We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #53 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good hotel in handy location”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I had a single room on the third floor, the room was small but well equipped. The only problem was the wetroom-type arrangement of the bathroom so the whole floor became wet after showering.

Breakfast was good, quite a large selection of items. The staff were friendly but not particularly quick or eager to sort out a problem with my bill. The location is very good, walking distance to the old town, shopping areas and central station.

Overall I'd give this hotel 3.5 if I could, not sure I could stretch to 4 on account of the problems with the bill.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fleur1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    508
    148
    33
    20
See reviews for
114
417
53
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

This was our 4th time at Mornington, as we always come to Stockholm for our anniversary. We had a shaky start this time and got given a small room with a shower that flooded because of a blocked drain, but thanks to the brilliant Annelie who works nightshifts at reception, we got upgraded to an executive room, as per our original agreement with the hotel. Annelie was a fantastic staff member and made our stay.
Breakfast is excellent, with generous quantities of everything you wish for, from cheeses, hams and eggs to pancakes, fruit and brownies. On weekends the breakfast was served till 10.30 (as opposed to 9.30 on weekdays). We noticed that on weekends the staff started wrapping things up and removing food at 10.30 on the dot. So go down early if you want to eat breakfast, because it's worth getting up early.
The gym is amazing. I use the gym daily, and I enjoyed a great workout during my stay. The airconditioning is not very strong, so it gets quite hot while on the treadmill. It's the best hotel gym i've ever been to, and i've only stayed in hotels with gyms. There are personal trainers on site as well, but i suppose you have to pay a fee for their service.
There's a computer for guests to access the internet right by the reception desk, which was very convenient for planning our trip to Kolmarden zoo. We didnt bring a laptop this time, so having access to the internet for free was brilliant. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating.
The cleaners do a good job, but we noticed that they didnt really wipe surfaces. We had a few drinks before going out one night, and the vodka and rum left sticky stains on a few surfaces that didnt get wiped during our stay at all. But the room is very clean, so maybe it was just an oversight.
The beds and duvets are phenomenal. You dont want to get out of bed in the morning. I wonder what brand they are.
FACE products in the bathroom are really good.
There's a hotdog stall right by the hotel that makes amazing hot dogs; give it a try.
The hotel is within walking distance to the centre of town, but there are also a couple of subway stops nearby. The subway is expensive, so it's worth exploring the city on foot - if it's short distances, or it's good to purchase a 72hour travelcard.
All in all, a great stay, and big thanks to Annelie for helping us with our room problem and making our holiday a perfect one.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uberlandia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very good hotel, room, breakfast, employees and location in a very special and beautiful city (one of the most beautiful cities in the world... in summer).

Room Tip: Possible to get there by foot from the central station
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rezendelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varberg
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here a couple of times this spring and really recommend this hotel. If you book well in advance you get a good price compared to other hotels in the sourrondings in the city. Beds are really comfortable and breakfast nice. In walking distance to shopping area and central station. And if you feel like reading the whole lobby is full of books, and also a selection in your room for you to use.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenaVarberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was very happy with my stay at the Mornington. The gym was great, and I loved that they have a sauna. The rooms are not big, but they are well decorated and big enough for two people. The restaurant was awesome, and very reasonably priced. Every staff person who I encountered was very friendly and helpful. They made my stay really special. Also, you can't beat the location. We walked nearly everywhere, and when necessary we took the T-Bana which is about two minutes down the street. Overall this was one of the best hotel experiences I have had in Europe, and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poesiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Hotel Mornington had everything we needed, and had it with style. The beds were the softest we've slept on in Europe, the rooms were stylish and colorful, and the breakfast buffet was probably the best we've seen, ever. Solid location within easy walking distance to the tunnelbana and downtown, friendly staff, and good value for the money. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrunerVeltiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I have stayed with my partner at this hotel and we have just loved it.
The hotel costed £260 for 2 nights and I can only tell you that this was an amazing deal.

The hotel is very well located, and in my opinion, in the best part of Stockholm.
Close to everything, since metro station to the local nightlife. Absolutely amazing customer service and a superb breakfast.

The room was not that big, but I just loved. Super well decorated and the bathroom was super clean. You have also free wi-fi and a massive modern gym.

Maximum score. I wish I could go back soon.

Room Tip: Book via Bookings.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
708 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#26 of 154 in Stockholm
1,178 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
640 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Property: Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing