We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This truly is a grand experience!”
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #4 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hotel to celebrate a special wedding anniversary. It was well worth it to have an upgraded room facing the harbor and the Palace. The location of the hotel is unbeatable and the room was perfectly nice, if not luxurious (bathroom was extremely spacious and well-designed). Service was outstanding. The hotel's Veranda restaurant, facing the harbor, was a great spot for a light meal, glass of wine, or tea. Beautiful view and not exhorbitent for Stockholm. We splashed out on a dinner at M. Dahlgren, located in the hotel. Probably the best meal we have ever had but incredibly expensive with an overpriced wine list. Overall, it was a special treat to be at the Grand and we'd go again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,108)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,108 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2009

We had a memorable stay at The Grand. We were upgraded from a view room to one of their finest suites, and luxuriated in the spacious, elegant two room suite. The views of the harbor and the Royal Palace were breathtaking. We enjoyed a true Swedish massage in the hotel's spa, and had one of the finest dinners of our lives at the hotel's restaurant, Matthias Dahlgren. The concierge smoothed our way, and the rest of the staff was friendly and helpful as well. The Grand exceeded our expectations and distinguished itself as one of the finest hotels we've ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annabel16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

We arrived early in the morning on an overnight flight from new york and our room was not ready yet. While we understand that the hotel was fully booked, it took us wandering around Stockholm until 2 pm to get our jet lagged selves in bed for a nap. Not there fault, BUT, this is a "Cruise Ship" hotel, which makes it huge and booked up by the hundreds disembarking for a night or two, so keep that in mind when booking in the summertime.

There was also an incredibly understaffed concierge desk in our opinion, as the hotel was full we found we spent at least 2 hours total in line at the desk or for a call back over a 4 day period, even though we were tipping generously. They should really staff up.

If you want to visit the in house restaurant Matthias for dinner, do make a reservation in advance. We missed out on dining here as not even the concierge could get us in last minute. Surprising as they lease space from the hotel! We did walk down ourselves and the clientele was on the overtly pretentious side, which made us feel we did not mind missing the food so much.

It's very much a large hotel with a see and be seen vibe, strangely mixed with a mass tourist vibe from the cruise ship element, along with business travelers. A bit strange!

Upon check out, we learned breakfast was included in our rate, which they did not remind or tell us when we checked in! When your assistant books, make sure to ask upon arrival.

There are positives: the location is perfect as you can walk to many of the museums, theatre, shopping, parks and restaurants; the beds were very comfortable; we did not hear noise from our neighbors when we were in our room, the overall feel of ornate luxury (not our #1 style, but it is nice every once in a while).

We may stay again, however, we agreed we prefer to look into a design/boutique next time we go.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank crossborderre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This hotel is perfect located, I think is the best place to stay when you want to explore Stockholm by walk.
Foyer and public area are nice but the room is small, If you pay for standard room you will probably have no view to the sea but to the wall. Also the room is little bit dated.

The breakfast is excellent, several choise of juices, fresh fruits, etc. Also the hotel bar is very stylish and drinks are high quality. I didn't try the restaurant because is very expensive, visit Sturehof in Stureplan quarter- great food and trendy athmosphere.

Staff is really professional and helpful, but If you are traveling in IHG hotels chain is their standard and you will not surprised:-)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

I really enjoyed my stay at the Grand Hotel and highly recommend it for the traveler to Stockholm.

The location is great -- just across from the Royal Palace and Gamla Stan. Lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. But most of all, it's right on the harbor. Beautiful views and easy access to the other islands by boat.

The rooms are beautiful. Comfortable beds, lovely furnishings. The room we stayed in had a fabulous bathroom -- huge soaking tub, separate shower with "rain" shower head. Excellent toiletries, marble floors, heated towel rack, and large magnifying mirror. I could probably go on!

The only issue we had was with regard to the room, as we were traveling with two children, and they seemed to have some difficulty finding us a room that would accommodate us. I had actually called the hotel to ask if they had rooms with two double beds -- they had told me yes -- but the bellman who showed us to our first room (and then others) said that they didn't. What they will do is bring in beds, which my children said were comfortable, but they need to put you in a room that will accommodate these extra beds. The room we ended up in had a nice sitting room, but it was fully taken up by the bed. It ended up being fine, because we didn't spend much time in the room, but it did make it a tight squeeze. I think they handled the situation very well, and the bellman who was working with this for us was extremely apologetic and helpful.

Other room features -- great light-blocking curtains, no noise from the road, a desk with multiple outlets (and they actually had a voltage converter there, not sure if it was requested by a prior guest or if they have one in every room), two television sets, and wireless internet.

We ate the traditional Smorgesbord meal at the Verandan restaurant in the hotel. It was delicious -- and extremely expensive. We thought it was worth it for the experience. It's funny -- when you order it, they will give you a list of smoresbord rules to follow (I'm assuming they only give this to foreigners!). If your wallet can withstand it, you should check this out.

The service at the hotel was as you would expect (or hope for) at a hotel of this class. With the exception of one fairly curt woman at the reception desk, the hotel employees were terrific, and they were all extremely helpful.

Again, I highly recommend this hotel and hope you enjoy your stay there as much as we did!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leeleebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

It was our first trip to Sweden and we stayed at this much talked about old hotel. The first shock we experienced was that the nearest Tunnelbana (underground) station Kungstradgarden had to be closed for at least some 18 months because of renovation and repair! We had bought the Stockholm card on line and planned most of our travels using the T-bana underground. Apart from walking across a bridge to the Gamla Stan, the Grand Hotel was actually quite distanced from every place in central Stockholm. A greater shock came about as we learned the hotel counter staff seemed to have little knowledge of their city. It was a Sunday evening when we arrived and we had booked for dinner the Master Anders Restaurant at Pipersgaten, at a little distance from the hotel according to our map. As we were not able to use the T-bana service, we asked for directions at the hotel counter. However, the staff were less than helpful when all they could mutter was they knew little about the street and advised us to take the taxi. The next day it was the same advice when we asked them about how to get to the ABBA museum! I think it was totally unacceptable that hotel staff should only advise tourists to take the taxi to whatever location in an alien city. I do believe it is my duty to advise other travellers not to check into this service-unfriendly hotel, at least for the next 18 months!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank mpwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

I booked 2 rooms for my family and me at the tail end of my cruise vacation using American Express Platinum. Upon check-in we were granted an upgrade for each room.
Both rooms were magnificent(one being a large suite.) This is an "old world" hotel with excellent service. The location is perfect overlooking the Royal Palace. We were able to walk everywhere.
The restaurant had delicious meals and the buffet breakfast was fabulous. I wish that we could have stayed a few days longer!!
If you stay here be sure to get the breakfast included since everything at this hotel is very pricey!!! Sweden is expensive.



t

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank horadam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 154 in Stockholm
590 reviews
Norrmalm
At Six
At Six
#7 of 154 in Stockholm
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,320 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,578 reviews
Norrmalm
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
Sheraton Stockholm Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
3,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Address: Sodra Blasieholmshamnen 8, Stockholm 111 48, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#4 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#6 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#7 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £250 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its 1874 opening, Grand Hotel Stockholm has been one of Sweden' s leading hotels. Royalty, heads of state, celebrities and Nobel laureates make themselves at home in refined waterfront surroundings near the Royal Palace. Old Town, Stockholm City Hall, Vasa Museum, Millesgarden and the Museum of National Antiquities are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockholm Grand Hotel
Intercontinental Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing