We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the narrowness fool you!”
Review of Lord Nelson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lord Nelson Hotel
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Kroer
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't let the narrowness fool you!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a great hotel. Charming and comfortable as long as you don't plan on staying in your room for a long period of non-sleeping time - cos it really is narrow. Breakfast is superb, service excellent, the staff are really nice and helpful.
Located in the heart of Gamla Stan, it's within walking distance of the railway station and an abundance of restaurants, cozy stores and bars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Siri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika H, Owner at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hej Siri,

Thank you so much for the nice review of your stay at Lord Nelson Hotel. We so appreciate when our guests take the time to write about their experiences staying with us. We were of course delighted to hear that you appreciated both the service, breakfast and location.

We do hope we get the possibility of welcoming you back one day. If so, please inquire about our membership program, as a returning guest we can offer you a range of complimentary benefits.

From all the staff at The Lord Nelson Hotel; best wishes for a very nice Summer!

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    117
    54
    13
    2
See reviews for
18
46
93
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Loved my tiny room with the illuminated ship over my bed. Loved the unique atmosphere. It's right in the old town with easy access to tourist shopping and culture as well as modern shopping. Very close to the train station that takes you right to the airport. Tons of restaurants within a minute walk. The only issue is that a taxi may not be able to take you to the front door. But its worth it. Stay here. If you don't mind tiny you will love it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Annie6472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika H, Owner at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hej Annie,

It was so wonderful to read your amazing review of your stay at Lord Nelson Hotel. We deeply appreciate when our guests take the time to leave us some feedback, and we do hope we get the possibility of welcoming you back one day. Please don't hesitate to contact us if so, we have a complimentary membership program, The Collector's Club, which gives benefits to all our returning guests and we would like to extend that special service to you.
Wishing you a great Summer!

Best Regards,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
244 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Right on the main shopping and pedestrian street in Stockholm's Old Town, the Lord Nelson hotel is one of those funky great little hotels that attracts the experienced traveler. beautifully decorated in a nautical theme throughout, complete with statues of Nelson himself, this little gem of a hotel will make you want to be "impressed" by the Old lord himself and go to sea singing "Yo Ho Ho" as you hoist the mainsail. The rooms are all assigned cabin names and are, in fact, decorated like a ship's cabin. The bathroom door even has a porthole in it! Spotlessly clean, serviced daily, the rooms, while small (the hotel itself is only six meters wide!), still manage to offer the jaded traveler a new experience. Only minor negative: the walls of adjoining buildings are only about 1-2 meters from your windows, so don't expect a view of anything other than a blank wall, or, if you're lucky, a lovely look into the family flat next door.
Best thing about the hotel, other than the wonderful decor: the staff. Friendly, welcoming, helpful, they go out of their way to take care of their guests. Thanks to Renata, Dennis, Mary-Louise, and an extra-special Thank You to Tereza, who made my stay with the Lord Nelson a weekend to remember.

Room Tip: No views anywhere, as far as I could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teachrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika H, Owner at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hej Teachrman,

We are so grateful for your wonderful and lengthy review of Lord Nelson Hotel! It is our true pleasure to give the best possible service to our guests, and we were expecially happy to hear that you got to meet so many of our fine staff members and that they all could help you during your stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you, or any of your friends and relatives, would decide to come and stay with us again. We will do everything possible to make your stay even better next time. Thanks again, and wishing you a beautiful Summer!

Best Regards,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

There is a very distinct maritime theme at this small, slightly quirky hotel. "Cabin" bedrooms, with single beds (handy for a business trip), deck plank floors and a porthole window into the bathroom give the impression that you are onboard a ship. There are lots of maritime pictures, model ships and antiques around the hotel. A tiny roof terrace perched above the roof offers a great view of the city. Staff were very welcoming. The hotel is near the centre of the busy "old town" Gamla Stan, a lovely part of the city to walk around with plenty of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika H, Owner at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hej Hillburyboy,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We really appreciate getting feedback from our guests and we were happy to hear that you felt welcomed at Lord Nelson Hotel and did enjoy our facilities, as well as the location.

Please let us know if you decide to come and visit again, we have a complimentary members club, The Collector's Club, that will give benefits for our returning guests and we would really like to thank you for your support.

Summer Greetings,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This is a charming hotel with friendly reception, the main problem is that I got very little sleep.
I found my single room was very small, and it was too hot, so I had to open the window. The church bells ring out every quarter of an hour, and there seem to be three church's locally that ring every hour.
The wifi did not work in the evening and was finally fixed at breakfast.
I would not stay here again, which is a great pity as the location in the Old Town is perfect.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika H, Owner at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hej Peter,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. We were happy to hear that you thought our hotel was charming, had a great location and friendly staff, but of course we also really apologize for the disturbance you experienced with the church bells and WiFi during your visit at Lord Nelson Hotel.

Unfortunately,as you wrote, there are many bell ringings in the Old Town, as there are several churches. We know this can be disturbing, but it depends a bit on where the room is located in the hotel building. We do have complimentary ear plugs for our guests, which is distributed by the Front Desk, but I don't know if you were able to get a pair. If you do decide to come back, just mention your previous experience and we will make everything possible to make your visit as pleasant as possible!

Best regards,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Love little hotel in the heart of the Old Town in Stockholm.
The room was a bit worn down, but that just adds up to its charm.
Swedens most narrow hotel they claim and what I can see it is correct.
I'll be sure to pay them a visit again.
Recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Lars_Dahlin
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Annika H, Owner at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Hej Lars,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

We really appreciate you taking the time to write here on TripAdvisor and we were delighted to read that you are planning to return to us. Please give us a call in advance and also inquire about our complimentary Collector's Club, that gives special benefits to our returning guests.

Summer Greetings,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

A lovely, quirky little hotel!
The staff were friendly and the location, right in the middle of Gamla Stan, is excellent for exploring the city. The single room I stayed in was "compact" but the character made up for that. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annika H, Owner at Lord Nelson Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Hej Amy,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review you left here at TripAdvisor! We were really happy to read about your experience at The Lord Nelson Hotel and appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We truly value the contact with our guests and we do hope we will have another possibility to welcome you back to Stockholm!

Have a nice weekend!

Best Regards,

Annika Höft
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#25 of 154 in Stockholm
455 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#9 of 154 in Stockholm
566 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#79 of 154 in Stockholm
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#43 of 154 in Stockholm
641 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,266 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Castanea Old Town Hostel
Castanea Old Town Hostel
#9 of 64 in Stockholm
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lord Nelson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Nelson Hotel

Property: Lord Nelson Hotel
Address: 22 Vaesterlaanggatan | Old Town, Stockholm 111 29, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lord Nelson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lord Nelson Hotel is an intimate, friendly and pleasant hotel right in the heart of Gamla Stan, Stockholm’s Old Town. You find the hotel on the main street, close to the city centre and all the capital’s sights and attractions. But the hotel itself is also an attraction, as it contains a unique, private collection of maritime antiques – passionately gathered through the decades by the owner family Bengtsson. All rooms have been designed and decorated to resemble cabins on a ship. The building dates from the 17th century and at just under six metres wide, this property is undoubtedly Sweden’s narrowest hotel. In the Summer time the hotel guests can enjoy a Beautiful view on Poop Deck, the roof top terrace. The Continental Breakfast has an organic a fairtrade profile, and the hotel offers free coffe and tea service in the library on the first floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lord Nelson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Nelson Stockholm
Hotel Lord Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing