We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Scandic by far and one of the worst European hotels.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Kungens Kurva
Ranked #87 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst Scandic by far and one of the worst European hotels.”
Reviewed 13 June 2012

No air conditioning. Can't open the windows due to the noise of the generators outside. Rooms very tired by any standard. Restaurant closed for lunch. Ordered 1 drink at the bar and was still waiting 25 minutes later ( still at the bar). Room was by the noisy lift which woke me up all night. Workers drilling in the lift all day so couldn't get any work done. Restaurant on 1st floor closed for dinner!
I have stayed in 3 Scandic hotels in Sweden and stay in 3 different hotels in Europe 3 times a month and have done for 7 years. This is the first review I have written in that time because I am so disappointed with the quality and service of this dump. Ended up at McDonald for dinner.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else - preferably the Radisson Blu in Bucharest
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    139
    89
    42
    17
See reviews for
105
70
16
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Nothing new and suprising in this Scandic compared to another Scandics. Comfortable bed but that´s all. Very typical "bulky" hotel with all services but nothing exceptional. Hotel where you can stay quickly overnight and continue again. Would not choose that except business trip.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ville M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoutleeuw
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Spent 1.5 years in this hotel as part of an assignment in Sweden and got to know all aspects of this place in depth.

The hotel is normal in everything. Normal reception, normal rooms, normal restaurant, normal gym...boringly normal in everything. There is not one thing that sticks out as exceptional.

As a tourist stay, the hotel's location is far outside of Stockholm center, and there is little to do around the hotel except look at the highway traffic and go to one of the shopping centers there. You definitely need transportation to do anything interesting.

One of the consistent irritations there is the fact that none of the rooms have refrigerators or airco systems, the heating system broke down several times during my long-term stay, and the gym is ill-maintained and requires further investment.

Unfortunately, the staff at reception also varied from snotty to very friendly too often. There were also substantial variations in the cook's abilities during this long period, and there were repeat occasions where I sent the food back. In such cases, the restaurant staff always addressed and resolved the issue in a customer-friendly way, but it was still annoying.

There is very limited hotel competition in that particular area of Stockholm and if you are forced to stay there then pick the Scandic as the competitors are even worse. However, if you can stay somewhere else then definitely consider those options, too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scooby1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

I just returned from a medical meeting at Stockholm, and this hotel was booked for me for 5 days. It"s a joke that this hotel is in Stockholm, I need to spend 1 hour to get to T centrale! Is a very clean hotel, basic swedish, with Ikea furniture, no fridge and minibar in the room, no carpet, no bath towel for the leggs, no telephone conection, very poor internet wi-fi conection. Because is at the main road, the noise from the track are beginning from 4 in the morning.The breakfast was good, with enough food, the same each day. I think that this hotel is good for the people who want to shooping in Ikea, which is vis-a-vis, but for someone who want to visit Stockholm is a wrong choise, unless they want to spend more than 2 hours in metro and bus! After all, the public transportation are super and all the city are marveilleous!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main buiding are better and close to the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

My family and I are currently spending a 10 day vacation, first day we checked in this hotel, the rooms were so small it was claustrophobic, the room doors open into the corridor! no ventilation or A/C in rooms, no mini fridge...
It was clean to be honest, breakfast was very good, staff were very helpful and friendly, but I had to checkout and moved into the Radisson Blu Waterfront in Central Stockholm and only for 100Kr extra per night, echnically it was a great saving on comuting!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Masannat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Nice enough rooms. Clean. Tidy. Very Swedish (a good thing). Good breakfast.
Shower leaked a bit.
The main issue: Phone didn't work in my room. Brought it up with front desk (yes, had to get dressed and schlep my tired self down there at 10 pm) only to be told that nothing could be done about it and that I couldn't expect much else as I'd brought it up with them too late in the day.
Did you get that? The timing of my complaint was inconvenient. So, because my mobile didn't work in Sweden, I was incommunicado - while on a business trip. Nice.
So if you book yourself here, be sure to test EVERYTHING in the room to make sure it's fine as soon as you check in. Otherwise, you'll get a pile of lip and no help from the front desk staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank availablename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilia Romagna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We were looking for a hotel where we could park the car and then go by train to stockholm, in order to avoid the traffic and expensive parking.
The hotel itself is quite ok with friendly staff and a good breakfast. We were staying in the upgraded familyrooms which were not much of an upgrade. Clean I would have say, but very boring, no fridge and a very small TV. The hotel is very close to Ikea and a large shopping centre.
The train station is a 20min walk away, forcing you to walk through an area that is not so nice after dark.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airone367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Good Morning+ Hagersten
#99 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Hotell Dialog
#113 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Scandic Ariadne
Scandic Ariadne
#82 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Quality Hotel Nacka
#79 of 155 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Best Western Royal Star
#92 of 155 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kungens Kurva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kungens Kurva

Property: Scandic Kungens Kurva
Address: 2 Ekgaardsvaegen, Stockholm 141 75, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Kungens Kurva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 257
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eight-story Motor Hotel on Highway E4, 15 km south of Stockholm's city center & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Scandic Hotels, Travelbag, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kungens Kurva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Kungens Kurva Stockholm
Scandic Kungens Kurva Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing