We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“There is a reason for the name!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #5 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“There is a reason for the name!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is a fantastic, old style (but modern) hotel. Everything about it says "quality." The location is fantastic, in the heart of the city, overlooking the water and the ships. Nice walk to the opera house,center, and many outstanding shops. The restaurant is also fantastic, with a dinner Swedish buffet that is among the best. If you like seafood, particularly salmon (prepared literally in 10 different ways), this is the place to have dinner. The entry, lobby and the conference rooms are absolutely beautiful, with hand painted ceiling murals. What a site! Highly recommend it for a central location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Etherdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Etherdoc
Thank you for the review, you seemed to experience many aspects of the hotel during your stay. As you mention we have a large selection on our Swedish buffet and, as it is served in the Veranda restaurant you can also enjoy the great views of the water and the royal palace.
Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    371
    136
    54
    34
See reviews for
277
750
129
422
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This is undoubtedly one of the best hotels anywhere. Superb service, excellent food, and a staff that genuinely cares for you and helps. The location on the waterfront is excellent. A place to stay for anyone wanting the very best. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Gabriel W

Thank you for the feedback we will be sure to share these positive comments with all the staff who made your stay one of the best you have experienced.
Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Deeping, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
472 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

This is a definitely a grand hotel situated on the waterfront in the centre of Stockholm. Most of Stockholm's sights are an easy stroll from the hotel. The hotel I would say it's quite restrained in architectural terms compared to some other old European hotels but still a wonderful building. The best thing about this hotel are the staff, they couldn't do enough, friendly, engaging and helpful. On arrival we parked the car at the front of the hotel and it was whisked away by valet parking not to be seen again until departure. It was very expensive but was the only option as long term parking in the vicinity of the hotel is non existent. We actually arrived rather early but were pleased to find out that our room was available, so no hanging around. The room was located on the third floor and had a partial view of the waterfront. An absolutely fantastic room with period fixtures and fittings and huge, with a seating area and an enormous bed. Bathroom was great with the biggest round bath I have ever seen complete with TV and coloured lights in the ceiling. The room had everything you could ever want except for tea and coffee, but that seems to be something the Swedes generally omit from hotels in my opinion. Still we had free wifi which was appreciated. So we were set for our stay, what could go wrong! Well the problem wasn't with the Grand it was the hotel next to it, The Lydmar and music being played so loud it gave me a headache, the continual bass boom, boom. It was impossible to enjoy the room due to this constant racket. I have no idea how the Lydmar are allowed to ruin such a nice location. Do the Swedes in Stockholm not have noise regulations? Anyway I had to seek help from reception and fortunately they had a spare room so were moved to a recently renovated room on the fourth floor with view across the waterfront to the Palace. We could still hear the music from the Lydmar even though we were further away but fortunately the noise stopped at about 9pm but we were told that at weekends it goes on until 1am. The new room was not as nice as the first but the fresh paint and view made up for that. Breakfast next morning was very good with every taste catered for and I'm fussy when it comes to scrambled eggs but these were very good. Check out next day was hassle free and after making a request for our car to be returned it arrived pretty quickly. The hotel really needs to get the noise problem sorted out. If they had not had a spare room we would have been stuck and it it had of been a weekend the noise would have been intolerable. I have still given a five star rating as that's what it deserves, it is a luxury establishment with very good staff.

Room Tip: At weekends have a room away from the front or the hotel next door even if it looks out over the rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveRuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear DaveRuss
This was a very comprehensive review, thank you for taking the time to write it. We appreciate all the positive comments, regarding service, breakfast, staff and the hotel in general. We were sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the noise from the street but were happy that we managed to alleviate the issue for you.
Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This old fashioned hotel has been very heavily refurbished and in particular the bathrooms are of very high standard. There are really dramatic meeting rooms & all the public areas are well appointed if somewhat fussy

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wandagold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear wandagold

Thank you for your review we were delighted to read that you appreciated the renovations that have been taking place at the hotel.
Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The hotel is perfect. A real 5 star hotel.
Don't miss the breakfast at the Veranda and the excellent view of the river.
Unfortunately my room wasn't front to the river. The view was leading to a roof.

Room Tip: Ask for a room front to the river. Otherwise you'll see only roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Promedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Promedia

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Grand Hotel. On your return it may well be worth reserving one of our front rooms so you can enjoy the view all the time.
Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diver-traveller1
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is primed situated for walking distance from everything. The views to canal and royal palace are beautiful day and night. The service was outstanding, rooms impeccable, and food very good. An easy recommendation if you want to pay the price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diver-traveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear diver-traveller1

A great review thank you, I was happy to read that you managed to see so much of the city while you were here in Stockholm.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Idyllic location. Breathtaking views from hotel. If possible, get a room with a city view. We were upgraded to one on Amex platinum. The service is amazing. One is welcomed graciously every time one enters the hotel. Only criticism is that concierges are on average, less informed than one would expect at this level if hotel.

Room Tip: Get room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear bbmf4

Thank you for the positive comments in your review, feedback has been passed onto our Head Concierge as well as our Front Office team.

Warm regards
Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing