We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - average hotel”
Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Anglais
Ranked #75 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Great location - average hotel”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location, moments from the fashionable Birger Jarlsgatan shopping street and the Humlegarden park, a two or three minute walk from the jetties for the tourist boats, and not much further to the Gamla Stan (old town). The rooms are small but have everything you're likely to need, with a good size walk-in shower. Breakfast is served buffet style, but the range of options could be wider. I didn't use the hotel restaurant for dinner - sadly lacking in vegetarian options. The hotel bar is spacious and modern, but very expensive (as they all are in Stockholm). As other reviews have noted there is a DJ in the evening, though on my visit the music wasn't overly loud. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. For a modern hotel there are too few lifts and no obvious signs to direct you to the stairs - I got caught up in an arriving coach party, fifty people all with suitcases all trying to get to the first floor to the left luggage room at the same time via two six-person lifts created a real traffic jam!

Room Tip: There are some very small windowless rooms in the basement. Don't accept one of those unless you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    434
    205
    82
    71
See reviews for
210
211
99
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed in Scandic Anglais for a small family reunion in late June for 3 nights. Had three different rooms: a single cabin in the basement (no windows), a family room on the 2nd floor and a regular double on one of the higher floors. All rooms were good quality and clean. The basement cabin was surprisingly comfortable and quiet. The double room had a balcony and a great view. The family room had windows facing the roof of the hotel business centre, so the balcony door was not much use. There was a fridge in the family room, which was handy. The breakfast buffet was good variety and very good quality. The only drawback there was that after 7:30-8a.m. the breakfast lounge got very crowded. The noise was not much of a problem in any of the rooms - at least for us. The European Cup semi-finals were celebrated quite lively next door, but by 23:30 everything was quiet. Helpful hotel staff.
The best feature of this hotel is its location. 5 minutes from the underground, and then only one stop from Centralen, which is the main metro hub. 10-15 minute walk to Nybrokaien, and a bit shorter - to Ostermalms Torg market. Bus stops next to the hotel. A nice park across the road. Several pubs, and countless bars and restaurants in easy walking distance. Felt like staying on the border between the city centre, and a much quieter, but still attractive suburb.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dyatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmount, Quebec
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Scandic Anglais is on Stureplan, near good restaurants, the hop-on-hop-off bus is just outside the door, and it is a couple of blocks from the subway. There is an exceptional breakfast buffet. The staff is friendly and helpful, and were most apologetic about our problems reaching the hotel due to the Stockholm Marathon. Our only complaints are that we were facing one of Stockholm's most popular nightspots, and there was construction directly across from our side of the hotel. I would, however, recommend this hotel, but it would be preferable to be on the less-active side and not be there during the "white nights" season.

Room Tip: Get a room on the other side of the Stureplan area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed for four nights (Mon - Fri) with another married couple who were friends. We booked well in advance and did not feel that the price was exhorbitant for the central location in Stockholm. I had e-mailed before arrival and requested a high floor in order to be quieter, having read some reviews complaining about noise. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful both on e-mail and throughout our stay at the hotel. Check-in was speedy and efficient. Our room requests had been met although the hotel was very full. We experienced no noise whatsoever from either entertainment within the hotel or nearby rooms. Our room was a very good size with excellent bathroom facilities. Shampoo/shower gel and liquid soap was provided. No showercap or other bits and pieces. We had a good sized fridge which was very useful as coming from within the EU you are allowed to bring in foodstuffs which helps to spread the cost by obtaining rolls etc and making up a packed lunch. The hotel breakfast was splendid. There was everything you could possibly wish for. One of the best I have had in a city hotel. Summer time for breakfast is 6.30am until noon. Everything was spotlessly clean. Drinks in the terrace bar on the seventh floor were no more expensive than less nice places in town. A bottle of beer was 59Kr. Wine was very expensive everywhere but we bought a couple of bottles in duty free at Gatwick and put them in our fridge. There is an ice machine on every floor and the tap water in the room is drinkable. Wardrobe space is adequate with enough hangers but like many Continental city hotels there were no drawers. The beds were very comfortable. Two singles pushed together. I would not hesitate to come to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor or a room facing the back of the hotel. Our room on the sixth floor was larger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here for three nights and was lucky enough to get a discounted rate through a contact. The standard rates were pricey but, compared with many other hotels we looked at, they seemed standard for the central location.
We stayed in a superior twin room and I specified ahead of our stay that we wanted to be on at least the 5th floor based on other reviews I read here and the advice of a friend who had stayed there. The room was quiet, modern and clean and we were impressed to see that the bin had different compartments for recycling. The lighting in the room was not great though as we arrived very late and we could barely see our way around the room! My only other criticism of the room was that there were a couple of hangers in cupboard but no drawers for unpacking. Perhaps most visitors only stay one or two nights but as we were there for three I would have liked somewhere to put my clothes.
The breakfast buffet was superb and included in the room price. There is a huge selection to cater for every appetite. My boyfriend is vegetarian and there was plenty for him to choose from.
The hotel is very well located, right in the centre of Stockholm and an easy 10 minute walk to the water and the hop on/hop off day trip boats.
We stayed out very late on the Friday and Saturday nights we were there and so did not see the hotel bar and club at their peak times and on Sunday the lobby was quiet so I cannot comment on the noise experienced by other reviewers.
All in all, we very much enjoyed our stay and we would definitely stay in the Scandic Anglais again.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the 5th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyBalham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
134 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

First, read the review two or three below this one titledL "the Scandic- an English view”. That is a pretty good overview. But this review will give an American view.

I am writing this from the room, the last of our six days here. This could be a great hotel with a bit better management. The location and room are great. We got a "family room" which means that the room is a bit larger that the standard European hotel room and that there is a couch which converts to a bed. As a result it is a bit more comfortable and was worth the few extra dollars we paid for it. There is a flat screen TV on the wall of the room, two closets (with just a few hangers and no drawers to put things away), a mini-fridge which was empty so we could buy our own things and keep them cold, a writing desk, a full length mirror, and a couple of little tables. The bed is two singles put together. There are two large windows overlooking the beautiful park next door. The bath is quite large by European standards. But there are no complimentary soaps or shampoos, only a dispenser on the wall which you squeeze to get soap. The wifi in the room is free and fast. So far so good.

Where the hotel gets it wrong is the breakfast room and the disco which you can read about elsewhere. But I will give a bit of detail here.

The disco is obnoxious. We are on the second floor and listen to a constant thumping base until 2am every night. Not so great when you are traveling with a baby. Possibly a bit higher the noise would be less, but we do not know. The management could improve things by sound proofing the lobby so that the noise does not travel to the floors above, or move the disco to a room which is better equipped to handle the noise. Not sure why they have not figured that out.

The breakfast is crowded everyday and the people who work there seem like zombies. They move in slow motion, seemingly unconcerned about the fact that guests are waiting to sit down. So tables remain uncleared while the cleaners huddle together and talk to each other. It is a small breakfast room and always packed with guests during the week. The food being served is good quality and they usually manage to replace the food trays quickly when they get emptied. The management could improve things by getting the tables cleaned more quickly so that there is less wait time for tables or else extend the breakfast time so that the crowds are less intense. However, things improve in the weekends when the breakfast lasts until 2pm. This means you can come a bit later and avoid the crowds.

The location is perfect. There is a park next door which has a couple of cafes and a large play ground for kids. We spent a couple of lovely sunny days enjoying the play facilities. Oddly we had to find out about the playground ourselves from the internet. We asked at the hotel reception for a playground for our toddler and the staff had no idea that there was a playground just five minutes away on the other side of the park.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the harbor and a 20 minute walk to Gamla Stan (Stockholm's lovely old town). You can catch a tram from the harbor and in 10 minutes be at the Amusement Parks Skansen and Grona Lund. This is convenient if you are traveling with kids. Near the harbor are delightful parks with restaurants and cafes. Boats leave from the harbor for all kinds of destinations. There is a tourist information booth there as well.

The restaurants near the hotel are relatively expensive. But there is an active club scene just around the corner in the square for those who come here to party. There is a great cafe around the corner, called Espresso House. If you get a regular (non-espresso coffee) you even get free refills (American Style), very rare in Europe.

In summary, this American thinks that the Scandic almost gets it right. If the management can improve the noise problem from the disco and solve the crowded breakfast room, this hotel would be great. But as it is, it is difficult to recommend it.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are very noisy due to the disco in the lobby. Probably higher is better, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eugene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

The room was small and expensive, no wardrobe just a pole and some hangers. No tea or coffee facilities and no mini bar for water etc. The location is brilliant and in the evening the hotel comes to life. Plenty to do round about..the gym is nice as well and very clean but small inline with the rooms. Bathroom very small but has everything you need. I know I am complaining about the size of the room but apart from tea/coffee/minibar the rooms are very nicely decorated.

Room Tip: The starter costs rooms are small so no idea about anything bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacquiWGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#64 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#14 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#25 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#65 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Property: Scandic Anglais
Address: 23 Humlegaardsgatan, Stockholm 114 46, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#51 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Scandic Anglais, next to the beautiful garden Humlegarden and in the buzzling square Stureplan in central Stockholm, you can enjoy fantastic and simple Italian twisted meals in the restaurant Jamie's Italian and relax in the warm jacuzzi after a hard workout in the well equipped gym. The hotel offers two bars with a wide selection of wine, cocktails and DJ's and during summer time our roof terrace on the 7th floor is open. All rooms at Scandic Anglais features cable TV with plenty of channels, bathroom with shower or bathtub, wooden floors and a refrigerator (exept cabin rooms), which you can make to your own mini bar. Some of the rooms also have balconies. As a hotel guest you have free access to wireless Internet in your room and public areas, and don't forget that the energizing breakfast is always organic and certified by KRAV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing