feeling that it is spacious. The bathroom is very big and beautifully made. Do not miss the veranda restaurant with a spectacular view on the castle and old town.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Montagnola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I visited Stockholm just after Christmas, the old town was covered with snow, the teperatures were extremely cold. The Grand Hotel became my second home for sevaral days and I was really happy to be back in there after short walks. My room was in the main building and the view over the water and at all the christmas lights was amazing. The room was large and comfy, everything super clean. Staff and service very polite and friendly in the scandinavian way. Enjoyed my stay a lot!

Room Tip: Request the front view in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maaze70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at the Grand Hotel this past August for three nights prior to leaving on a Baltic cruise. I thought about it, and settled on a four star rating as opposed to five.

It's a lovely hotel, very comfortable rooms with fine amenities. Clean, well maintained bathrooms .... very nice! We would gladly stay there again. We ate at the hotel's breakfast buffet each morning and very much enjoyed the spread and option of food available. Service in the dining room was good. The wireless internet in our room wasn't good .... I think it was a little too far from their router. But the signal was fairly strong downstairs in the lobby and dining room, so we took advantage of that when we could.

Back to my rating. I've stayed in some very nice five star hotels around the world that take the usual level of service to the next level .... from the friendliness of the staff, extra amenities, top notch concierge, fine lobbies, etc .... and the Grand Hotel is somewhat lacking in the level of service compared to those. Not that is was bad ... just not at the same level as some of the world class five star hotels. We enjoyed our stay and felt comfortable there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcbeck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a classic, big 5 star city hotel that seems to be split in two the main front hotel and a side wing where they host conferences, etc and have many more rooms, one of our parties room was there. You want to make sure your room is in the main hotel for convenience if nothing else. The staff were all friendly, helpful, very professional and perfect English speakers. We booked through AMEX as usual, for a party of six - three rooms and they had automatically upgraded every room as per the AMEX agreement. I'm delighted by this as so many other hotels don't even for one room & when asked you are told they are full so can't. They were delightful rooms too and we had a nice view over the wharf to the old town. Nice and quiet too so slept like a log.

An unbeatable continental breakfast as well as cooked buffet. The continental was so varied with so many delightful choices I was more than happy with that. The view from the restaurant is also wonderful & light. Would stay here again automatically without a doubt, as Stockholm is such a beautiful city & Sweden as a whole impressed me so much I hope it's very soon.

Room Tip: Choose a room in main hotel with the water front view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodfozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We visited Stockholm just before Christmas. This was our first trip, and we selected the Grand based largely on assurances that the location is perfect for exploring the city. The assurances are spot on, the location is.absoluty fantastic. Great views over the water to the Royal Palace, easy walk to the Old Town and metres away from sightseeing buses and boats.

Very professional and friendly welcome from the doormen and bellboys. We were escorted to the reception area where we were quickly checked in and assigned our room in the annex. The lobby was very busy with people milling about ahead of a function. The annex is a fair walk away, and as other reviewers have noted this means having to weave through crowds outside the function rooms.

Our room was in a 6th floor corner overlooking the front of the hotel and harbour. Fabulous views both during the day and at night when the Christmas lights sparkle.
The room was very spacious with separate sleeping, sitting, dining and study areas. There was a large panelled separate walk-in wardrobe. The bathroom was very big with standalone shower and bathtub, and toilet n a separate room.
Whilst certainly luxurious, the decor verges on the bland. Could do with some splashes of colour. Large comfy bed and sofa. With the curtains drawn, the radiators were rendered less effective and the room cooled down significantly.

We had the famous smorgasbord breakfast on both mornings. Great window table the first day, but we had to queue for 15 minutes or so on the Sunday. The buffet itself was plentiful with loads of choice. Very good service and plates cleared away promptly. We were not at all impressed by the more casual of the two Matthias Dahlgren restaurants, but have left that for a separate review in te restaurant section.

We made sure to visit the spa and really enjoyed it. Very luxuriously appointed, warm and relaxing. Excellent policy of not allowing under 16's outside of certain times.

We found all hotel staff very friendly, professional and helpful throughout our stay.

We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for harbour views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 155 in Stockholm
623 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 155 in Stockholm
1,638 reviews
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 155 in Stockholm
1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
1,723 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,477 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £206 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing