We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Central by Scandic
Ranked #44 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Titusville, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, modern hotel”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Nice, small room. It was fine for a couple nights. We Americans tend to expect larger rooms. It had modern style with comfortable beds. Loved the location, as it's close to everything downtown and we had a neat view from the window. Only complaint would be the night noise on the street side. There seemed to be a bit of racing until about midnight.

Room Tip: Ask for an inside room if you want to retire early in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Meri,

Thank you for your nice review, I agree our hotel has an excellent location. As you wrote Americans tender larger rooms than Europeans, we have a lots of room categories with varying sizes to fit most of our guests needs. We hope you’ll coming back visiting us, please do tell us your special needs. For example a quiet room and I promise we do the best to satisfy you.

Kind regards,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    832
    283
    92
    47
See reviews for
255
579
112
563
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Nice room, but very hot due to ac not working. Tried another room which was just as warm. Very poor considering how much the room cost. Breakfast was very good though...... ........ ......... .............. .................

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickE55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Nick,

We are sorry that you were effected by this not non-working AC. Unfortunately we have had problems with the air conditioning when the humidity in Sweden has been incredibly high. Howewer, we are aware of the problem and working on this to find a solution by next summer.

We appreciate your feedback, it’s valuable for us.

Kind regards,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and were satisfied with our stay. After reading reviews here we decided to book the room above the standard room for a bit more space and we were glad we did because this just seemed like an average sized room to us so I wouldn't like to see how small the standard rooms are!

Rooms are modern and clean and beds very comfortable. The beds were also electronically controlled to change position to sit up and lie down which was a great touch! We were on the third floor on a street facing room and the street noise would get quite noisy at times - especially when the bin lorries rocked up at 4:30am most mornings! Location is literally a 5 minute walk from central station so couldn't be more convenient if getting the Arlanda express from the airport. It's also directly across the road from a 24 hour 7 eleven which is handy.

The only negative for us was breakfast - it was extremely busy every morning to the point of being unpleasant. There was no system and nobody there asking your room number - it just felt like a chaotic free for all. It was really difficult to get a table every day and you had to fight your way through crowds to get to any food - hardly a relaxing start to the day! The spread was just ok - there just seemed to be nice little extras missing like smoked salmon and any sort of pastries, muffins etc.

Good hotel overall with some minor gripes.

Room Tip: Book a room up from standard size if you want a good standard of space and maybe request a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your honestly review at Tripadvisor, your feedback is important to us in our progress to development. It’s wonderful you did appreciate the room’s decor, comfortable beds and great location.
I feel sorry about your negative experience of the breakfast, we are aware of the crowded breakfast problem and we are working on a solution to make it better for you.

Kind regards,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Average hotel in the city center, but the room was too small, good for 1 or max 2 nights stay. Close to Stockholm central rail station. Breakfast was ok, nothing great. Location wise it is pretty good and lot of eating joints and restaurants close by.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanjay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Sanjay,

Thanks for writing a review of your stay.
We offer a lot of room categories with varying sizes of square meters, beds and facilities. We appreciate your feedback.

Kind regards,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft Lauderdale
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was advertised as a luxury hotel, but if you like austere then this bare bones hotel is for you! Awful furnishings in the rooms, everything dusty, no amenities in the bathrooms, breakfast is like Grand Central Station...AVOID!!!! Not worth even $50.00/night.

Room Tip: Don't think there are any good rooms from the comments we heard from others on our trip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shellster249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicGrandCentral, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 26 February 2015
Dear shellster249,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are not a luxury hotel, and we do not try to advertise ourselves in that way either. We’ve always thought it’s better to be welcoming than formal. We want you to have a good time when you stay with us. Almost like visiting friends - relaxed and simple. We believe in great, personal service with a smile. Our hotel was built three years ago, so we have the advantage of our rooms being decorated in a modern way, but we are aware that the style might not be for everyone.
My apologies if a misunderstanding has occured with how we have advertised ourselves, and we are sorry that this put a damper on your holiday.

Best Regards,

Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for four nights this past June.

The hotel is centrally located. It is a brisk walk to the tram station for Stansen/Vasa Museum. The hotel sells the Stockholm Card which allows you to see almost all of the city's sites for 48 hours plus free public transportation. The free breakfast buffet is good.

We had read the reviews and picked a family room with a view. It was on the third floor with a balcony. That alone made it a superb deal. My husband and I enjoyed the balcony on some of the nights. Now to what made the hotel: the staff.

My daughter got sick the second day we were there. My husband called the night desk and spoke to Jimmy (? don't know if that was his name but he was a night supervisor). He gave my husband directions to the nearest pharmacy open at 400am. My daughter got worse and we asked for our car to be brought forward. Jimmy did this and offered to call ahead to the hospital to let them know we were Americans and what was our situation. Well, the next day after discovering Sweden's child emergency room, Jimmy saw us and asked how my daughter was. We told him better, that we were just going down the block to get some food. The last day when we checked out he again (along with his colleague) asked about her. Nice touch. One of the front desk ladies saw us returning from the hospital and knew who we were and got us tea, sugar, and lemon.

The room décor is ultra modern Swedish which was nice. It is newly renovated (no bath tub). the beds were comfortable and the sleeping was excellent as well (trust me, after a day in the ER, we slept).

The food (we ordered a lot in) was good. Try the Swedish meatballs and mash potatoes, not bad.

Room Tip: Try to get a family room. Its worth the extra out lay. The room sleeps three nicely and has a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miamimommytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Upon booking a chain hotel, we are used to certain bedding standards, like "Sweet sleeper bed", "heavenly bed", "my bed", etc.; however, this hotel does not have a good standard, seemed like old too soft beds.
We had booked a family room, quite spacious with a folding sofa.
Internet access is a bit tricky.
Good location in Stockholm
Breakfast quite good. No service, you have to get everything yourself.
eggs to order would be a good extra addition.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicGC S, Marketing Manager at Grand Central by Scandic, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Roland,

Thank you for leaving a review.
Sorry to hear that our beds didn’t meet your expectations. We often get positive comments about our beds, but of course everyone can not enjoy the same things.

Thanks again for your feedback!

Kind regards,
Azize Ayhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,255 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel C Stockholm
Hotel C Stockholm
#32 of 154 in Stockholm
2,528 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#31 of 154 in Stockholm
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Adlon
Elite Hotel Adlon
#38 of 154 in Stockholm
769 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
ProfilHotels Central Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Central by Scandic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Central by Scandic

Property: Grand Central by Scandic
Address: 70 Kungsgatan, Stockholm 111 22, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#33 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#34 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#41 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Central by Scandic 4*
Number of rooms: 391
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Central by Scandic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Grand Central Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing