We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central by Scandic
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersBronze level
madrid
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I just left the Scandic, where I've been staying for two nights for business.

From the moment I did the reservations through Hotels.com, the service was very good.
The location of the hotel is excellent, right in the center of the city, and literally right next to the steps of the Arlanda Express that takes you to the airport.

The rooms are a good in size, and the beds, although they may seem simple, are very confortable. WIFI is free during the whole stay, and for as many devices you may need.

The bathroom is a bit small but enough, and the shower is very nice and tidy. As a minus, there is no closet but a rack where you can hang your stuff, making the place a little bit untidy.

Breakfast is absolutely amazing, with a busy and crowded buffet that makes it a delight. The decoration is wonderful, with a NY style setting, different ambiances that communicate with the bar. The choice of breads, cold cuts, pancakes etc is amazing. Please change the juice machine, it's just not up to the standards!

Other minor details:
- Music in the elevator? Too loud.
- Towels should be bigger.
- Snack machine: spoils the view. Somewhere less visible please.
- Guys in the cloakroom, helpful and thorough.
- Very quick check in/out process.

I had my doubts between giving it 4 or 5 stars, but the truth is that my feeling despite minor details is still excellent, and for a price that you wont find a lot in Stockholm.

I'll definitely return for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yocastus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your nice review and your trained eye for detail. We are the Scandic chain's first lifestyle hotel, and has become very recognized within the company. We are very proud of our hotel and wish you a warm welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    776
    269
    81
    43
See reviews for
213
544
101
538
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel was booked for me by the client I was going to visit, so the value field is average as I genuinely don't know. The hotel itself is very new and very well located. It's downstairs entrance is quite oppulent with plenty of room for lounging and good facilities including a very good bar with a live dj/live music in the evening.

The rooms are well equipped with relatively large TVs which can be connected to a laptop (if you bring your own cable) which makes it a very good place to work. Internet connection is free and, although not lighting quick, it's good enough for working online/emails. The rooms I stayed in had no wardrobe - so where you would put your clothes on a longer stay, I have no idea - I ended up hanging everything up in the bathroom to prevent clothes becoming too creased.

There's no question the decor, it's idiosyncratic but very stylish and the service levels were extremely high with everyone looking to help where possible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a wardrobe and a room facing the central atrium (not the casino opposite).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mr_blackmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Scandic Grand Central offers many different room types that can apply to various types of budgets. Our new hotel is renovated from an old building built in 1886, so the characteristics vary a lot from room to room. We are delighted that we now are a very popular place to hang-out, after-work or late at night. We have guest artists playing almost every night at our acoustic bar, check out the website grandacoustic.com. We created this hotel with the ambition to make it feel like your own living room! We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. Welcome back!


Best regards,
Concierge
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed with my boyfriend at Scandic Grand Central in the beginning of January for two nights and the experience was really good. We had a room with separate living and bed rooms on the third floor. The view from the room was to the inner yards. The room was spacious and really nicely decorated: had nice pictures on the wall, very comfortable king-size bed, some pieces of design furniture and even an LP-player + records to play.
The hotel has a very good location in the centre of Stockholm; it's very close to Arlanda Express airport train, has a metro station behind the corner and is next to the main shopping streets. When I'm going to Stockholm for the next time, I'm very likely going to stay in this hotel again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heiniadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We love to hear that you had a wonderful time at our hotel. Stockholm is even more fantastic in summer, so we hope Grand Central have the pleasure to welcome you back to us soon again!

Best regards,

Concierge
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gävle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Scandic Grand Central is a new hotel with excellent location just a few blocks from the Stockholm Central Station. The rooms are a little smallish but otherwise ok. Our room didn't have a fridge or minibar which was also a little disappointing. The hotel has a nice restaurant and a bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BraveCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Guest,
How we love to hear about your enjoyable stay with us. Scandic Grand Central are happy to offer many different types of room that can appeal to different types of budgets. Stockholm is fantastic, and we love to share our Stockholm to our guests. Please contact concierge.grandcentral@scandichotels.com before your next stay, we have a lot of fun to offer! Welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldissero Torinese
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The hotel is not bad even if it is very strange. To get my room I had to use two different elevators: one from ground to +1, one from +1 to ground. The room was very clean but without windows. The free WIFI and a very nice breakfast have helped to forget the whole walls.... The location is very good, 5 min from the central station. Good for one night, max two.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Massimo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Really good, location in city center very close to Airport fast train. Good value for money, (I mean we are in Stockholm city....) prices here can be much higher. The bar is not a typical hotel bar, this is a bar where people passing by just jump in for a beer or so, bar not so crowded by hotel guests, but others too - which is good. Breakfast: + is pancakes with strawberry jelly, not only for kids :-) , + also for cold mineral water from crane. Room silent.

Room Tip: 5th floor towards west - then You might get a room with a small penthouse balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear guest,
It's great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We are delighted that we now are a very popular place to hang-out, after-work or late at night. We have guest artists playing almost every night at our acoustic bar, check out the website grandacoustic.com. We created this hotel with the ambition to make it feel like your own living room! We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. Welcome back!
Best regards,
concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

I stay there for work each week. The first week, they gave me a room in the basement which was awful - basically a prefabricated cardboard box with a bed inside: very thin walls and could hear neighbour's TV loudly, several violent thuds in the night which made the walls shake (no idea what it was but woke me up a few times, an ironing board and iron, but no cupboard or anywhere to hang clothes!! Some clothes hangers under a tiny desk about 2 feet from the ground - are they having a joke? NO WINDOW at all! Very claustrophobic especially with the loud bangs and very small room with barely space to walk around the bed. And to add insult to injury there was a big poster type thing on the wall with some song lyrics by R.E.M., I really hate R.E.M!!

They should get rid of these basement rooms because they give the whole hotel a bad reputation. The next week I was there the room was very nice on the 5th floor, about 3 times the size of the first room and good facilities + proper walls, even electric beds! My company pays me back for the stay but it was the same price as the first room. Since then I've stayed a few more times and not had a room as good as the second one or as bad as the first one. Last week wasn't great - again no cupboard, just some hangers on a badly designed rail that had a habit of falling off. Breakfast is better than the other hotels I've stayed in in Stockholm (not saying much) with more choice including some hot food - scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon and mushrooms, however the ingredients are pretty poor quality especially the sausages which I am not sure contain any identifiable ingredients. Bacon is always frazzled and in small bits. I usually have a few pieces with the scrabled egg and beans which is ok. Cold breakfast looks like it has quite a lot of choice but it's the usual cheap processed sliced meats typical of Stockholm hotels.

In general this hotel is good value (for Stockholm) if you get a decent room. Still very pricey though but again, this is Stockholm and I've stayed in some worse hotels that cost the same. There are more consistent and much cheaper hotels with a decent standard about 1/2 mile further from the center. Style wise, this hotel is trying to hard to be 'funky' when it should concentrate on getting the basics right.

Room Tip: Avoid anything starting '00'
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Scandic Grand Central can offer many different types of room that can applay to varius types of budgets. Our new hotel is renovated from an old building built in 1886, so the charactaristics vary a lot from room to room. Today Scandic hotels have 20 hotels in Stockholm area, we can offer you everything from suites to just a room for the night. I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you to one of our Scandic hotels soon again.. We're sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations, I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you to us soon again!

Best regards,

Concierge
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central by Scandic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central by Scandic

Property: Grand Central by Scandic
Address: 70 Kungsgatan, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central by Scandic 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central by Scandic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Central Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing