We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #52 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Pretty good hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I normally stay at Gothia Towers when in Gothenburg but I won't be going back after staying at the Mornington.

The location is better (on 'the avenue' - main street in the city), the rooms are more comfortable and the service is more personal. Depending on how and when you book, it is also a little cheaper.

Nice place, nice design with some lovely touches (e.g. fresh coffee with french press in the room).

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locomota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for your nice review. I think your review regards our hotel in Gothenburg. We have three hotels, the one you stayed at in Gothenburg, one in Bromma (Stockholm) and this hotel in the city of Stockholm. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay at Mornington Gothenburg. I hope you would like to visit one of our hotels in Stockholm soon.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    507
    148
    33
    19
See reviews for
114
414
53
259
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

+ Really stylish hotel
+ Gym and sauna
+ Great breakfast

+/- Breakfast was crowded and busy, would recommend coming early

- Even though the room standard was great, I feel that a room, when calling it "superior", should be more spacious

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oslolosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 12 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to see you again soon.

Welcome!

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was varied and well-stocked, although it would get over-crowded and pushy later in the morning.

Our bathroom mysteriously smelt a bit of cigarette smoke (in a non-smoking hotel) but we never found out why. There was some construction work across the street outside our room, but we can't hold this against the hotel as it had nothing to do with them.

The location was handy although in the future I think we would choose somewhere further south as there is a lack of good restaurants nearby.

Some people may find the room a bit squashy, but as a Brit it wasn't a problem for us. Weirdly, my mother's room (a single bedroom) had no safe.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
We are glad you took your time to leave your review. All comments are grateful for us.

The breakfast and the service are for many guests the two most important things for the hotel stay. We have worked hard to make the breakfast a good start of the day. At the front desk the service and friendly staff is the most important. All of them who works at the front desk do their best to make the guests satisfied.

I hope we will see you again soon.

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It's unbelievable this hotel is 4*. No way. The US$250.00 (special rate, believe!) was far too expensive. My room (double) and bathroom was so small that the doors opened to the outside! If you are a large person, find another place to stay. Idem if you have claustrophobia. No wardrobe, no privacy in the toilet that is just beside the door (glass). No way that room had the 16m² announced in booking.com. Just to sleep and get out as soon as you can.
Awful, awful mattress. How could anyone could say that thing that does not look like a mattress (but like a duvet) is good?
No one from staff that deserves a remark - good or bad.
Lobby furniture in need of renovation and also the carpet.
They did not accept my debit card (Visa Travel Money) even though the rest of the world does (everywhere in Russia, Spain, USA, Turkey, Canada and so on). It costed me 6,38% in tax for using my credit card abroad (Brazilian tax). So I can not be happy. I would have choosen another hotel if I knew that incredible payment policy.
Location (not far from touristics attractions and close by to a supermarket and metro) and breakfast are good.
Nice wooden floor in the room.

Room Tip: Use the supermarket nearby to save some money in food in the very expensive Stockholm. McDonald'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TFernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All the comments we get are helpful for us.

I am sorry you did not liked your room. If you would like to visit us again you could try one of our Executive rooms that are a bit bigger.


Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

This hotel is in a good location and we did get a good deal, although this was last year and the hotel failed to tell us that there would be no restaurant/bar available during our stay despite the fact that the deal I booked included a special offer on food! The room was small (ie tiny), although well appointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Thank you for leaving your review. I am sorry you did not get the information about the restaurant. I hope you had a pleasent stay despite that.

We hope you like to visit us again soon.

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed at the Mornington hotel for 2 nights, from May 26 to 28. I emailed the hotel before we arrived asking for an early check-out and never got a response. When we arrived, there wasn't a room for us and they didn't even try to be nice. When we asked what time the room would be ready they said: "Who knows... Check-in is at 3." The room was decent, if a little small. You could hear the neighbors banging doors, but we managed to sleep well. The location was convenient. Whenever we had any questions for the front desk, they answered with the shortest answer possible, bordering on rude. Breakfast was decent, but very crowded.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathe_rio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I would like to get in touch with you, could you please send me an e-mail to jenny.henriksson@mornington.se

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed for four nights, had quite high expectations after reading reviews. Please keep in mind im reviewing this as a 4 star hotel that was charging 400 euro a night when we booked.
Liked: room size was good, very comfortable bedding and good layout. Desk, mini fridge, tea and coffee facilities and two arm chairs. Bathroom good size also, and quality toiletries provided. Location was great, we walked everywhere and didnt need to use the metro. The metro station was a block away at most, one stop from central station. The area was nice, no dodgy characters around and we always felt safe. There are a few restaurants nearby (i recommend the italian place, i think its called piatti), several watering holes and a supermarket. The breakfast was good also, nice selection of cereals, bread and hot food and i never saw anything run out. Ate dinner in the hotel restaurant twice, both times were satisfied with the quality. Not a big menu and averagely priced. Staff were hit and miss, some were really excellent and some were quite surly and unhelpful and disinterested.
Disliked: wifi connection was very poor, if we could pick up the signal at all in our room (level 5) it regularly dropped out and was slow and weak. During peak times (morning and afternoon) this was the case even in the lobby. Our room was quite stuffy even with the aircon on the highest setting (which hardly made a difference) and the window was chained closed. Walls were quite thin, we could hear our neighbours having a bit of a party in their room, walking on the wooden floors, opening and closing their door, etc. Our tea bags were not replenished once during our stay, we had to take some from breakfast twice. We also never saw the fruit or chocolates other reviewers have commented on receiving. On one day, the cleaner came to clean our room at around 6pm. Shower screen and curtain were too short, resulting in half the bathroom getting wet. Was also surprised the floor wasnt heated. Apparently there is a gym and sauna, but we didnt know this as there wasnt any hotel information pack in our room and when checking in, the receptionist gave us no information. I had to ask the basics like, "what time is breakfast and where is it served", "what time is checkout", "what time do you lock the front door", etc. Breakfast was chaotic, buffet line took a while and there isnt enough seating. Tables are slow to be cleared, and a lot of times the wait staff would take only some of the dirty dishes and leave the rest for another person to clear. Unless you have a really really early or very late breakfast, you will struggle to find a table (clean or not). The lobby is also quite crowded a lot of the time.
In summary if i were to return to stockholm, i would only stay here again if there was a good deal on the room rate. I think its a pretty solid 3 star hotel, but the full rate would be a rip off. If you were to spend that kind of money you might as well go stay at the Grand.

Room Tip: Facing the street is facing straight into an apartment block, so if you want privacy ask for a diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sioquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are constantly working on improving our guest service and your comments are very important for us.

After reading about your experience with the wifi connection we are now investigating how to increase the signal all through the hotel.

The humidity was higher then normal during this weekend due to the weather. The central air system in the building does not work as fast as an airconditioner, it takes a while before the change in the air and temerature is completed.

I hope you will come back to us. Please see our webpage for the best available rate. If you have any questions, please contact me on my e-mail jenny.henriksson@mornington.se

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 154 in Stockholm
705 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
1,178 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#23 of 154 in Stockholm
637 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Property: Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing