We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant rural environment, good restaurant, but a bit tired and not in city cenre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Kallhagen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Kallhagen
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very pleasant rural environment, good restaurant, but a bit tired and not in city cenre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I was there on a business trip and allocated by the company which invited me. On the plus side: very good restaurant, very pleasant, almost rural environment. Beautiful view of a lake and yacht marina, very calm, nice place for walks. The city centre is about 40 mins by walk or 10 mins by taxi. Not very convenient for a shopping trip. Very comfortable beds. The room was a bit small and had rather tired decor. There seems to have been a bit of a problem with the staff. Sometimes not very responsive and "on the ball". The best hotel if you want to go for a concert to Berwaldhallen or have some business at the US embassy.

Room Tip: For the best views ask for the first floor rooms. The suite on first floor has got a wonderful panor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtsAndWines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kallhagen, Manager at Villa Kallhagen, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Our guests reviews and opinions are a great help to us and highly appreciated no matter what. Thank you for taking the time to write this.

We are glad that you got to experience the good food and refreshing surroundings. A 10-15 minute walk along the water will get you to Djurgården and the waterview street of Strandvägen. To stay at the very center of Stockholm could be more convenient for shopping but might not be as charming and relaxing.

We strive to provide excellent service at all times. On quite few occasions we do not live up to our own high expectations of service quality. We are deeply sorry that you did not get to see us on our best.

Our standard 22sq meter large rooms are too small for some people when you are in your home away from home. Next time please try one of our larger room types; Villa Källhagen features some lovely superior rooms, junior suites and a suite.

We hope that we get to see you soon again.

Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    131
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
74
150
13
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
211 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

We have very mixed feelings about this hotel after having stayed here. The location is wonderful if you appreciate a quiet atmosphere in a park area but still only 10 minutes by bus to the city. The restaurant is excellent both when it comes to the cuisine and service. The hotel however doesnt come up to the same standard. We had a double room that was standard size. We also had a junior suite with two rooms, one larger with a sofa chairs and an office desk, and a bedroom that was pretty dark with only a rooftop window. Both rooms were terribly cold at arrival the central heating was turned off !!! We did put it on and got some heat after a few hours. Both rooms had bathroom with a bathtub/shower and rooftop windows. A brownish yellow colour of dirt here and there in the corners between wall and bathtub. The toilet bowl in the double wasnt clean at arrival something I ve hardly ever have experienced at a hotel. The rooms seem to be a bit dated, carpets were dirty and the sofa had stains. There were spots where the paint was gone on the walls. These arent things you expect in a hotel in this price class. Rooms had a minibar with softdrinks for free. Flats creen television with some cable channels. The suite had a television also in the bedroom but the remote didnt work. On day two even the television in the suite stopped working. The suite had a small patio and must be nice during summertime. There was a view towards a park and the water from both rooms that was nice. The reception area also has alounge with a bar where drinks and coffe is sold. There is also a fireplace giving a nice cosy atmosphere. They did however have obvious problems with the service and cleaning, There were plates with leftovers from previous guests here and there and nobody seemed to clean up. Empty glasses and cups were also frequent. Breakfast was good standard as a buffet. We particularily liked the fresh bread. I dont recommend this as a hotel but its a nice place to have dinner. Its sad to see that the hotel isnt better maintained.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

A colleague and I travelled to Stockholm for a one-night business trip, and our Swedish clients booked the Villa Kallhagen for them and us to stay for the night before our meeting. It was a great surprise firstly not to be in a typical boring business hotel, rather this boutique offering was really quite special.

I had a single room on the first floor, (room 12) and I was absolutely delighted to find that aside from the usuals (comfy bed, good shower, free, yes FREE minibar drinks) etc etc, that I had an absolutely superb balcony with views over the water - it really is a relaxing and quite special spot.

We enjoyed an excellent dinner in the hotel as well, unlike almost anywhere else I've stayed in recently this is one hotel restaurant worthy of consideration. Four fabulous courses of seasonal produce - it was spectacular.

I'll certainly return to the Villa Kallhagen in the future, perhaps for a weekend away with the family. It is a special little hotel and well worthy of my 'excellent' rating.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2010

Nice hotel with simple but clean rooms, very quiet, walking distance to several parks and also the Vasa museum.
Restaurant in the hotel is very good. IF you prefer a more quiet place instead of downtown, this is right place to be.
Small meeting rooms available, public transport direct in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrPillepalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Rooms are great, Location is nice very close to the City Center, but you have the benefit to be in a park.
Service are very good, everybody is helpfull and the restaurant is incredible.
Highly recommanded for a stay in Stockholm.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romain524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altus, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

This was a really great hotel, but it was not walking distance to the major attractions of the city. Its next to a large park that is very pretty - as all of Stockholm is. The staff are very helpful - we had a 4 am taxi to catch a flight out and they made a small breakfast available to us that morning. Downtown is an expensive 10 min taxi ride (40 euro), so recommend the bus. Rooms are a good size and very clean and modern. There is a restaurant at that hotel in the 30-50 euro/plate range. These prices are high, but typical in the city. My take on this hotel is that it is of excellent value, but you pay more in transit for not being close to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetdriver21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

in 2007 we happened to walk past this little hotel when walking along the river - it just happens to be 5 minute walk from the English church & we chose the venue for our small wedding earlier this month - chosen primarily for its stunning location and secondly for the intimate atmosphere it offered ! the fact that the restaurant is also superb was forgotton amidst all excitement but the food was amazing & i doubt i will ever eat a wedding cake like that again !
it met all our needs - and our wedding will be memorable for all the right reasons - there is plenty of parking, its very quiet and easy to find and is in one of the prettiest parts of Stockholm
The hotels were stunning, the only negative thing is that they have minimal storage/wardrobe in the newer rooms - for us with all our stuff for our wedding our room was just a mass of bags & clothes !
The staff were extremely helpful - but i will be writing to the hotel about 1 of the receptionists who told me i couldnt check in till 3pm as the hotel was full - as we were the bride and groom (as 6 of the rooms were our guests) i was a little surprised - however they soon accomadated us when they realised we were the bride/groom !!
in short i cannot say enough good about this hotel - it was a superb place to have one of the most memorable occasions of our lives (so far!)

  • Liked — stylish quiet simple small
  • Disliked — lack of wardrobe storage space
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meowycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Waterfront Hotel
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Mariatorget
Hotel Rival
Hotel Rival
#2 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Lydmar Hotel
Lydmar Hotel
#1 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Motel L
#6 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#9 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Kallhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Kallhagen

Property: Villa Kallhagen
Address: 10 Djurgaardsbrunnsvaegen, Stockholm 115 27, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
#16 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#18 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Kallhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Kallhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Kallhagen Hotel Stockholm
Kallhagen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing