We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Skansen Open-Air Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$50.51*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off Bus and Boat Ticket in Stockholm
More Info
US$75.14*
and up
Stockholm Pass
More Info
US$23.90*
and up
Stockholm Hop-On Hop-Off Boat Cruise
Ranked #8 of 310 things to do in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Skansen is the world's first open-air museum, founded in 1891. Here you can stroll through five centuries of Swedish history, from north to south, with a real sense of the past all around the historical buildings and dwellings, peopled by characters in period dress. Living history over 150 dwellings and other buildings from all over Sweden have been dismantled and reassembled in an area of 300 000 m2 at Skansen. You can travel back in time and meet people from the past. On summer evenings you can also come along and watch traditional Swedish folk dancing! Skansen Zoo at Skansen you will find both domestic and wild Nordic animals such as bears, wolves and lynx. Don't miss our guided tours in English during the summer and in December. Our newly-opened Children's Zoo gives youngsters the opportunity to meet a variety of interesting animals.Added attractions Skansen hold a traditional celebrations to mark occasions such as Walpurg is Night, Midsummer and Christmas. Enjoy a delicious meal in one of the restaurants with breathtaking views over Stockholm. And don't miss our Museum shop, selling traditional handicrafts and Swedish design products.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Goa, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Do not miss this place! Its worth every penny!

Go with a lot of time on your hands because its huge and take the time to enjoy it. Its easily the best zoo/museum so far that I have seen in the world...

Animals are cared for and kept in a good condition and as close to their environment as possible...

An absolute delight!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha_Goa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,300
    2,501
    968
    266
    101
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney,aus
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Insight into another era.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We went there with unfortunately only a couple of hours to spare as we were on a cruise ship and had to get back . We didn't think from the description that it was actually as big as it is. You easily can pass a whole day there. It is vast and you need to do a lot of walking to see everything but it is worth it.
We went in to almost everything ,shops,houses ,school etc. Everywhere there were people eager to show and tell us about life in a bygone era. In the kitchen of one house they were actually cooking and serving the family the food. The smell was wonderful and brought it all to life for us.They had a lot of animals in another section but we didn't get to see all of them, also a horse drawn cart with people on it going about their business. All in all a very pleasant experience for young and old.Highly recommend it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cleoSydney_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Go in early afternoon”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Go early as we went there after 5pm on the first day the houses were all closed so we went again the next day. You will miss a lot of interesting stuffs if the houses are closed. The staff in the houses are so friendly and helpful in introducing the houses and answering questions - not anything like info panel can give you :) There are also live demonstrations in the bakery, glasswork and pottery houses etc. And in the scadinavian animals zoo there are plenty of information to help one understanding the animals, btw the brown bears are super cute!
Expect to spend a few hours there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hofami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good entertainment for children”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visiting the Skansen museum/zoo you should prepare yourself for lots of walking and it is suggested that you wear trainers or walking boots. The admission fee for adults is around 16 euros (160SEK) during the summer months.

Overall, it is a well-preserved area which actually is quite huge including workshops (glass, steel, wood), farms, gardens, churches, schools and some exciting animals such as wolves, leopards and bears.

Definitely, it is something children would find enjoyable but can offer that much to adults (we are 26 and 28 year olds). However, the scenery is amazing even though it was super hot the day we visited and at some point it got really unbearable. There are bathroom facilities, lots of stairs and food available for purchase along the way and also some stall selling some unique artifacts. You can also catch a small train for around 2 euros which kind of acts as a tour guide taking you around this massive area.

On your way out there is very nice souvenir shop that is definitely worth the visit if you are into these stuff, we definitely are!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marios K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Too many padlocked buildings, not enough life”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have been to a few outdoor museums and this may be the oldest but it is not the best. The majority of the buildings are firmly locked up, only a very few are open to look round. Those that are, in particular the artist's studio are interesting. We saw very few guides and no demonstrations of how the buildings were used. There seems to be a lot to do for young children, less appeal for teenagers. It is perhaps an unfair comparison but this museum has a dead atmosphere compared to somewhere like Beamish in the UK where all the buildings are shown functioning and with people in them who are enthusiastic about explaining what they are doing.The animals seem well cared for.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jennifer098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skansen Open-Air Museum also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Skansen Open-Air Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing