We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We booked 2 rooms at the Grand Hotel which sits on the waterfront in an absolutely perfect location in Stockholm. The hotel is quite large and handles quite a lot of quests at one time. The hotel staff was very nice and accommodating and there are many different parts of the hotel to explore. Here are some specifics:

Rooms - Upon check-in we were given 2 rooms in the connected part of the hotel. Both rooms were very comfortable but unfortunately had views of a shaft. The bathroom was also nice and included a rain shower, although it was too close to the wall and required that you stand right up against the edge of the tub to get directly under it. Next time I would most likely specifically request a room with a view of the water (at least partial).

Food - There are 5 total eating places at the hotel and we ate at 2 of the restaurants. We ate at the Cadier Bar twice. It's a beautiful space just across from the concierge. Our first time was on Friday night and it was very busy. One of our party has severe food allergies and the waitress (who we loved and was amazing) was very attentive and considerate of her needs. Unfortunately, the kitchen failed and we had to send it back. The second time was better, but they still did not follow the prep instructions. In fairness, we ended up going back on a Monday night and there were no problems. The bottom line is if you have allergies or are in a hurry, do not go when they are busy.
The second place was the Terrace (which is outside and sits on the waterfront). We had an excellent meal and it was quite enjoyable taking in the view. Lastly, we had breakfast included with our stay and were very happy with all the options offered. Breakfast is served in the rotunda in a buffet style. You seat yourself, which is abused by some guests (taking a table for 4 even though they are a party of 1). If you are a larger party, you may always be sitting in the grand ballroom section (denied a waterfront view).

Service - All the staff we met were great, especially the concierge who was quite helpful.

Appearance - The lobby and entrance of the hotel are quite grand and lovely. As mentioned, we were in the connected section which requires walking from the lobby area to a different set of elevators. The carpets are quite old and run down in this section and definitely need replacing. You get a bit of a deodorizing smell that takes away from the hotel's grandeur. In addition, there are many scuffs and marks on the walls which should be touched up. Once you get to the actual floors, everything is fine.

Overall, a very good experience and would most likely stay there next time as well, but focus on a room with a view in the newer part of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view in the newer part of the hotel (renovated room). Many have views of a sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisL100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

899 - 905 of 2,152 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

I booked a premium room with a view and we were placed in what was most definitely a superior room so instead of the seating area with sofa and armchairs, we had just a single arm chair in the corner which forced one of us to utilize the bed as a seating area. The room was nicely renovated (from reading other reviews, we should be happy for that), gorgeously appointed and had an astounding view of Gamla Stan and one of the harbors as well as a roomy bath but when I am paying a 'premium' price for my room at a very high-end hotel, I expect to recieve what I agreed to pay for. I did talk to the staff at the desk and they insisted I was in a premium room and shrugged when I pointed out the descrepancies in the website description and what we actually had. They offered to change our room for the following evening meaning we'd spend one night in our current room and then have to pack up and move everything to spend our final night in the premium room. I opted to stay put and asked if we might get back the difference in price and they were not interested at all, reiterating that we were indeed in a premium room. Very disappointing. The week prior, we stayed at the Langham Chicago in a 1200 square foot one-bedroom suite with an incredible view for the same price as this room which barely registered 200 square feet if you leave out the entryway. I'm quite happy with a smaller room but when I've paid for a higher level of accommodation, I expect to get it. So disappointing. The location is quite good - walking distance to a great number of sites. The staff friendly, especially the concierge staff, and the included breakfast was adequate and tasty though the restaurant was so crowded with tables and chairs that it was quite difficult to leave the table for refills. Unfortunately, on my next trip to Stockholm, I will not be booking The Grand as I'm not thrilled about being taken advantage of which is precisely how I felt. When a hotel describes a Premium level room as having a seating area with sofa and armchairs, that is what I expect to get. Calling the room we were in a premium but leaving out what it is supposed to contain regardless of location and level of renovation is deceptive. I appreciate integrity and will not support dishonestly anywhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean B, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Dear Jewelsworld
Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Tripadvisor, I am truly sorry to read that you felt deceived as this is certainly not our intention. We would love to welcome you back to Stockholm and hope that you can give us the opportunity to improve upon your last stay. Please contact me directly so I am able to discuss this with you.

Warm regards
Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel met all our expectations. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by porters and others who took our luggage to our room. We paid AUD 480 per night approx and booked only a standard room because of the rating and what we had read.... We were not disappointed. The room was huge. We had a separate area inside the door with coat hooks, a wardrobe with drawers and lots of hanging space, an umbrella and tote bag provided for use during our stay. In our main room a king bed with gorgeous linen, two chairs, a desk with chair and loads of space for our luggage and belongings that didn't encroach on our space. Then the marble bathroom, spacious with bathrobes, Molton Brown products and a separate toilet (no door). The only negative the bath is quite deep so it is hard getting in and out for a shower, which isn't separate. Our room had a window which overlooked the roof of the hotel so no view at all, but we didn't pay for one so we're not disappointed, particularly as we didn't expect to spend much time there. We were pleased as it turned out because the Lydmar Hotel next door plays excessively loud music at night and so others with rooms onto the side or front of the hotel would have been very unhappy I expect. All the facilities were first class - I had a pedicure, used the gym and spa areas for swimming. We ate and drank at a the terrace bar and Cadelier bar and it was beaut ..... Even a simple burger was brilliant. gorgeous breakfast on final day. it is an expensive hotel but you get what you pay for .....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mrsmusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed here on 2 separate occasions this month: once for 4 nights and another for a single night. Our first and longer stay was in a premium room with a courtyard view and the 2nd single night was in a standard room. Both rooms were very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms in each were awesome. The breakfast buffet was fresh and had a lot of variety. The restaurant downstairs was hit or miss. However, the outdoor patio dining was very good. The concierge was very helpful finding local restaurants as well. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_scotts777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We debated going for a more hip and modern hotel but wanted the history and character of the Grand Hotel Stockholm. After a long flight, to be greeted so kindly and shown to our gorgeous room was a treat. Our room was overlooking the harbor with a small balcony and geraniums spilling over the rail. Fantastic. Highly recommend booking a harbor view room. The amenities in the room were a cut above, the kind of special touch you can get from a hotel that has been offering service at a high level for years. The personnel were nearly all from 25-40 yrs (tops!) and spoke impeccable english, were very well trained, friendly and always helpful. Breakfast was the best ever. You just need to experience it. And the breakfast rooms were beautifully and historically appointed and most comfortable. The staff in the breakfast areas were so charming and warm and also answered many of our questions about touring their city and beyond. Most attentive. We ate in the more casual dining area with a view of street and harbor and it was terrific food and again, lovely service. They also have a fabulous Michelin ranked restaurant in the hotel. We also used their spa and pool which is a glorious relief after hours on your feet. Very friendly atmosphere. I would highly recommend this hotel and would save the more "hip" spots for a drink or meal. We stayed four nights and look forward to returning soon. If you want perfect location, service, gracious and kind staff, great food, a beautiful room with a view and a place with history...this is for you! We are very thankful for such a memorable and pleasant stay. Love Stockholm and the Swedish people!

Room Tip: harbor view is a must-spectacular view and the sky...clouds, sunset, sunrise...!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank soma42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in superior suite 150 during our wedding night and had the most amazing experience. We had a great view from our balcony overlooking the royal castle, room was top notch and the room service breakfast was impeccable. We checked in early given the day's program and the staff was so helpful making the whole experience perfect.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Magnus O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I loved this hotel. We were greeted at the airport with a sign and our name at the airport a transfer we arranged through the hotel. It was about 30 min from the airport. It is a beautiful hotel. We arrived a bit early before check-in. The bell staff put our bags into storage and we opted to use a couple of hotel bikes to explore around before check-in.

The lobby and restaurant is beautiful, draped in blue. The hotel staff, from the front desk, concierge, and bell people were all friendly, helpful, and in Sweden people in general are super friendly.

I will try to touch on things that others have not, since you can read through the great reviews.

Our room was nice and spacious. It had a living room, bathroom with a nice tub, shower and 2 sinks. It had a great view overlooking the water.

Location is great, close to old town, and walking around to see and take boats around the water ways and Sweden’s archipelagoes. There are a number of harbour boat tours that take off right across the street.

There is an ATM close just walking distance from the hotel that is near some good shopping areas as well. It is a main walkway that many of the locals use to cross town to the park.
The park is just two blocks from the corner that has many restaurants with outdoor seating and places to just hang out and sit. At the end of the park are some really nice Swede restaurants the locals love, and also a TGIF. Across from the park is a mall, complete with coffee shops and also a large wine store we found.

In the hotel there is a nice workout gym with all modern equipment and a small yoga studio. The spa is wonderful. You can also book yoga classes in a small setting.

You have the ability to book any treatment, but also just to enjoy the spa at your leisure. There is a wonderful indoor pool with fire torches at the end that is about 5' deep and adjoining relaxing room. The relaxing room has nice loungers equipped with their own headphones, or just soft music was playing, in a zen setting with plants.

There is also a steam room and another pool with message waterfall, bubble beds and seat. In the men's areas there is also a hot sauna with a cold splash pool to go directly from the hot sauna into the cold plunge pool. Very popular among the Swede's and is suppose to be good for the body and immune system. Lockers, fresh soft towers and nice showers there.

We had exceptional warm sunny weather during our stay. We ate at the patio outside terrace at the end of the hotel and the food was healthy, and excellent. The restaurant is a great value - you can get a good meal in either and prices were reasonable.

There is another trendy restaurant next door with a bar that was quite the hot spot. All the fashionista swede's were there drinking cocktails, dining, and there is good, hot music tunes playing.

Breakfast was just great! Anything you could want. The staff is wonderful and friendly and you can order anything too if it is not on the buffet. They have there own Grand Hotel Tea which I loved every morning.

I arrived back from adventures one afternoon and there was high tea. It is quite an event at The Grand. There was groups of women getting together, a bacherlotte party, and some couple all enjoying. It is a wonderful setting for such an event, with great views. I can why this was so popular.

I heard about the The Nobel Peace Prize Suite/Room. I got a private tour. It was amazing it is a room that recipients of the prize would stay. It was a wonderful room laid out with all kinds of book and memento's of the winners of the prize. it also had photos of all the recipients going back 70 years. That was a great treat, and if your a history buff and love this room.

I enjoyed this hotel and would recommend it to anyone, business, friends, families and so on.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
605 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,328 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,601 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £245 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing