We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great exterior!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Ranked #70 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Elite Hotel Stockholm plaza is a great looking hotel from the outside. Also the public areas are modern and very clean. The room itself wasn't that great but at least it was clean. Bathroom was very outdated, the tiles being maybe from the beginning of 80's. Also the look of the room was a bit 80'ish. But hey, isn't that suppose to be back in style? You also had to keep the curtains over the windows because there was a 24/7 gym right across the street with a direct view to my room.

I only stayed at the hotel for one night and the bed was very comfy. Also the internet connection was free and worked perfectly so I could watch the evening news from back home. It was an old building and the sound proofing was not very good. Therefore you could hear even an conversation from the street (bring earplugs just in case).

Breakfast was ok, but I think I've had better in Sweden. The hotel also lacks a gym so would not be my first choice in the future. Location is excellent being on the Birger Jarlsgatan with good shopping possibilities!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2010

We were in the hotel in Aug 2009 for one day and were very dissapointed. When booking we were attracted by the words "superior double room". On arrival it appeared to be a small ordinary double bed. The air conditioning were directed directly on you, so you cannot escape the wind if not turn the device off. There were no central air conditioning system in our room.
The most unpleasant thing was that walls were dirty, the had traces of hand cream spoilled on them. The hotel staff refused to give us another room telling that there were no free. They did not come to clean walls, they did not even say that they appoligise for this, the manager did not call or write (we wrote our comments for him with our contacts) to appologise for this situation. If you could find another hotel, our advice is- find it, we'll never stay in this one again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena-Anton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

This hotel is in the perfect spot for touring the city. It is in the shopping district and a quick walk to the subway. The rooms were very SMALL but once my husband and I figured out oor "flightplan" around the room, it didn't seem so small. The room was very clean even if a bit outdated. Breakfast was great with a nice variety of foods for every taste. I would certainly stay here again just for the location and the price!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie21076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My room (316) at this hotel was the dirtiest I have encountered at ANY hotel in
Sweden. There was quite a thick layer of dust on everything (desk, top of
mirror, and even the glass shelf in the bathroom). The staff also felt that I
ought to be made aware that the previous guest had brushed his/her teeth as
there were dried droplets of toothpaste/saliva on the mirror. Finally, there
was long brown hair from a previous guest on the spare toilet roll. There was
some attempt, it seems, to remove some dust off the desk (nowhere else), but the spots on the mirror, and the strand of hair remained in place during my entire 3-night stay. (I thought I would wait to see if the cleaning staff noticed but apparently
this is the level of cleanliness that Elite hotels considers acceptable.

On 2 of the 3 mornings I had breakfast at this hotel the availability of food
was MUCH less than I would have expected based on my experience at other hotels
in Stockholm. This is because the staff allow trays to become entirely empty
before replacing them (and that can take up to 10 minutes or more). The
practice at other hotels seems to be to replenish the trays well before they
become empty.

I would strongly urge potential guests to avoid this hotel and choose instead
the Crystal Plaza which is just a few meters away, or the Birger Jarl. Both are
approximately the same price, cleaner rooms, and more efficiently organised breakfasts..

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The reception staff were very friendly and the service in the hotel was of a good standard, but the layout (actually finding your room on getting out of a very slow lift) was not easy - the rooms snake around along long corridors and for some reason they thought it would be artistic to put some orange flowers outside the lift (one per vase).

The room itself was clean, the only minor gripe would be about the lighting. In the bathroom particularly it was extremely awkward to shave with shadows coming at you from different directions. The room I was in had a view of an office block opposite which I'm sure can be a source of entertainment for the workers if the curtains aren't drawn.

It is in a good location however, with a supermarket around the corner, and if you're not one who is staying at the hotel for more than sleeping and the breakfast then it's a worthwhile stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meesterwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

the location is great, one minute walking distance to the main street; small rooms but clean, comfortable and quiet, huge breakfast with many fresh fruits, salmon, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gothgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Yes, the layout of the hotel is odd and confusing at first, but that's because put together two or three old buildings to make a full-service hotel in a great location without ruining the facade. The elevators are small and slow, but the staircases are magnificent, and walking them is good for the heart (and soul). And I'm one who usually sleeps through noise, but the conversations outside the nightclub below my room were loud and annoying until very late.

Nonetheless, I thought this hotel had a lot going for it. The breakfast buffet offers lots of choices and is open long hours, with free newspapers. The location is unbeatable, near shops and restaurants, public transport to and from everywhere, and less than 15 minute walk to the train station and transport hub. My room, though small, was imaginatively laid out and had a great view. And staff must have changed or improved since the previous reviews. I found them helpful.

Probably the best surprise, however, was that the price ended up being LESS than quoted on the internet. At 1600 for weeknights and 950 for weekend nights, the Elite was a bargain. I'm sure prices vary depending on time of year, but I consider that I got a good deal.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 155 in Stockholm
746 reviews
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Adlon
Elite Hotel Adlon
#40 of 155 in Stockholm
816 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#21 of 155 in Stockholm
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
Elite Palace Hotel Stockholm
#46 of 155 in Stockholm
873 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#51 of 155 in Stockholm
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza

Address: 29 Birger Jarlsgatan | Box 7707, Stockholm 111 45, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#50 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £100 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza is a beautiful hotel that was built in 1884. It is located only 100 meters from Stureplan, in central Stockholm. Here, you will stay in a relaxing oasis in a lively part of Stockholm with the best shopping streets, restaurants and attractions steps away. We offer our guests an atmosphere of personal and individual attention and the highest conceivable level of service. There is one thing on which we never compromise – personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing