We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great quite location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Central by Scandic
Ranked #51 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Suitably located in the heart of stockholm, 5 mints walk to the shopping streets, and 5 mints walk to the train station central, 2 mints walk to the famous ICE BAR in stockholm and only 15 monts walk to downtown ( Gamla Stan ), next the hotel there is 7eleven ( a supermarket ) and mony exchange office, the staff at the reception are extremely friendly in helpful, they spent long time give us all the information about the attrcations and where to go, they even searched the internet for us for what is hapenning in stockholm like events and parties, nice breakfast, we heared that this hotel has a well knowen resturant where many people in stockholm like to go to but we never tried it.

Room Tip: avoid the ones near the elevator or the street, ask for quite roon at the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllaeTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear Guest,
How we love to hear about your enjoyable stay with us. Stockholm is fantastic, and we love to share all of our favorite places with our guests. As you say, we are situated right in the middle of the Buzz, so our bar, bistro and restaurant has now become a favorite place for locals as well. Welcome back to us!

Best regards,

Matilda Granström
Concierge
Scandic Grand central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

830 - 836 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at the Scandic Grand Central for 9 nights in August. We arrived in the early morning and were told that could check in right away if we took an upgraded room for the night, which we happily did. Later in the afternoon we told the receptionist that we'd rather move that day than the next, when we'd be out sightseeing, and were told we'd be able to stay in the upgraded room for no extra charge for the remainder of the stay. What a delightful surprise!

The room was absolutely the quietest I've ever experienced in any country; it was on an inner courtyard so there was no street noise whatsoever and on the top floor so there was no upstairs neighbor noise. And the bed was the most comfortable king ever, firm but not too hard, no squeaky box spring, down quilts on top. The many breakfast choices at the buffet kept us well-fed. The location is exceptional: half a block from the Arlanda express train (which has an elevator at street level so no schlepping necessary) and a couple short blocks to T-Centralen, the main subway hub. Note: if you arrive via Arlanda express, walk in the opposite direction from the train's entry, go to the end of the platform and exit up the elevator to Kungsgatan; go downhill to the corner and you'll be at the hotel entrance.

So why not 5 stars? The breakfast buffet, while varied and good quality, was not nearly as good as the one we had last year at the Scandic in Berlin. There was no green tea (although even at the supermarket we couldn't find plain green tea, only flavored), the scrambled eggs reminded me of college cafeteria food, and in the country that invented muesli, there was no granola but just boring flakes and puffs. This probably would make little difference during a short stay, but for our longer one, we found it necessary to supplement with purchased breakfast food. Also, a nit to pick with the shower design. A half-door glass enclosure is such a bad idea (even though we had the same in Berlin and London). I'm sure it cuts down the hotel's hot water expenditure because it's too uncomfortable to take a leisurely shower. The air temperature in the room does not warm up, so any skin not directly under the shower is cold and miserable, and inevitably, no matter how quick you are, the floor winds up wet. Isn't a warm enjoyable shower just part of a civilized hotel stay?

Room Tip: Top floor, inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ISyzigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy that you had a nice stay at Scandic Grand Central and appreciate your comments. Our guests comments is very important and will help us improve. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you to one of our Scandic hotels soon again.

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here late July 2012. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly and the location excellent in downtown Stockholm only a couple of blocks from the train station. For a modest price, the hotel upgraded us to a suite. Our room faced away from the street, so was quiet. They provided a coffe maker in the room. The bathroom was immaculate. The complimentary breakfast was the best I've seen in any hotel, with a massive buffet including assorted breads, cheeses, cut meats, scrambled eggs, bacon, various cereals, etc. A real excellent buffet breakfast.

Room Tip: Caution: When the room we were given was too warm because it was on a lower floor and the windows co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malillysr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We like to give our guests the very best, so if possible we always offer the possibility to upgrade rooms on arrival. We love to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you to us soon again!

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Excellent Hotel, located just 2 min away from Stockholm Central train terminal. Actually in my way back to my home town I noticed that the Hotel is in fact like 50m away from one of the Arlanda Express direct entries. Besides being close to the Central Station is also in walking distance to main Stockholm streets and attractions. Nice and very clean rooms, good breakfast can find anything wrong with my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juanff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel is perfect--safe, central location, comfortable, large and clean rooms with personality, helpful staff, great restaurants close by and an unbelievable buffet breakfast which will keep you going all day. Stockholm is a fabulous city you will fall in love with. This hotel makes you feel part of the community. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street noise. The rooms in the back are very quiet, but it does front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank riderite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely feedback on Tripadvisor. We could not have expressed us in a better way than you just did – This hotel makes you feel part of the community. Welcome back to us!

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We read some Trip Advisor reviews and were a little anxious about our stay here.
However we found the hotel's central location more than made up for any minor dissatisfactions.
Friendly, helpful staff, very comfortable room (although a little dark), very quiet - we wouldn't have believed there was anyone there. The crowds at breakfast disproved that.
Easy to walk to so many places - including Gamla Stan and the quays for getting boats and we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Over the courtyard is peaceful, but other rooms would give better views an are lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjoriebourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your feedback. We love to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you to us soon again!

Best regards,

Matilda
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My wife and I spent three nights here using the hotel as a base for a city break in Stockholm. The location is central and very convenient for the central station and in particular the Arlanda Express from the airport. It was also a short walk from Gamla Stan. Our room was excellent, clean, well appointed and stylish. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent with a wide choice. The only slight downside was the bar which was extremdely popular and therefore uncomfortably noisy and crowded if you wanted to take a quiet drink. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mickhorseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatildaG278, Concierge at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2012

Dear Guest,
How we love to hear about your enjoyable stay with us. Stockholm is fantastic, and we are situated right in the middle of the Buzz. We now run a very popular cocktail bar and it can be very crowded sometimes – we are very happy of course! We hope you enjoyed some nice cocktails in our cozy lobby ( less noisy) during your stay. Welcome back to us!

Best regards

Matilda Granström
Concierge
Scandic Grand Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,441 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#36 of 155 in Stockholm
2,786 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
1,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#26 of 155 in Stockholm
1,275 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central by Scandic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central by Scandic

Address: 70 Kungsgatan, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £97 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central by Scandic 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Central by Scandic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Central Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing