We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,nice decor,great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #59 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The hotel had an intimate library decor that was carried right into the guest rooms. We had a 'superior room' that was small (as typical in any large city hotel) but it had good space planning, lovely modern decor and was very comfortable. Good mattress, smooth sheets and nice towels. Selection of tea and chocolates were left everyday on a tea table. Bathroom was bright, modern and clean. Every morning, we enjoyed a complimentary breakfast buffet that was generous and fresh with selections of meat, breads ,eggs,cheese,fruit and teas,hot chocolate and variety of coffees. The hotel is in a lovely area with shops,restaurants,a grocery store and food hall (amazing!) The front desk were always very helpful arranging taxis etc.
Very good value especially during the week. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dharma4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind review. Your comments are very important to us.

We hope to see you again soon. If you like to have a bigger room next time, you can try one of our Executive rooms.

Welcome!
Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,036)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

489 - 495 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Beautiful hotel well located in Stockholm (within walking distance of almost everything). They are books everywhere and the room was very comfy and well decorated.
Amazing breakfast buffet and helpful staff.
Free access to sauna and a gym.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elanor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

I am so glad you took your time to leave your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. All opinions are greatful for us, you give us energi to continue our work.

Welcome back to us!

Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This hotel is in a good location in Stockholm and is a fair hotel. It's nothing special but the public areas are nice enough. Room was a single and so was tiny but it was clean and comfortable enough.

Fine for a business trip but not recommended for a 'destination'hotel. This is a good place to stay - a good basic 3* star hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room - the singles are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Next time you visit us you can book an Executive room that are a bit bigger.

We hope to see you soon again. Welcome back!
Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

4-star sort of hotel, in Östermalm, an elegant and expensive residential section of Stockholm, 3-minute walk from the Östermalmstorg square, metro station, famous Saluhall food halls and sea-food eateries, numerous shops and restaurants. Our "superior" room was fine, with tea/coffe equipment and free access to the gym. Front desk staff was courteous and efficient, room price quite reasonable. Breakfast was OK. Breakfast rooms were fine during the week, very crowded during the week-end as the hotel seemed to be full with tourists taking advantage of discounted week-end rates. Nevetheless we could always find a table without having to wait more than a couple minutes. Overall, a much better choice than the 4-star hotels around Stureplan.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ParisEric_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Welcome back to Mornington Hotel!
Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Nice,centrally located hotel
This hotel has three important advantages, and one disadvantage. First the positive aspects: (1) it is located right in the center of Stockholm in a very nice and not too busy neighborhood; (2) I have stayed in the hotel several times and the front desk staff have always been really nice and helpful; (3) the rooms are also nice (but rather small). They are equipped with everything you need, including a pot to make coffee or tea with and a sofa. The only negative aspect is the breakfast. It is included in the price which is good, and there are a lot of dishes, but nothing that makes having breakfast here special. Everything is rather basic and unexciting. I would much prefer less dishes and really nice fruit, cold cuts that are special, freshly made orange juice, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are constantly working on improving our guest service and your comments are very important for us. The breakfast is an important part of a hotel stay. We try our best to have as much as possible homemade and with a high quality.

We hope to see you soon again.
Welcome back!

Kind Regards
Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

At first you think that this is a private house, with lots of books on the book shelves. Before I stepped in, I went back, checking whether I was at the right place. They got a private collection, I think, lots of common literature, but then also classical stuff. The whole lobby looks like a private library.
Rooms are a bit small, but nice, comfortable, with a good bed, nice bathroom, easy access to wifi (via voucher). Breakfast is great, much too much. I had expected more nordic stuff, more fish, but that's not the case. No fish. Strange. Just a standard, though fabulous breakfast buffet. Room very warm and comfortable (I was there in March). Staff very nice.

Located in the heart of the city, with lots of restaurants and interesting places near-by. Walked from the train station to hotel, ca. 20 minutes.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aclassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hforsberg, Revenue Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for your nice words and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. Our owners have a great interest in books and all of our more than 4000 books have been handpicked. We also have a librarian that comes once every week to take care of the books both in the lobby and all of our guestrooms.
The breakfast is an important feature when you stay in a hotel and we try to have a great variety to meet as many wishes as possible. All of our jam, müsli and pancakes are homemade, the juices are freshly squeezed and you should also find a few different herring dishes.

Thank you again for your kind words and I hope we will see you again.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Knowing how expensive Stockholm can be, we wanted to stay somewhere that included breakfast in the room rate. The Mornington does and what a breakfast it is: huge buffet with a really wide choice of great food. The staff in the restaurant and at the front desk were charming and very helpful. Walking through the door each day was like coming home: comfy chairs, inviting atmosphere. Location-wise, the Tunnelbana stop is 2 mins away, providing easy access to all the key attractions. Free wifi topped it all off!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerryM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hforsberg, Revenue Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments about your stay. This is much appreciated and I am delited to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm really glad too hear that all the things that we work hard to bring out acctually get out to you as guests.
I hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards
Helena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
727 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#22 of 154 in Stockholm
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#30 of 154 in Stockholm
1,231 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#42 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £87 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing