We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel but Avoid the "cabins"”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #80 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but Avoid the "cabins"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I liked the look and feel of the reception and the bar had a good atmosphere and it's in a good central location, but I was disappointed with my room. I only stayed one night fortunately or I'd have insisted on moving. I booked a "cabin" as had a budget but it was a tiny room, two floors down underground with no windows. I'd have paid the additional Krone to have a bigger room with windows if I'd realised. There was also a slightly unpleasant smell in the corridor outside my room, which they said they were investigating. I would stay here again but not in a cabin.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Hi Janet,
Thank you for writing this review, we’re glad to hear you like the nice atmosphere in our reception and bars. I am sorry to hear you didn’t like the cabin room, but it is nice to know you would like to visit us again and then stay in another room category. Very welcome back in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    519
    353
    144
    64
See reviews for
193
397
89
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had room at Malmen on Sunday 14th July and we loved the room, so did your friends.
Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors on the other side, their room was the last on the hallway, we were next to them.The group went out and came back around two very drunk and were very noisy.

We called two times to reception and asked for help (firstly as we could not first locate the noise, it is difficult as one wakes up from deep sleep).

The reception sent a guard to check the floors. The noise contained so we called again. I told we had a four year old with us and all of us just wanted to sleep.

We were told that the noise came from next to us. The reception told that there was nothing to do from hotel's side as the group was not playing music or fighting. They were talking loudly and laughing. We were told that at least the people would leave at 4am as they had an early flight and had asked a wake-up call. At this point I as quite astonished as I thought the sleep for Scandic was a priority and this is what one expects from the hotel.
So that it was us that would need to keep awake from 2am to 4 am.
My husband got up and knocked the door of our neighbours, found a group of young guys completely drunk, he asked them to be more quiet so that we could sleep.

The hotel has a good location so if you don't mind noise it might be good for you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kati I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Katituulia,
Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate to get constructive feedback as it helps us to improve our everyday work. I am really sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the neighbors and how we reacted to this. What you describe is not at all how we want our guests to feel like. Thank you for letting us know about this, it will help us to prevent this from happening again in the future. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again so we could get a second chance to provide you with our best service.
Kind regards,
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Odense
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very good location in short walking distance to ie Gamla Stan and other attractions. Rather small room with tiny bathroom. Wooden floor and comfortable beds. Popular bar in connection with lobby. Start prices on Wine and drinks. Very delicious breakfast with all you need and can think of. Frontstaff friendly and helpful, but one employee looked like he just had walked out of bed after a heavy night in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SENOdense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hi,
Thank you for writing this review, what a nice one to receive. We’re glad to hear you enjoyed our location, delicious breakfast, popular bar and the friendly staff. I am sorry though to hear that one of the front desk staff seemed a bit tired, I will talk to them about it.
Hope to see you back at Scandic Malmen again in the future, you are always welcome!
Kind regards,
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
108 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

A room where designers must have spent some time to make it "fun" (see photo). I asked and got a room at the fourth floor at a quiet street side. The bathroom is very tiny, but thanks to an ingenious convex glass door that could be turned away to the wall so as to make more space. Once positioned towards you it leaves a nice round space to shower. Clever. The breakfast was a real "hurried up" experience, way too many people literally - it seemed all at the same time - running around to and from the buffet tables, the place hardly suited for all those guests. Not your idea of a nice start of the morning. The beds have two duvets on one bed, typically for Scandinavian countries and German hotels. I really hate it. First of all they are folded on the bed when you come in, then you have to unfold it and basically making up your own bed. Fortunately I was by myself so I could use the second duvet to keep the rear end under the mattress. If with two its really uncomfortable. You wonder who invented that ridiculous system. Time for a chance!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGeeks2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Hi,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding your stay, we appreciate feedback from our guests. I am sorry to hear the breakfast was not ideal during your stay. Our breakfast room can get a bit crowded from time to time, especially on weekends when most guests eat at the same time. If arriving a bit earlier there are normally lots of places available.
We do hope that you would consider staying with us at Scandic Malmen again if you come back to Stockholm. We would really like a second chance to give you a great stay!
Kind regards,
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed at Scandic Malmen several times before, and often choose it for the excellent location and since we know that Scandic as a chain is always dependable for good breakfast and a high minimal quality level. The location is hard to beat, expecially now that the Continental has been torn down.

As usual and as expected, check-in, check.out was qick and easy, room clean and bright if small, breakfast selection varied and plentiful.

Unfortunately, the hotel has now undergone a renovation. The breakfast is served in what is a nightclub in the evening, and the new design by some local vintage store is an excellent example of form over function; tables are ridiculously small, chairs uncomfortable and badly matched to the tables, large spaces are unused so people are forced to sit on high chairs at the bar.

The rooms are also renovated, meaning that the bathrooms are small with a tiny, tiny basin (as shown in one of the user pictures), a shower that leaves the entire floor wet, and no shelf space for toiletries. Speaking of shelf space - not very much in the room either.

Will I stay here again? Yes, but only if the other central Scandic hotels are full.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street, Götgatan, can be noisy; this is a lively neighbourhood with much peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swede83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Swede83,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay, we appreciate to get feedback from our guests. I am glad to hear you like our location, the rooms and that the check-in/check-out is quick and easy. On the other hand, I am very sorry to hear you don’t like what our ground floor is like since the renovation. We will take your thoughts about the small tables, uncomfortable chairs and shelf space in the rooms into consideration next time it is time for us to make changes.
Regarding the basins we do have smaller basins in some of the rooms where we couldn’t fit a bigger one, but most rooms has a standard sized basin.
We hope to see you back as guests with us again, you are always welcome!
Kind regards,
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
111 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

All hotels in Stockholm are overpriced, so its hard to speak about the value of Scandic Malmen, but as an above basic hotel in Stockholm it was excellent. The location Sodermalm was great for exploring that part of the city and you can literally enter the Metro from walking outside the building. We also stayed in Ostermalm and enjoyed getting an experience of both sides of the city, although if I had to pick one I'd stay in Ostermalm.

The rooms are nicely finished and clean without being special. Oddly they have these tiny square pillows instead of normal sleeping pillows. The bathrooms are tiny but ok. The reception and service was utilitarian, they check you in but nothing more. The breakfast as others have eluded to was nice but a bit of a free for all. We struggled to get a seat on a busy Saturday morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrrplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hi,
Thank you for sharing this nice review. We’re really glad to hear that you that you enjoyed your stay at Scandic Malmen and our beautiful pillow. I’m sorry you had a hard time finding a seat in the breakfast room. The tends to get busy sometimes, especially on weekends when most guests eating at the same time, so sorry about this. Hope to see you back at Scandic Malmen again soon, you are always welcome!
Kind regards,
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Fairly standard hotel experience. Room was clean. Great shower with good water pressure. Bar was above average. The two downsides came in the morning - breakfast was a bit of a free-for-all and quite disappointing in quality. Secondly, the lifts were very busy at this time - perhaps to be expected, but could be an issue for some people, although I was fine with the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enfilade405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hi,
I am glad to hear you enjoyed the clean room, the shower and the bar, thank you for letting us know. I am sorry you didn’t like our breakfast and had to wait for the elevators. We’re planning a renovation of our elevators at the end of this year that will make them run faster, so hopefully this won’t be a problem if you visit us again in the future. Welcome back to us at Scandic Malmen.
Kind regards,
Matilda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#90 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
BEST WESTERN Premier Collection NOFO Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#107 of 158 in Stockholm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#47 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Property: Scandic Malmen
Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing