We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and charming little hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Ranked #18 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nice and charming little hotel.”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Beautiful hotel at an old building. Price is reasonable, breakfast is good and room comfortable. Hotel has a good location at Södermalm, a lot of restaurants and shops within a walking distance. Closest metro station about 400 m.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olmi03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    261
    76
    16
    8
See reviews for
76
372
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Overall a nice little hotel.

We were staying as we were exhibiting at an event at the nearby Munchenbrygget conference centre.

Pros

Smart Rooms,
Flat Screen TV (TV channels show US shows in English with Subtitles so you can still watch them)
Great Breakfast Servery
Secure
Helpful Staff
Some restaurants not too far away
close to metro
great price

Cons
Not as clean as It could be
Taps are sensored so only flow when your hands are under them (which is a pian when shaving or brushing teeth)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grazzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We spent about a week in a tiny tiny room on the last floor, beneath the roof. Although we barely had space for our luggage, we loved it! The bed was excellent, we had a little circular window in front of which there was a little desk with an old typewriter, that and the wooden beams gave real charm to the room. It was ok for a short stay with a small suitcase, but if you come with bulky luggage, you might want to make sure to get a larger room, as I heard the size of the rooms are very variable, given the building is an old renovated mansion.
The breakfast is also worth mentioning, lots of variety and everything tastes good and healthy. I was looking forward to it every morning!
The hotel is conveniently located near a T-bana station so you can get to the center of Stockholm really fast, or go on foot and enjoy the view from Söder Mälarstrand.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halffilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I booked into this hotel having stayed regularly at the other Hellsten in Stockholm. I had hoped that the place would have the same charm as the other hotel and it did. It does have one minor drawback and that is the absence of a bar and restaurant that in the other Hellsten is always a great place to relax after a day in the bustling capital! This said within minutes of the hotel there are a large number of places to eat and drink at.
The first room I was put in on the 3rd floor had a rather disconcerting bathroom in which the windows were not covered which gave me a great view into the building opposite. I suspected that the opposite was also true and, perhaps due to my prudish English side, I requested another room. I was given a lovely room on the fourth floor that was the sort of quirky room that I expect from the Hellsten hotels. Wooden ceiling beams in the bathroom that meant that is was rather difficult (but not impossible) to stand up. That however, is what makes the Hellsten hotels so inviting...their uniqueness and their uncompromising resolve to respect the traditional architecture of the buildings.
I will be returning to the is hotel in the future...next week actually!

Room Tip: I was first placed in a room which
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldParr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
193 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

A wonderful hotel in a restored former mansion with tremendous charm and character. Well worth up-grading (150 Krone) for a deluxe room...what a treasure...a huge extremely comfortable four poster bed and slate floors with a beamed ceiling and two bathrooms (both in grey slate with one being a toilet and shower and the other a larger glass-walled shower. Sure it is not on the waterfront and so about a 30 minute walk to the centre but less than half the price of anything comparable in town. The walk to town passes all kinds of little interesting shops, cafes and galleries. We ate at a small french restaurant nearby recommended by the hotel which was excellent and certainly off the main tourist beat ..namely centre of the old town where overpriced restaurants took advantage of hoards of tourists. Taxi had some difficulty finding the hotel which in fact is not difficult to find but in a residential district so not as well known to taxi drivers. Fortunately our room was on the main floor as we had considerable luggage for a cruise we had just completed. Breakfast was very ample and good and as well there is free coffee and tea available all day. The reception was very helpful and the girls took all our luggage upstairs to a non-used conference room to store it for the day until our evening flight. Overall the room was fantastic..sorry we were only one night!!

Room Tip: Worth up-grading to a deluxe room..it was only an additional 150 krone..but what a difference. In an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Per H, Owner at Hotel Hellstens Malmgard, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Dear Donald,

Thank you so much for taking your time to write this review, what a lovely one to receive.
I am so glad to read your kind words about our rooms and service.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Maybe the next time you can stay for more than one night and really have time to enjoy our hotel and beautiful city!

Kind regards,
Per Hellsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
257 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

This historic old mansion originally owned by a wealthy pharmacist is located on top of a hill in the upscale Sodermalm a block away from the metro. This neighborhood is quiet and safe and near to good restaurants. I loved the old architecture of the hotel and it has been beautifully restored. We stayed in a corner room on the main floor with a loft that could sleep two or three more. The room was indeed tiny as was the shower and bath but it was tastefully done. My 6'1" husband had to duck in the room but even with our luggage we didn't mind the small quarters because it was clean, convenient and charming. Our helpful receptionist, Emma was sweet and gave us many suggestions to help us in our visit in Stockholm. She even let us store our luggage after we checked out so we could enjoy the rest of the stay unencumbered. The breakfasts were fabulous, the price very reasonable for such a well appointed, clean hotel. I would return! To read more about our visit in Stockholm see my travel blog at www.mytb.org/kelleygirl.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelleygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stockholm girl
An old mansion lovingly restored into a personal and charming hotel. Although in the middle of the up and coming part of Stockholm peace and quiet reigns in the enclosed courtyard. Not far from the Old City you will find life style shops, art galleries, second hand stores and inviting restaurants on your walk there. A full breakfast in the old vault will sustain for you for quite a while.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Vasastan
Hotel Hellsten
Hotel Hellsten
#44 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Upplandsgatan
Scandic Upplandsgatan
#28 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hellstens Malmgard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hellstens Malmgard

Property: Hotel Hellstens Malmgard
Address: 110 Braennkyrkagatan, Stockholm 117 26, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Hornstull & Langholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hellstens Malmgard 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its 49 rooms in a building from 1770, breakfast room in a brick vault in the basement, and some public rooms on the first floor, this leaves a hotel experience that is unique to Stockholm and perhaps the world. Here you can stay, gather and experience Stockholm at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Hellstens Malmgard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing