We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but a bit run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Terminus Stockholm
Ranked #96 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Hotel Terminus that had both name and location against it. It was really great to be just at the entrance of the subway. The staff was helpful and the breakfast was good. The atmosphere is nice in this historic building, but there is need for some careful renovations. I stayed one week and cleaning was not done properly, especially on the flooring carpet and the windows. It was also cold in the room even if it was beginning or September and I couldn't turn on the heater. The bed was not comfortable as the mattress was old and had lost its shape.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 124 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Hotel Terminus is a fantastic place to live in when you are in Stockholm. So close to the Central Railwaystation, just across the street. My husband and I stay there fo two nights last weekend and we came by train and it is so close to the hotel from the station. Everything was perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I only stayed at Hotel Terminus one night before an early flight.

The main selling point is the location -- the hotel is on top of Central station, convenient to buses, commuter trains, and the metro.

i had one of the single budget rooms, which was one of the smaller rooms I have ever stayed in. The decor is a little dated. However, the room was relatively clean and the bed was comfortable for one night. I appreciated that the wi-fi and breakfast were included.

The hotel is fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makeittso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

Stayed couple of times in this hotel now. Location is good, just opposite the train station and above underground station. Good breakfast. There are few things that could be changed. There was a bit dusty in the room and windows were very dirty. And yes, it is a building site around hotel, but that is not forever.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariarum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

It a ine if you stay for few days, is close to the train station and the airl. Express
The breakfast it s fine but not omelette :(!
Room are very small but fine for 2 days an very old.
Due to the central location and good price i say that is a good hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niccogloazzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Superb location for a traveler passing Stockholm by air or train is why this hotel is usually booked, and so it was in my case too. I needed to stay one night in Stockholm traveling to somewhere else in Sweden for work. Easy access, only few minutes´ walk from the airport express and main train station, tube station round the corner, reasonable price – great. Style is outdated “traditional”. Check-in late evening went smoothly and quickly. Room seemed adequate, basic and clean. What an unpleasant surprise was revealed in the early morning, when I realized that my second floor room was adjacent to a construction site where noisy work started 7 a.m.! In fact, the entire side street where the hotel is located is dug up and is a big building site. OK, this happens. But: nothing of this was mentioned when I checked in or when the room was booked. When I complained about this when checking out, the receptionist rather lamely apologized and said that next time I should ask to be booked to a room giving to the inner courtyard. No compensation was offered for this time. I am definitely not going to stay here again. So beware unless you prefer to spend your hotel nights in a building site! Feel sorry for those who have booked a holiday of several days here. Demand a room to the inner yard at least. The breakfast buffet was good quality but hardly compensated the noisy and unpleasant wakeup.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_My
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

If location is everything, then the Terminus starts off with a plus. It is virtually next to the Central Train Station, offering every possible subway, commuter, and airport express option at the business traveler's disposal. We had a comfortably renovated small room, which included an updated modern bathroom, all for a very modest price. The seemingly new but rather inexpensive bed was softer than one might choose--even bouncy. But the room was clean and quiet, and service was kind on all fronts.

It is hard to wander through a hotel like the Terminus, however, and not think of missed opportunities. The building has good bones, including an handsome exterior, a central spiral marble stair, some lovely stained glass, and charming brass elevators. But at almost every turn, the decor is dowdy if not somewhat depressing. It would take relatively little time and money to update just the lobby alone, to improve on first impressions. The poorly lit breakfast area is equally downscale, serving up a standard buffet, with truly dreadful coffee. The small touches are everything, and the Terminus has a ways to go if it hopes to one day win back its guests.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThoughtfulGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Scandic Continental
Scandic Continental
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
1,314 reviews
Norrmalm
First Hotel Kungsbron
First Hotel Kungsbron
#75 of 154 in Stockholm
592 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#16 of 154 in Stockholm
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Queen's Hotel
Queen's Hotel
#101 of 154 in Stockholm
345 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#54 of 154 in Stockholm
458 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Royal Viking Hotel, Stockholm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Terminus Stockholm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus Stockholm

Address: 20 Vasagatan | PO Box 271, Stockholm 111 20, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £101 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Terminus Stockholm 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Terminus Stockholm! Hotel Terminus is a family owned hotel for generations since 1923. A personal and traditional hotel at your service and comfort, perfectly situated in the heart of Stockholm directly across the Central station. Access to communication at your door step. Surrounded by historical monument such as Klara Church former S: ta Clara monastery dated from year 1289 and Stockholm City Hall. A wide choice of cultural activities and shopping area nearby. We want your stay to be as efficient and comfortable as possible. The 155 rooms, 1 conference room and public areas has fast,efficient Free WI-FI. We have a cooperation with a fitness center across the street, which is open every day. We are happy to provide you with a map for inspiring walks or jogging routes in the surroundings. Before and after dinner the bar Kasper is a memorable experience both for its decoration (wall pictures from Stockholm City museum on historical sites in the city) and friendly atmosphere. Restaurant Kasper is a classic hangout for Swedes and for international travelers visiting Stockholm or waiting for the next transportation. Hotel Terminus offers a wide varies of different room types and we hope you find the room that is right for you. The owner family, all team members at Hotel Terminus Stockholm with Maria Stolt General Manager want your stay to be as good as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Terminus Stockholm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Terminus
Best Western Stockholm
Stockholm Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing