We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing preserved piece of history”
Review of Vasa Museum

Vasa Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$70.82*
and up
Stockholm Super Saver: Stockholm City Walking Tour Including Vasa Museum plus...
Ranked #1 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Vasa ship capsized and sank in Stockholm 1628. After 333 years on the sea bed the mighty warship was salvaged and the voyage could continue. Today Vasa is the world's only preserved 17th century ship and the most visited museum in Scandinavia.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Amazing preserved piece of history”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Ironically, one of the most popular tourist attractions in Stockholm was arguably the worst-designed ship in history. All the folks involved in its salvage and restoration have done an amazing job. This exhibit is probably one of the most interesting that I've seen due to the age of the ship and how well it's been restored. It's worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbastyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15,784
    4,938
    807
    111
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
State of Rio Grande do Sul
Level Contributor
86 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The Vasa ship sunk in the 17th century near the Stockholm harbor in its first voyage, and stayed there until the 20th century when an impressive project was set to bring it back to surface and completely restore it. Today you can see her in the Vasamuseet, together with several other displays about the life in the ship and impressive reconstructions of the appearence and lives of the crew, based on informations from their bones!it is amazing how they managed to reconstruct every detail of the ship, and since there are several floors build around the ship you can see all of its levels.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Incredible idea!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I have visited lots of museums, so I was expecting something very usual. Vasa Museums differs from any museum I've ever been in my life. It was built arround a ship which was taken from the bottom of the harbour, therefore it is a huge real piece of history. You can touch, look and enjoy many things from that time (or at least their copies), listen to excursions.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairyteller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So worth a visit!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Stopped at the Vasa museum early morning thinking we would be in and out in no time at all....not the case however! Once in there you become quite intrigued by the story of the ship and the history behind it. We ended up being in the museum for well over 3 hours!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Finally... I saw it”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

this was my first time to Sweden and even before planning to visit, I have heard about the Vasa Ship. I was quite intrigue as to why this ship has sank so soon/quick. The museum is very informative, providing guided tour in English, a semi movie, display pieces, etc. Was worth the while to see the magnificent ship.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RizaBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vasa Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Vasa Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing