We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish City Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #48 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stylish City Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Fabulous location as you can walk to all the attractions Stockholm has to offer and you are very close to many fabulous restaurants. The room was stylish and well appointed with a very comfortable bed. Bathroom was a good size with nice amenities. Breakfast was very good... Great variety to choose from... And fabulous service when requesting something not on the buffet. I loved the decor... Very modern and funky and love the bookshelves everywhere.... Adds a point of interest. The staff were very friendly and very informative. This was our second stay and again thoroughly enjoyed the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear guest,

I am glad to hear you are returning guests and I hope we will have the pleasure to see you again soon.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    468
    136
    30
    16
See reviews for
103
376
50
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Came for work and added on the weekend and the hotel worked perfectly to meet both needs!

The experience was everything you'd expect from Sweden: great design, efficient and professional service, clean. The restaurant also offered delicious meals which by the standards of the city were also very affordable.

A great location to walk and explore the city, with a wonderful gym to boot. I don't think I'd bother looking for anywhere else to stay for my next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingQuallie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear guest,

I was delighted to read your review as you appear to have had a great stay.

I hope you return to Stockholm and Mornington again in the near future.

Beast Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medmenham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed for 4 days and had a wonderful time in Stockholm, the Mornington is well located and we walked the length and breadth of the city. The buffet breakfast was superb and set us up for the day. Our room was fairly compact and no real view but that was not important for us. We borrowed one of the bikes and rented another one , Stockholm is very bicycle friendly with good segregation from traffic and relatively flat.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanHCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you had a great Stockholm visit and lovely stay with us.

We hope you come back.

Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

An extremely well designed hotel with perfect functionality and good thought in contemporary Swedish taste. The staff were great although check-in staff were purely functional whilst night staff showed more personality, kindness and a real passion for the place and all its books in particular. We sadly missed out on their fantastic breakfasts because we failed to read the brochure in the room, had late nights and slept in without thinking of requesting room service and only on checking out did we see the amazing breakfast we had lost out on. don't make the same mistake. Don't miss the excellent bistro bar/restaurant across the road for food, wine, kindness, soul and atmosphere. Was our fav of all that we tried in stockholm. We did not try the Spa either. Try to visit the new Spritmuseum nearby that has a great collection of the most famous Swedish spirit with original bottles, artwork and interactive spaces.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the street unless you prefer to see what people do in their homes from rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope we will see again.

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent 3 days at the Mornington Hotel in Stockholm because of a recommendation from friends. What a great hotel! Delightful service, fabulous buffet breakfast, and amazing library with books also in English. They're in a quieter neighborhood, but we could walk easily everywhere we wanted to visit. And they were just a block from the metro, so if we wanted to go farther afield, we could just hope on a train. I highly recommend this to anyone considering a stay in Stockholm.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Denise,

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again!

Best Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed at the Mornington for 4 days and found the hotel very eclectic and nothing like the typical hotel chains. I loved the hundred of books in the lobby and restaurant area. You could grab a cup of coffee or cocktail and have a good read. I had a double standard room which was big enough for one (could be considered small for two though). The room reminded me of staying in a lovely guest room at a friends or relative. Great bed with soft comforters, books and artwork on the walls, small sofa and nice size work desk. Nice bathroom with designer toiletries. Also having a tea/coffee maker, water and chocolates everyday made the room cozy. The breakfast buffet offered lots of variety but got busy after 8:30am. My first day there I asked one of the housekeeping staff for extra hangers, iron and ironing board and even an adaptar since mine didn't work and she stopped what she was doing and got everything I requested straight away!

The only complaints I had was the shower didn't have a basin, just a curtain so the water from the shower would spill out to the rest of the bathroom floor. Also the room didn't come with a closet just 7 hangers so you have to request more if needed. Also the eggs served at breakfast didn't have much flavor and was a litle watery.

Otherwise I would still recommended this hotel and consider staying again!

Room Tip: If you want a quite room ask for a room that faces the courtyard. Room 407 is a good room for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LorinNewYork2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Lorin,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you posted your comments on TripAdvisor.
We can offer some rooms with more storage space for longer stays.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days in a tiny 'chamber', no space for a wardrobe and a mini bath with a shower separated with a curtain from the toilet and wash basin.
BF was good except Sunday where the hotel was so full that the BF room was totally overcrowded and staff always was running behind refilling warm food.
Location is perfect, 10 min walk from the quays - we didn't use train or busses as all attractions were easily reachable by foot. We went jogging every morning in the Djugarden park just 1 Kim away.
The hotel also has a nice Gym and a Sauna (unfortunately separated by gender so we couldn't go together).
Price is extremely high, like everything in Stockholm.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nafihsus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hhagman, Hotel Manager Assistant at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. It seems you enjoyed your visit to Stockholm and our Hotel and if you return we can offer some rooms with more storage space if needed.

Welcome back!

Regards
Helena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#23 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#50 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Property: Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing