We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, not so good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Ranked #50 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
235 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good location, not so good hotel”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Bad service, expensive, less then average breakfast.
Rooms under average regarding the price and reviews in websites etc.
Even when your traveling with your company it's bad.
So please choose another hotel, like Diplomat - just 10 min walking distance from Mornington.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vonlind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is sad you did not liked your stay at our hotel. Please send me an E-mail with more information about your stay to jenny.henriksson@mornington.se

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    472
    140
    31
    16
See reviews for
106
381
50
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This is the second time we've stayed at Mornington in Östemalm and we keep coming back. I like the location and the fact it's two minutes from a subway station. Also it's easy walking distance to shops while not being in the middle if the main shops and touristy area. Staff were very accommodating helping with recommendations for a sports massage place among many things. The outdoor terrace is open in summer and it's nice to have breakfast out there. They make a nice cappuccino and have a lovely bar at night. When reception found out we were leaving early in the morning they asked if we would like a breakfast to go as we would miss the buffet. We came down on that morning and the taxi was booked and a nice picnic breakfast roll and fruit was assembled - we helped ourselves to fresh coffee. My only gripe with this hotel is that there is nowhere to unpack your luggage in the room and the bathroom is very small making the room itself slightly awkward. Nice and quiet neighborhood though. The view to the apartment block opposite? Part of the charm. Would suit couple or single traveller or for business.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear Eddwina,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review, all comments are good for us.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will choose us again the next time you are visiting Stockholm.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
314 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Mornington Hotel is located just abit outside the usual tourist area of Stockholm, still close enough to walk to the waterfront, most attractions and alot of good restaurants.
The rooms are a reasonable size (by European standards) and the bathroom is a marvel of space utilization.
All is comfortable, it is very quiet and the breakfast is pretty dang good. There is a very wide selection - something for everyone. Just to warn you though, the orange juice is on the counter of the bar, before you get into the breakfast room proper. Not a big deal as you can get your OJ on the way out as well, just a very small point.
The nicest touch is the wide selection of books available - in the lobby AND in the rooms. There are some in just about every language I could see....
Worth the short walks and good value for money - especially when you consider the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiancraftsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We appreciate that you took the time to write your feedback. I am very glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will come back soon again.

Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt
Level Contributor
98 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I spent two nights in the Mornington Stockholm. The location is very good and on walking distance from the city centre and several bars and restaurants nearby.
The hotel staff (reception, bar, breakfast, ...) was very friendly.
I had a room on the 6th floor and it was rather small. However, for two night stay for business it was acceptable.
Positive is the good wireless connection.
I would recommand the Mornington to friends for short city trips or business trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmChrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your review. We are very grateful for your comments.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed in room 626, a single room. It was a little small, but as I'm fairly petite I had no issues. Bed was comfortable. Very comfortable pillows! Initial look on the shower made me a bit disappointed because there's no ledge from keeping the water from going out on the rest of the floor, and a loose curtain; BUT it was surprisingly very good! Water pressure and temperature was Perfect, big plus. Apparently it was supposed to be a little box with earplugs on the desk, but I picked up the box and it was empty. I threw it away, but over the next three days a new packet was not put in my room. Trash was not emptied one of the days even though there was trash in the bin. That's a bit sloppy by the cleaning staff in my opinion. Didn't eat breakfast, but heard from my colleagues it was nice. Staff was helpful when I checked in/out. Hotel was close to the city centre, we walked everywhere during our stay. Free wifi with excellent reception, which is very much needed when travelling on business. Good overall!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarieHellsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All feedback are good for us, it is thanks to your comments we can be better. I am very thankful for your kind words about the front desk staff, I am very proud of the them.

We hope you will visit us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is well situated close to subway and buses. The hotel is in good conditions. There is an excellent health club within in the hotel. But the health club are not free for all rooms. When you book the hotel is it very hard to understand that the health club not are free.

The breakfast buffet is good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasGBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Thanks to your feedback we can improve our service.

We hope to see you soon again.
Kind Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The hotel is situated in a fairly central place in Stockholm and is about 300 meters from a subway station. It is within walking distance from restaurants and leisure areas.
Unfortunately when we checked into our room which lacked any form of closet, we were struck by an unpleasant smell from the bathroom. It turned out that the cleaning personnel had left the trash bin full from previous occupants. The reception responded immediately by moving us to another room (they called it upgrade) which was slightly larger than the previous one, had a clothes hanger and had a pleasant smell. Other than the lack of storage space, the room was good, comfortable, quiet and functional.
Breakfast was rich, dining room somewhat small and crowded. Overall OK.
We had a fairly good price, though for the same price we had a room twice the size and with far better amenities in the Netherlands.
For visiting and touring Stockholm, since one doesn't spend much time in the room, this hotel is definitely a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ay_isl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H, Front Office Manager at Mornington Hotel Stockholm City, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All comments are good for us to improve our service.

I hope you will choose us next time you are in Stockholm.
Best Regards
Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#13 of 157 in Stockholm
647 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 157 in Stockholm
1,082 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
ProfilHotels Hotel Riddargatan
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#20 of 157 in Stockholm
1,101 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mornington Hotel Stockholm City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mornington Hotel Stockholm City

Property: Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Address: 53 Nybrogatan | Box 5197, Stockholm 114 40, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#40 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mornington Hotel Stockholm City 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City is a four-star hotel situated in the quiet area of Ostermalm, right in the city centre. You're sure to feel right at home browsing the 4,000 volumes in our library available to both guests and visitors. Relax with a book in the lobby, enjoy a massage in the Health Club or end an eventful day with a delicious dinner in our friendly restaurant offering all the flavours of the traditional Swedish kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mornington Hotel Stockholm City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mornington Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing