We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal in everything...exceptional in nothing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Kungens Kurva
Ranked #95 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Spent 1.5 years in this hotel as part of an assignment in Sweden and got to know all aspects of this place in depth.

The hotel is normal in everything. Normal reception, normal rooms, normal restaurant, normal gym...boringly normal in everything. There is not one thing that sticks out as exceptional.

As a tourist stay, the hotel's location is far outside of Stockholm center, and there is little to do around the hotel except look at the highway traffic and go to one of the shopping centers there. You definitely need transportation to do anything interesting.

One of the consistent irritations there is the fact that none of the rooms have refrigerators or airco systems, the heating system broke down several times during my long-term stay, and the gym is ill-maintained and requires further investment.

Unfortunately, the staff at reception also varied from snotty to very friendly too often. There were also substantial variations in the cook's abilities during this long period, and there were repeat occasions where I sent the food back. In such cases, the restaurant staff always addressed and resolved the issue in a customer-friendly way, but it was still annoying.

There is very limited hotel competition in that particular area of Stockholm and if you are forced to stay there then pick the Scandic as the competitors are even worse. However, if you can stay somewhere else then definitely consider those options, too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scooby1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
There are newer reviews for Scandic Kungens Kurva
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

I just returned from a medical meeting at Stockholm, and this hotel was booked for me for 5 days. It"s a joke that this hotel is in Stockholm, I need to spend 1 hour to get to T centrale! Is a very clean hotel, basic swedish, with Ikea furniture, no fridge and minibar in the room, no carpet, no bath towel for the leggs, no telephone conection, very poor internet wi-fi conection. Because is at the main road, the noise from the track are beginning from 4 in the morning.The breakfast was good, with enough food, the same each day. I think that this hotel is good for the people who want to shooping in Ikea, which is vis-a-vis, but for someone who want to visit Stockholm is a wrong choise, unless they want to spend more than 2 hours in metro and bus! After all, the public transportation are super and all the city are marveilleous!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main buiding are better and close to the entrance.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fionita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My family and I are currently spending a 10 day vacation, first day we checked in this hotel, the rooms were so small it was claustrophobic, the room doors open into the corridor! no ventilation or A/C in rooms, no mini fridge...
It was clean to be honest, breakfast was very good, staff were very helpful and friendly, but I had to checkout and moved into the Radisson Blu Waterfront in Central Stockholm and only for 100Kr extra per night, echnically it was a great saving on comuting!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N_Masannat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nice enough rooms. Clean. Tidy. Very Swedish (a good thing). Good breakfast.
Shower leaked a bit.
The main issue: Phone didn't work in my room. Brought it up with front desk (yes, had to get dressed and schlep my tired self down there at 10 pm) only to be told that nothing could be done about it and that I couldn't expect much else as I'd brought it up with them too late in the day.
Did you get that? The timing of my complaint was inconvenient. So, because my mobile didn't work in Sweden, I was incommunicado - while on a business trip. Nice.
So if you book yourself here, be sure to test EVERYTHING in the room to make sure it's fine as soon as you check in. Otherwise, you'll get a pile of lip and no help from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank availablename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We were looking for a hotel where we could park the car and then go by train to stockholm, in order to avoid the traffic and expensive parking.
The hotel itself is quite ok with friendly staff and a good breakfast. We were staying in the upgraded familyrooms which were not much of an upgrade. Clean I would have say, but very boring, no fridge and a very small TV. The hotel is very close to Ikea and a large shopping centre.
The train station is a 20min walk away, forcing you to walk through an area that is not so nice after dark.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank airone367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Exellent breakfast!!! Clean, nice rooms, not aircondition...air was +32 while we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

I have just came back from a ten day stay in this hotel and as usual, i will write some reviews about it.

1. Location
Just behind Kugens Kurva Ikea. What more can you ask. Just cross the street and it is there. Also a few minutes walk to Skarholmen - the mall, the electric train, bus and taxi station. There are also a few other malls around the vicinity which makes the hotel right in the center of whatever you need is.

2. Facilities
More towards a business hotel, it has swimming pool, gym, business center, car park, a sauna and most important is IP TV and high speed internet access free of additional charges!

However, on the F&B, the same menu for breakfast was served every single day towards our 10 day stay and imagine having the same menu everyday... a few of us end up having instant noodles for breakfast instead for the last couple of days.

3. Conclusion
If you are in a business trip. This hotel is highly recommended. If you are there with kids... it is still ok provided that your kid will be with you all the time because the hotel is next to a junction and traffic will be busy and of course not much thing for the kids to do there. No playroom etc.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arinzasmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotell Dialog
Hotell Dialog
#121 of 154 in Stockholm
163 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Capital Hotel
Best Western Capital Hotel
#104 of 154 in Stockholm
241 reviews
3.6 mi away
ApartHotel Telefonplan
ApartHotel Telefonplan
#105 of 154 in Stockholm
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Nacka
Quality Hotel Nacka
#82 of 154 in Stockholm
563 reviews
4.0 mi away
2Home Stockholm South
2Home Stockholm South
#139 of 154 in Stockholm
181 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Royal Star
Best Western Royal Star
#91 of 154 in Stockholm
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kungens Kurva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kungens Kurva

Address: 2 Ekgaardsvaegen, Stockholm 141 75, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £77 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kungens Kurva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight-story Motor Hotel on Highway E4, 15 km south of Stockholm's city center & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kungens Kurva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Kungens Kurva Stockholm
Scandic Kungens Kurva Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing