We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time -- Adequate Hotel Accommodations”
Review of Scandic Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Park
Ranked #65 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Parrish, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Time -- Adequate Hotel Accommodations”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Very difficult to compare hotels in Europe with those we are accustomed to in the USA. While this one was adequate for the room and bathroom, we had a room that was for one perhaps in a wheelchair. Room was hot without the windows open and the staircase from floor to floor looked directly into our room. Upon arrival the room was not ready and the luggage storage was full. Thus we thought that we would be spending time in the lobby with our luggage until a room was ready. Fortunately it was ready quickly and we got our luggage into the room, so that we could go enjoy the city. Hotel staff were cordial and helpful for the most part. Somewhat abrupt, but we find that in Europe. Breakfast that was included included lots of choices and was well prepared. Breakfast room was comfortable and airy. Would consider a Hilton or Marriott over this one next time, but could be disappointed by them...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwbfl0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    321
    173
    40
    19
See reviews for
168
201
22
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
eksjö
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Nothing special actually. We had a tour in Stockholm with different hotels and I seem to forget details about Scandic Park.

Irritating issue with the restaurant: We came in highseason and they only had the bar menu avaliable in the restaurant. They offered the children the "Jamie Oliver" menu but, as always, they don´t have the saladbar or the icecream. I´ve stayed on many Scandichotels and only seen the actual whole menu in one hotel!!

The room ok but it had a plummingissue that left the bathroom smelling like "Surstromming"!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This hotel is disappointing becasue it should be better. It has a nice location, close enough to walk to the city, friendly helpful staff, good sized rooms and reasonable facilities. I'm sure all the good comments about this hotel are valid, and there are no major flaws.
But it is badly let down by average service, maintenance and management. For instance, the bathroom was missing the shaving mirror, the toilet seat wasn't attached and the shower head spun around if the water was turned on too much. Cups weren't put away by room service and coffee supplies not renewed. The airconditioning wouldn't go below 23 degrees, even though it was 16 outside (I ended up turning the a/c off and leaving the windows open). Breakfast was often hectic (with coaches) so the staff couldn't keep up with demand for supplies, crockery and clean tables. The 'restaurant' menu is very limited as it's just the bar with one daily special. The gym only had two exercise machines. The clothes cleaning was the most expensive I've experienced.
You're unlikely to have a truly bad experince here, but its a shame it isn't better.So, you might try and find something better elsewhere. Good luck.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
İstanbul, Türkiye
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Scandic park is at the center of Stockholm, very close to Sture Plan where all the action is - cafes, clubs, bars, shops, independent galleries etc. Also next to a lovely park if you are interested in taking walks.
Very clean hotel, breakfast is local style and delicious, staff is very helpful, value for money hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mujmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I stay here for one week for business. The hotel is well located, right next to the park and the trendy area of Stureplan. Hotel reception is very helpful and good service attitude. I really like their breakfast, almost like a buffet with lots of choices and included in the room price.
The room, however, is very dusty when I check in. The hotel room temperature can only be set the highest at 23 degrees, which is still too cold and I have to ask reception to give me a small heater. The rooms are not well-soundproofed. I was disturbed quite often by other hotel guests in the early morning and late at night.
It's also interesting that there is no room service menu in the room while they say room service is part of the hotel service. I have to ask front desk for the menu and, in turn, they tell me to ask the restaurant and bar downstairs for the menu. Quite inconvenient for guests who just want to dial and get some food in the room.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sterist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

We stayed in this hotel in may 2011 for four nigths.
Good location, good staff.
Bedbugs !!!
Many minor inconveniences: uncomfortable pillows, unstable work of the Internet, poorly regulated souls because of what the water across the bathroom.
The next time I will choose another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

We spent a long weekend here and, over all, it was a positive experience. Hotel is centrally located in a nice posh area opposite the park, walking distance to all the sights and attractions, as well as night life, but it is still very quiet at the same time. Room was clean and spacious, bathroom also. Breakfast was very versatile and quite good, but if you go to eat a bit later in the morning it gets crowded and some of the foods are not refilled (not sure if it's the right term) as quickly as I would have liked, so if all the tomatos are gone you might have to wait few minutes before the new ones are brought. Maybe it was due to the fact that it was really crowded as it was the Easter weekend, anyway it was just a tiny nuisance, nothing big really. Staff were very helpful, very polite, really really nice. The only thing I would say was not good was the poor pillow selection. This may be ok for most people, but if you have a bad back or if you tend to suffer with neck pains, it might be a bit of a problem. But it is still a good place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ancicamila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#75 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Ostermalm
Elite Eden Park Hotel
Elite Eden Park Hotel
#14 of 155 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Ostermalm
Mornington Hotel Stockholm City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
Elite Hotel Stockholm Plaza
#61 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Ostermalm
Clarion Collection Hotel Wellington
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Park

Property: Scandic Park
Address: 43 Karlavaegen, Stockholm 114 31, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Ostermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Park 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Scandic Hotels, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Park Stockholm
Scandic Park Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing