We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central - but thats about it (really: stay some other place)”
Review of Scandic Anglais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Anglais
Ranked #79 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Central - but thats about it (really: stay some other place)”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I stay a lot at Scandic hotels throughout Finland, Norway, Denmark and especially Sweden (50+ nights a year) - but my first stay at Anglais showed a very dated hotel with small dark rooms, a sorry excuse for a restaurant, very slow Wifi, time consuming checkout, very very few TV channels and a general impression that this hotel should have been totally refurbished at least 10 years ago.
I'm generally very pleased for my business stays at Scandic hotels - that's why I stay so much at Scandic hotels - but this is not worthy of the Scandic name - in fact I've stayed better at cheap $39.99 motels adjactent to highways. How they have the guts to require SEK 1590 for a single "micro" room a night is beyond my imagination.
The only two positive aspects worthy of mention for the Anglais are - the standard good Scandic breakfast - and the fact that is "smack" in the middle of Stockholm - 200 meters from Stureplan.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street to avoid noise - if you really really really must stay at this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas G, Receptionschef at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Geir H
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.
We are always seeking feedback from our guests in order to improve our standards and services.

We reopened Scandic Anglais in 2006 after a complete renovation and at the moment we are renovating our restaurant and bar and hopefully will be able to renovate and refurbish more parts of the hotel in the near future.

Due to the renovation our restaurant is temporarily moved to another floor and I hope you choose to visit us again when our new restaurant Jamie´s Italian has opened.

Again we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again at Anglais.

Best regards,

Nikolas Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    442
    214
    91
    75
See reviews for
219
217
103
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

For a premium business hotel, working reliable WiFi is super critical. I checked in around 7pm and no connectivity in my room. My WiFi analyser showed lots if access points but no DHCP server. I logged into 4 different WAP on my floor - all the same. On the lobby level all was OK. I called reception and explained my diagnosis. The rep clearly didn't understand the detail and came to my room. He was surprised his iPhone could connect to WIFI bit not get and internet. I suggested he needed to call support. He said he'd reboot something. No success. I left the hotel to be able to work effectively (the lobby was unusable as it's being redeveloped). Back at 10pm and still no network. I complained again but felt they ignored me (#fail Scandic).

Scandic - please make sure your staff understand how critical working networks are. Peak time is 6pm thru midnight. Please ensure you can fix issues in under 60 minutes.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank FPnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie W, Informationsansvarig at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear FPnu

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback
We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the WIFI, we had some difficulties for a period of 48 hrs due to some technical problems from our Internet supplier.
This was resolved within the 48 hrs and Internet is now working correctly.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Anglais.

Best regards,
Lucie Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Kathmandu, Nepal
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel on my recent business trip.

The room is basic and old fashioned but there are things that you normally expect in your business trip (iron, iron board in room). The complimentary breakfast is good enough. Check in and check out process is efficient.

The door noise while opening and closing in the neighbouring rooms make you disturbed all the time. Also thin curtain in the window means that there is plenty of light to disturb you for sleeping during summer (June)

The hotel is conveniently located for morning walk to the Djurgarten!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ckanchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas G, Chef at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear ckanchan
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

We appreciate your positive review and will have look at the squeeking doors that you mentioned.

Again we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again at Anglais.


Best regards,

Nikolas Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel overall is nice although the room furnishing is starting to be bit old fashioned. No surprises, you get the good Scandic quality from check in to check out. They have also rooms with balconies which you can request. Breakfast is really nice and if you are lucky, they are even serving fresh pancakes. Lobby has a nice lively bar (there are always people sitting around) and restaurant so if you are tired you don't have to go out to find food or sit down and socialise. Location is of course brilliant as it's just around the corner from Stureplan.

Room Tip: For quiet room request to be facing away from the street. If you wish to have room with balcony, req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drg313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas G, Chef at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear drg313
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

We appreciate your positive review and hope to see you again at Anglais.


Best regards,

Nikolas Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heraklion, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We have stayed from 28 June to 2 July. The hotel has a great location near several shopping centers and attractions. The room was not great but clean. The bed could be better and there should be dark curtains as the 20 hours daylight made sleeping difficult. Fortunately the view to the park was great. The breakfast was average and the service was good enough.
Anyway the hotel is ok for business and short stays. If it's renovated I think that it will win more respect!

Room Tip: Prefer rooms with view to the park, double bed and high floor for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeR_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas G, Chef at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear George

Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

We are always seeking feedback from our guests in order to improve our standards and services.
We are at the moment renovating our restaurant and bar and hopefully will be able to renovate more parts of the hotel in the near future.

Again we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again at Anglais.

Best regards,

Nikolas Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Scandic Anglais is a quite good hotel in the very heart of the vibrant nightlife, financial district and action in Stockholm. Shopping and dining options abound in the area (other reviews for that however) and you are just a short walk from the waterfront and the T (subway)

The building is a bit ugly….some 1960 or 70s cement, but inside the place is cool, the staff very friendly and soon it will feature a Jamie Oliver restaurant, the first in Sweden.

Reception is very helpful, they suggested the Stockholm Card and were right to do so. They will also make sure you get a good cab (Stockholm has a savage taxi system so be careful….look at the price on the yellow sticker…..if it is above 350 kr or so, look elsewhere…).

Breakfast is first rate. A load of healthy options as well as the more traditional bits. No expensive bottled water in the room. Just drink the tap water in Stockholm. Everyone does. They do include a fridge and stocking up on a few things at the 7-11 ( one in almost every direction) is easier on the budget.

Good Wi-Fi in the room. Even while the restaurant is being renovated, there is still dinner to be had and a groovy little bar they keep open late. Good on a rainy night.

Right across the street is an outdoor mex/drinks garden bar and the large expanse of the park around the National library. Great for running, walking or just relaxing.

Stockholm is a great city and the Scandic was a good base. Our local friends said it was also "hip enough" that you can get a few cool points. Cool or not, it a good place to stay. Definitely a new home base for future trips to S.

Room Tip: You can ask for a room facing the park. The street in front of the hotel is rather quiet so it is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas G, Chef at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear KansaTraveller
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

A positive review is always very much appreciated and we are happy that you are satisfied with our services.


Again we thank you for your feedback and hope to see you again at Anglais.


Best regards,

Nikolas Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio Grande, RS
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is well located, situated in a walking distance from several nice places in Stockholm. The breakfast was great in several ways, with lots of options for the guests. The room was adequate, but I was expecting a little more for the cost. Also, I think a little update in the corridor decoration would be nice. Nevertheless, I fine choice for staying in the weekend (as it was my case).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikolas G, Chef at Scandic Anglais, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Carlos R
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

We appreciate your positive review and hope to see you again at Anglais.
Have a pleasant summer!

Best regards,

Nikolas Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Hotel Kung Carl, BW Premier Collection
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#60 of 154 in Stockholm
529 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
690 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic Klara
Scandic Klara
#70 of 154 in Stockholm
1,209 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Anglais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Anglais

Property: Scandic Anglais
Address: 23 Humlegaardsgatan, Stockholm 114 46, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Stockholm
#51 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Anglais 4*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at Scandic Anglais, next to the beautiful garden Humlegarden and in the buzzling square Stureplan in central Stockholm, you can enjoy fantastic and simple Italian twisted meals in the restaurant Jamie's Italian and relax in the warm jacuzzi after a hard workout in the well equipped gym. The hotel offers two bars with a wide selection of wine, cocktails and DJ's and during summer time our roof terrace on the 7th floor is open. All rooms at Scandic Anglais features cable TV with plenty of channels, bathroom with shower or bathtub, wooden floors and a refrigerator (exept cabin rooms), which you can make to your own mini bar. Some of the rooms also have balconies. As a hotel guest you have free access to wireless Internet in your room and public areas, and don't forget that the energizing breakfast is always organic and certified by KRAV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Scandic Hotels, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Anglais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Anglais Stockholm
Scandic Anglais Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing