We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel close to the train station”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central by Scandic
Ranked #45 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersBronze level
Långtbortistan
1 review
“Very nice hotel close to the train station”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I have stayed in several Scandic Hotels in Stockholm before (Scandic Continental, Scandic Park, Scandic Anglais, and Scandic Sjöfartshotellet), and this is probably one of the nicest. It's a new hotel, so everything is in good shape, and the room (4th floor) was very quiet, although the lobby and bar seemed quite crowded in the evening. Breakfast was nice, the bed was comfortable, and the room was clean.

However, I don't like the idea of having to put the key card in a slot in order to turn on the electric lights. I know that this is a popular invention, and that Scandic Grand Central is not the only hotel with this system, but it's stupid. If Scandic Hotels want to be environmentally friendly by reducing electricity consumption, perhaps they shouldn't leave the television set always on; I'm sure the TV draws more power than all the lights in the room combined. (You can of course turn the TV off, but it's on when you enter the room.)

I also didn't like the fact that it's more or less impossible to take a shower without leaving the bathroom floor covered with water. There is a hinged glass door which you can use in order to not soak the entire bathroom, but most of the bathroom floor inevitably becomes wet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phaglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. Our new hotel is renovated from an old building built in 1886, so the characteristics vary a lot from room to room. TV and heating system starts when guests are checking-in and we need the screen to deliver messages to our guests during their stay. Our ambition is always to think environment friendly. I do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you to Scandic Grand Central soon again.

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    510
    776
    270
    82
    43
See reviews for
213
544
101
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I was on a site inspection to Stockholm last week and this hotel was selected for me by my colleagues in the congress bureau and they could not have chosen better. Very cool place and as its name implies centrally located right near the Arlanda Express.
I had the breakfast buffet both mornings and it was really good with a wide variety of hot and cold dishes. I also felt very welcome in the bar after dinner where there was a good atmosphere and well trained bar staff.
My only grump (as usual) was about wireless. Now to put this in perspective it was free and available throughout the hotel which was great but every time I left the hotel or put my laptop to sleep I had to re-enter the quite complicated code. Please hotel community allow us full access to wifi without codes or restrictions just like you do with hot water and electricity.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a large corner room which I can highly recommend but I bet there are some much smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davido357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to offer a very popular breakfast, always with a wide rage of organic products. Our hotel is a great fit for the lonely traveler, you don’t have to go far as you say to enjoy our friendly atmosphere.

Thank you again, and welcome back to us!

Best regards,
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

I´ve stayed at 2 other hotels here, both not bad at all, but this was by far the best. The hotel has apparently not been open for too long, around a year. The business facilities were very good, meeting rooms clean and roomy. The food in the hotel as well as the service was excellent. The rooms, had a junior suite, was spacious, clean, had a bath as well as a shower, and a great touch was the TEAC record player with some classic vinyl to play.

All in all a great hotel and staff, good location also, recommend, and will be back for a social visit to Stockholm.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilVon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your recommendation on Tripadvisor. We love our record players placed in all of our junior suites and suites, so bring your own vinyl records next time! Welcome back sometimes soon.

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Located at a 5-min-walk from the Arlanda express terminal downtown, it is a very stylish and comfortable hotel, offering a generous buffet-style breakfast. It also has a cool lounge area where local people meet over drinks in the evening.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surlarouteeurasienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear guest,
It's great to hear that you enjoyed staying with us. We are delighted that we now are a very popular place to hang-out, after-work or late at night. We have guest artists playing almost every night at our acoustic bar. We created this hotel with the ambition to make it feel like your own living room! We are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. Welcome back!

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
480 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

This hotel is new and conveniently located walking distance from T-centralen. The design is quite nice and the beds really comfortable. The restaurant thre is very busy but excellent. This hotel is my pick for convenience, price and quality.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBreton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
How we love to hear about your enjoyable stay with us. We are happy to offer many different types of room that can appeal to different types of budgets. Thank you so much for your feedback and welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stock
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2012

The hotel was well located totally new and very stylish. Our junior suite had a lot of light and was very spacious.

The breakfast was excellent, very consistent with a variety of choice.

As a week point we noticed there was no minibar and the room service menu didnt offer a lot of options...

Overall it was super cool and we will definitly come back :-)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fm_Fatou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Guest,
How we love to hear about your enjoyable stay with us. We are so happy to be able to present this new hotel at such a perfect location, steps away from all transportation you could need during your stay, even sightseeing tours stops right outside our door . Thank you so much for your feedback and welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Great design and interior. Cool vibe and excellent breakfast buffet!! exquisite!!!

However, unfortunaterly the service was not equivalent to the appearance.

First of all, upon my arrival, the room was so cold. is that scandinavian thing to keep indoor cooler than the US? no I have been many scandinavian countries at this time. I asked to check my heater right after I checked in. when I come back during the day time it wasn't warm at all so I mentioned it again. when I get back late it wasn't warm but I was too tired. but the room was still cold. The next morning, my throat hurt after sleeping in the cold air.
I told them the room was still cold and I want to change the room. Then they told me actually entire 3rd fl heating system was down and just fixed...??? but they were happy to change my room to another room on the 3rd floor which doesn't really make sense to me.?? I asked them to change the room on another floor. Then finally I was able to sleep with comfortable air temperature.


Secondly, I had to send some DHL packages from the hotel. I travel all the time for work and I always send stuff back. So I asked for DHL boxes when I checked in. I asks them again on the 2nd day morning. I had to explain the entire story again. the 2nd day night I just wanted to check if I already received the boxes. The boxes weren't there and the gentlemen at the reception had no idea about my request. He was nice enough to check with DHL again, but they were not able to deliver the boxes before I check out the following day. I wasn't feeling pleasant since I had to requested the same thing three times, at the end I wasn't able to send pkgs.

When I was checking out, I asked to talk to a manager not to complain but just to let them know my experience.
The manager told me the the concierge is out sick for the week. But that is not a good excuse. They should have more than one concierge and it should run smoothly without anyone's absence.

Maybe you can say I was just not lucky this time. however I believe these kind of incidents don't happen if you are well prepared.

Anyway, if you are just sleeping and having breakfast there, it's a great hotel. but if you are foreign and may need some extra service and help, I am not sure if I would like to recommend the hotel. It's always good to know what you are getting.

hope this is helpful!
safe travel!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bunnybeetheb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matilda G, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear guest,
We hope you are now feeling better. Thank you so much for your feedback .We are sorry that our Air heating/cooling system did not work as expected in some of our rooms that day. We don’t have a specific business center, but should always help our guests with all kind of requests at the front desk. I am very sorry that you did not get the help you requested during your stay. We.hope you will come back too us soon again and thank you again for taking the time to point out things we can do better.

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Grand Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#29 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#35 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,332 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#52 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central by Scandic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central by Scandic

Property: Grand Central by Scandic
Address: 70 Kungsgatan, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central by Scandic 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Scandic Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Central by Scandic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Central Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing