We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use at your own risk” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bike Sweden

Bike Sweden
Book In Advance
More Info
US$408.30*
and up
Racer Bike Tour - Private Guided Road Bike Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Stockholm on a bike! Join one of our popular guided sightseeing tours or rent a bike from our central location and cycle to the island of Djurgarden or into the city. We provide you with all you need, from maps, suggested bike tours and good quality bikes (helmets are included for free, but optional for adults). Suitable for all ages, we have kids bikes, child seats, child carriages, adult bikes, mountain bikes, racers and more. Visit us to take your Stockholm holiday onto two wheels!
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Use at your own risk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Bike Sweden is located in what appears to be a shipping container. It does not have a bathroom, and the guides do not know where the nearest public bathroom is. There is no food and no water to purchase. They do not offer baskets to carry your backpack or other gear (they have baskets if you know to ask). They do not let you use the nicer bikes (it might be because we used the Stockholm card). They do not explain how the gears work. Our tour started with the guide leading us on a pedestrian sidewalk, and we got yelled at by a local. The tour was very dull, and the guide did not know what some of the attractions were. We still had a good time, but keeping your expectations low helps with this company.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Exhausted_parents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    30
    15
    5
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
montreal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dont use this company”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

two flats in two days, gears that didn't work. don't use them. A big waste of money. Flat tire on the first day we took the bike after two hours, we got it fized and had another flat about 3 hours later. We were left stranded nowhere close to our hotel and told to walk back. Despite reassurances from the owner we continued on our planend 6 day tour. We ended our 6 day self guided tour two days early because the maps were horrible, the bikes were in bad shape with gears that didn't work and yes a third flat tire. Their itinerary brought us to small towns with nothing to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lovdatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice Stockholm parks tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

First you have to get the Stockholm card. We had booked this tour before we arrived and then got the card and couldn't believe it was included for no cost! They let us switch to the card without any payment. You should know we did a 'Fat Bike' tour in Paris and are expectations were very high since that was incredible. The shop is basically a trailer so at first not easy to find becasue you are looking for a traditional shop front. The place is run by some pretty young people and things were fairly organized. There are not a lot of kids bikes so get there early if you have children. My children could handle the biking just fine (10 yrs), there are plenty of stops. Equipment OK. The tour guide was definitley knowledgeable about the parks of Sweden and answered questions well. Definitely worth it with the Stockholm card.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HBerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany, Europe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

It was an interesting and beautiful english guided 2-hours-tour across stockholm-city (1 pm, about 26 bikers, rent with stockholm card). Comfortable bikes, friendly guide, interesting anekdotes about some historical events and places.

Helpful?
1 Thank AlicjaWolve
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“A great way to experience Stockholm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Earlier in our trip, we did a cycling tour in Copenhagen so were keen to try it again. Bike Sweden tours are included on the Stockholm Card (a great value, by the way) so we decided to do it. We met at the starting point outside the Historica Museet (a five minute walk from the Karlaplan metro station) at 3:30pm and joined the "National City Park" tour. Our fantastic and friendly guide, Elisabeth, set the ground rules right away and helped us to understand the rules of the road. Our group was about 15 people - probably the maximum number for a guide to effectively manage a tour. The tour left promptly and lasted about two hours. The pace was brisk but given that it was mostly flat, it was quite manageable. Our trip through Djurgården was wonderful and it was here that we were introduced to the Prins Eugens museet, which Elisabeth heartily recommended (we went later and loved it). Our guide stopped several times to offer commentary, often throwing in personal stories which I thought was a nice touch. Our group managed to stay together but a larger group could easily get separated. The first 30 minutes or so involve the most interaction with crossing traffic and city streets - after that it is mostly in a peaceful park setting.

Our bikes were in good condition and easy to ride. Helmets were available but getting one in perfect working order required digging through the bin. A previous reviewer mentioned an encounter with foul-mouthed young staff at the rental booth and I witnessed the same thing. It didn't bother me that much but I certainly agree it is no way to run a business. Cycling in Stockholm is just a tad less organized than it is in Copenhagen. I found that while there were cycling lanes everywhere, they weren't always physically separated from the traffic, and the painted lines and symbols on the pavement could use a refresh in many places. Other than that, I do recommend this tour. It is a very peaceful way to spend a few hours in hectic Stockholm. The regular price is 300 SEK (without Stockholm Card). The only restroom opportunities were at the start and end of the tour.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bike Sweden also viewed

Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 
Stockholm, Stockholm County
Stockholm, Stockholm County
 

Been to Bike Sweden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing