We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved the theatre”

Drottningholm Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$24.64*
and up
Stockholm to Drottningholm - Return Boat Ticket
Ranked #11 of 303 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Drottingholm Palace is a World Heritage Site because of its beauty and important history. It is comparable to Versailles. Check out the Court Theater and the Chinese Pavilion.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We loved the theatre”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Palace was interesting but a little dry. We really loved the theatre and its history. The guide we had was so enthusiastic and she made all the difference. Our guide in the Palace was not as enthusiastic but it is still worth seeing. The grounds are well worth a walk around up to the Chinese Pavilion and the Tent. The walk back around the lake was also great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank evo_evans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,042
    894
    266
    44
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Only go to this place if you simply love palaces”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The palace is nice of course, but also a bit boring; the gardens surrounding the estate are boring as well; only hedges and grass, no flowers or diverse plant life at all. We went to see the chinese pavilion which was recommended, but we only thought it was a tacky and ugly building; the word we're looking for is kitsch! Some of the content inside is quite good and beautiful, but most is crumbling around you; don't know on what they spend all the entry money, but can't be on creating this decaying look… Mind you, not all was bad. We liked the boat ride to the place (but beware if it's cold, on the water it's even colder) and the little forest and park behind the garden is quite beautiful and relaxing.

I would recommend going to the Vasa museet, hire a 3 day city-bike card and go with the flow; Djurgarden is a nice area to have a stroll or bike around. We saw a lot of geese :-)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roverda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake of Geneva
Level Contributor
155 reviews
128 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Beautiful Palace and Park”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Drottingholm is a must visit for someone who loves gardens. I learnt from the locals that it was the Queen's Summer palace. Should be visited during summer for the greenery and during the start of autumn for the different colors of nature. Once built by Bernadotte in the French style. The old theater and Chinese pavilion from 18th century is a must see. Have been there several times and it was always worth a visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Otto_Hettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Splendid gardens”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I got there quite late in the afternoon so most attractions were already closed. However, I still enjoyed the place. The gardens are really pretty and if you like going for long walks, you're gonna like it too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank olabubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great day trip from Stockholm”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

We travelled from Stockholm by boat and spent most of the day visiting, beautiful grounds, historic theatre, Chinese garden house as well as the palace, plenty of information inEnglish.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidM15658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drottningholm Palace also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Drottningholm Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing