We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No clothes closet or case in the room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #68 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2011

There are no clothes closet or case in the room. The bath is about 1 m2 without a shower curtain. When you take a shower, there will be water everywhere. Okay for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honmaberes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

535 - 541 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2011

Small room, not the best shower. But a very good breakfast and a great location makes this a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

We stayed five nights at the Mornington in October 2011. It has joined a short list of our favorite hotels along with the Das Tyrol in Vienna, the Holt in Reykjavic, the Claremont in Southwest Harbor and, until recently, the Plaza Lucchesi in Florence. We will, if at all possible, return again to Stockholm and the Mornington.

The staff at the desk were professional, courteous and helpful. There were always at least two people working so there was no waiting for help. The lobby/bar/restaurant is tasteful and well decorated. It is comfortable and almost always had people in it creating a welcoming atmosphere. The breakfast was excellent. Everything was well prepared and presented. There were enough staff to keep things fresh and hot and the table clean. People seemed to care about making the experience of being at the Mornington a positive one.

We had dinner twice in the restaurant. Each time it was really good and well priced--particularly the evening special.

Our room was on the seventh floor with a small patio and a terrific view across the rooftops. The neighborhood is quiet and upscale but a short walk from Gamla Stan, the Vasa and other key points.

I have to say before closing that we are book people so finding that the lobby was surrounded with bookcases filled with books you could borrow during your stay was the ne plus ultra. In addition there were books in the room. In our case one was a lovely one of photos of Stockholm in the 60's. Top notch.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMLVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

this hotel is situated in ostermalm area of stockholm. very near to underground stations.We visited the hstorical museum which is about 12 mins walk away and there was no problem fining it. from there we took another undersground station called karlaplan and went into stockholm to do some shopping. The prices for restauarants vary. Our hotel was very clean and very comfortatable beds. Very good breakfast. The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
I booked two single rooms. Mine was of a better quality than my friends although we lived next door to each other...same price ??

Room Tip: high floors are quieter....view not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Suitable for both business and pleasure, good location approx 10 min walk from Stureplan, this hotel offers peaceful easygoing accommodation and good service. The hotel lobby is a big library, the coffee in the bar is the best and the rooms are (often at least) spacious in Stockholm scale, where most rooms are tiny. Appreciate the reliable services, coffee/tea maker, bathrobe and slippers and a proper desk and lighting for working. Nothing posh but good high-level service. Excellent breakfast. Modest views but at least the inside yard side is quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SoloFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at Mornington.We definitly didn`t get the biggest hotel room in Stockholm, but it was so nice and cozy. We spoiled ourselves with our daily free truffles and mineral water dressed in the Mornington bathrobes and slippers :p.

The location of the hotel is great, not far away from Östermalms Torg and Stureplan. Most of Stockholm`s sights can be reached on foot from the hotel. The breakfast was delicious and had a big variet of food. Free WiFi was also a bonus. We truly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zablar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed at this hotel on two occassions in September. It's ok. It sort of has a library feel to it - nice touch with the apples on the bookshelve in the room. Rooms are small though (if you splash out I'm sure you can get a bigger one) - and late afternoon and early evening the internet connection really slows down (would almost say don't bother going online). Staff was friendly though - on both occassions I noticed that tourist had left "thank you" messages to the staff for all their help. Seems to be a hotel that caters for cruise ship tourist (met a lot of Japanese, American and French people during my stays). The lounge area is not that big and it's difficult to find any space at all, especially during lunch when it's packed. Beds are really nice though!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnordic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Vasastan
Best Western Plus Time Hotel
Vasastan
Hotel Birger Jarl
Hotel Birger Jarl
#56 of 155 in Stockholm
1,612 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 155 in Stockholm
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Xpress Stockholm Central
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#45 of 155 in Stockholm
1,632 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £76 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing