We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way better than reviews or portrayal by zagat 5 star all the way”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Way better than reviews or portrayal by zagat 5 star all the way”
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous stay in a beautiful suite 350 .one of the nicest rooms I've stayed at in Europe great food at the hotel Michelin star. Great spa great service I was a bit scarred seeing a 21 rating on zagat but this is way off . More like a 27
Location is also great and adjacent the opera restaurant

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pacmandoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Pacmandoctor

Thank you for posting the review. We were delighted to read your comments about the hotel, spa and service and that Matbaren, the one star Michelin restaurant delivered beyond your expectations.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,977 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,359
    384
    141
    57
    36
See reviews for
300
803
136
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We had a long weekend in Stockholm and decided to choose a room with a view over the water towards the Old Town and the Palace. What a treat. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and of the highest quality. The staff are always at hand and very keen to provide a high level of service, particularly the concierge who recommended an excellent restaurant for our Friday evening. The breakfast was great but there were a couple of niggles: there is not a lot of room and so tables are sometimes at a premium, highlighted by the long queue that we experienced on Sunday morning. There were a lot of disgruntled guests who had clearly paid a lot of money for a room and did not expect to have to wait so long to be seated (ourselves included) but also those who were keen to get away to catch their flight and were caught out by the wait. Other than this I would highly recommend this hotel - it is not cheap but then you expect to pay for the best hotel in Stockholm. Great location for visiting the historical sites and museums as well as the designer shops and malls.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Eton1

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We were very happy to read the comments regarding the rooms and the spectacular view but most of all that you would highly recommend the hotel to others.

The team looks forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the future.

Warm regards
Dean Bannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, helpful staff & fabulous spa.
Breakfast was a nightmare, go out plenty of places in the old town.
The concierge gave us a recommendation for our first evening meal, it was fantastic traditional Swedish meals.
Had dinner in the 1* restaurant which was also fab. The waiting list for the 2* was over two months long. If this is what you really want to do book ahead.
All in all we had a great weekend plenty to see & do. Need to return in the summer months for boat trips... Etc...

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo90Bucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Jo90Bucks

It was great to read your positive comments regarding the hotel, our concierge service and the one star Michelin restaurant, Matbaren. However I was less happy to read that breakfast did not live up to your expectations. I would appreciate it if you could contact me directly with your feedback so we can improve upon this. We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Warm regards
Dean

dean.bannon@grandhotel.se
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I regularly travel to Stockholm for business and have the pleasure to stay at The Grand. Staff are always friendly and attentive to any needs. The room standards can vary somewhat, but are always clean and in great condition. The bar gets lively in the evenings and is a great social point. Gym/Spa top notch, I always try to go if time allows

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank xobni21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear xobni21

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your positive comments regarding the service and staff . We are happy to read that even though you are staying on business you still find time to appreciate the modern spa and gym facilities, we hope you enjoyed all the new gym machines that we installed just last month.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again soon.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
318 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Old school, very elegant hotel in Stockholm. Can’t beat the location. We stayed at the Grand Hotel after a few days at the ICEHOTEL in Jukkasjarvi. It was unseasonably warm for February. We were able to walk to most restaurants and attractions in “old town” Stockholm. It’s a bit more formal and I can see why the Nobel Laureates stay here during the Nobel Dinner. We had a room that faced the water and it was older elegant décor. The breakfast buffet in the hotel is great. They had everything. Must be a Swedish thing, much of the food was organic. I’m picky about working out and the gym appears to be a gym that is open to private clients as well. Hence, excellent equipment and plenty of weights and cardio equipment.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Appreciate not every room can have a view but sad ours overlooked nothing but other rooms.

Room was ok but no tea or coffee making facilities which is a must for me. The Molton Brown in the bathroom was appreciated. The breakfast buffet was great and the levels of service and attention excellent.

The location of the hotel for sightseeing was perfect.

Not sure I'd rush back, not good value for money and I suspect the hotel trades on it's former glory.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over towards the Royal Palace when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenorFirenze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

I wish I could give this hotel a great review but sadly not. I guess as it was our honeymoon and we had paid top dollar for this 5* hotel I did have high standards - but quite right when it costs so much. Firstly the good points - the location was perfect, the views from the hotel were great, the rooms were clean and the men on the door were very friendly and helpful. The bad points - we told the hotel it was our honeymoon and there was nothing at all done to acknowledge this - unlike our UK hotel who sent strawberries and chocolate to the room - just a little thing but would have meant a lot. The rooms were very average and desperately needed updating, the room service was average. The breakfast was average and the building works downstairs spoiled the inside of the hotel, not to mention the protestors on the doorstep. The final pain point was that after having paid in full before arrival, we found a full charge for the hotel AGAIN on our credit card which we then had to chase to get back when we returned home. Personally I would not recommend this hotel for the money spent. Sad as we wished for so much more from a 5* hotel.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Ejtravell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
548 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,489 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
3,442 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 154 in Stockholm
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing