We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Anglais
Ranked #79 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 January 2014

I stayed in the Scandic Anglais in october 2013. Check in and check out were made in a minute. I went from the Central Station (where the Arlanda Express arrives) to the hotel on foot, it was a nice and easy walk, even considering that I had to carry my luggage, since it was sunny and cool. It took me 20 minutes and it was not tiring at all, but you can always use the subway to reach the hotel (however I must say that you'll will have to walk a lot to do the connection between the subway and the train). I stayed in a room with windows, but the view was just ok (I got a room facing the back of the hotel, ask for the rooms facing the library or Stureplan), maybe the basement cabin wouldn't have been a bad choice! However I must say that it was good to open the windows sometimes to let fresh air in, since the weather was great. The breakfast is perfect, everything tastes amazing, it was the best hotel breakfast I had ever had. However, the breakfast room does get very crowded in peak hours, some people have to grab their food and go eat in the bar. So my suggestion is that you wake up early to enjoy the breakfast buffet in a more peaceful environment. The famous weekend happy hour does take place on friday and saturday in the lobby and it attracts lots of locals and guests. However, in my floor, I couldn't listen to the party noise. I spent one night in the bar and it was super fun indeed, one should not miss the Scandic Anglais happy hour! There is also a bar in the roof top, but I'm not sure if it was still open by the time of my stay. The location is also very convenient, I was able to walk the entire city from the hotel. The neighborhood of the hotel is very trendy, there are lots of posh nightclubs, cool cafes and luxury stores in the area and you'll see lots of cool and good-looking young people in the streets therefore. Staff are efficient, polite and good looking (lol), as everyone in Sweden. On my next visit to Stockholm, I'm definitely staying there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jocaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas G, Chef at Scandic Anglais, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Jocaxxx
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

It is always appreciated with happy and postivie reviews from our guests and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Again we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again at Anglais.


Best regards,

Nikolas Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

355 - 361 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very good service, superb breakfast (matches and exceed the typical high standard of Scandic) nicely renovated, and a great bar. If you get a high floor with a balcony you also have nice view. It can be a little noisy at weekend nights, due to the popular bar at the lobby level, but in that case my advise..just join them and enjoy the happy crowd! I will definitely stay there again and I have no hesitation to recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_TA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Super hotel
+ location - Sturegatan. near best restaurants, shops LV etc, concert halls and night clubs. near harbour. 30 min to Gamlastan. 5 min to metro
+ rooms
+ service
+ breakfast

- did not notice

Room Tip: Sturegatan view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beldiamantemokka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here with my wife on a business trip, in room on the 4th. floor-a noisy room above the late night bar. Good bed, good toilet, tiny television. Shampoos and soap bad, and the gym/jacuzzi bad. Breakfast was varied and well presented.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daga2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

This hotel is 45 minutes from Arlanda airport and offers a fixed price taxi. It is located in the centre, around 10 minutes walk from the large concert house, numerous shops / malls, restaurants and banks. The harbour is also close by and it is ideally situated for a city break.

There is a large reception area with a small shop, bar and restaurant. Check in was relatively quick for me but it can get very busy at peak times. The bar is popular with the locals so it gets busy most nights. The hotel has a modern, boutique style and was very busy. It was quite noisy during the evenings and guests did not appear to show any courtesy to other guests when coming and going.

2 lifts adjacent to the reception area go to all floors with a total of 8 floors for rooms. There can be quite a wait for the lifts at busy times. The key card is used for room access and electricity function via a docking station near the door.

Standard room 530 was small but functional with satellite TV and free Wi-Fi access. It would be OK for 1 person but would be cramped for 2 especially for more than 1 -2 nights. Good size bathroom with walk in shower & complimentary toiletries.

Restaurant serves breakfast Monday to Friday 6.30 – 10.30 and Saturday & Sunday 7.30 to 12.30. It is very busy at weekends, you might have to wait to get a table. Self service buffet style, with a wide choice of hot / cold food and beverages.

Staff were very helpful with any queries and spoke very good English. The hotel offers automatic on line or mobile check out and can pre-book taxi services.

I would recommend this hotel as a good base for a city break and a few nights. Not sure about a longer stay if you want to get any sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purrdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed in open of the single cabin rooms in the basement and didn't mind at all that there were not windows as it was extremely quiet and I had a great nights sleep. The breakfast is fantastic-many organic items and the location is great. Within walking distance of the harbour but near a quiet park

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OJillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I stayed four nights here on the fourth floor in Sept 2013. My standard room was spacious and comfortable with many amenities. The included breakfast was great and the onsite restaurant is wonderful. The only issue I had on my trip was the noise. Thurs and Fri there was loud music in the bar that went until midnight Thurs, and 2am Fri. I could hear the music in my fourth floor room. Also there was considerable noise from the street.

Staff was friendly and made me feel welcome and was helpful with directions. Great location walk to everything downtown. Nice room, just wish it was a little quieter for sleeping.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank dan0pdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Östermalm
Scandic Park
Scandic Park
#71 of 154 in Stockholm
855 reviews
Norrmalm
Grand Central by Scandic
Grand Central by Scandic
#53 of 154 in Stockholm
1,996 reviews
Östermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Scandic Klara
Scandic Klara
#65 of 154 in Stockholm
1,389 reviews
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Address: Humlegardsgatan 23, Stockholm 102 44, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#53 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £85 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Scandic Anglais, next to the beautiful garden Humlegarden and in the buzzling square Stureplan in central Stockholm, you can enjoy fantastic and simple Italian twisted meals in the restaurant Jamie's Italian and relax in the warm jacuzzi after a hard workout in the well equipped gym. The hotel offers two bars with a wide selection of wine, cocktails and DJ's and during summer time our roof terrace on the 7th floor is open. All rooms at Scandic Anglais features cable TV with plenty of channels, bathroom with shower or bathtub, wooden floors and a refrigerator (exept cabin rooms), which you can make to your own mini bar. Some of the rooms also have balconies. As a hotel guest you have free access to wireless Internet in your room and public areas, and don't forget that the energizing breakfast is always organic and certified by KRAV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing