We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice breakfast”
Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #88 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Excellent location on Södermalm. T-bana station couldn't be closer. Great breakfast eith losts of choices. Clean room. Beds not so comfy - loose feet!Noice from the bars at night. We were on 1st floor.Most staff members were nice but some could have been friendlier.

Thank SissyBar
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Hi, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay. Glad to hear you enjoyed our location, breakfast and clean rooms. Apologize you were disturbed by the noise and that you didn’t like the bed. Very welcome back to us again in the future if you come to Stockholm!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

352 - 358 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed in Scandic Malmen back in December 2012 just before Christmas. The hotel is located in Södermalm, one of the nicest areas in Stockholm, the hotel is always super busy in the weekends, and this time was no exception. At first we were given a standard room on 4th floor, but due to some very noisy guests on the same floor, the duty manager was very nice and upgraded us to the top floor where we got a super nice room. It made a big difference and we really enjoyed our stay with Scandic Malmen. The breakfast is super good, plenty of variety and friendly staff. Will come back next time we are in Stockholm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeLundgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi,
Thank you for writing this review, we’re glad to hear you had a nice stay with us. Hope to see you back with us again in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice room, though no water cooker. But there´s a bar downstairs where you can get drinks. Ironing board and iron in the room. Breakfast is really good. There´s a small gym as well. When I was there there was a big problem with the WLAN, it worked shortly and then stopped and so on. This got fixed within 1-2 days. I can recommend the hotel - the location is great and it´s quite (room towards inner yard).

Room Tip: chose inner yard - really quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Hi Martin,
Thank you for sharing this review, we appreciate it. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the bar and breakfast. Kettles are available in our Suits and Superior rooms, but unfortunately not in the standard rooms. Sorry to hear the WIFI was not working properly! Very welcome back to Scandic Malmen again in the future,
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The Naked and Famous had a concert at Debaser Medis, Stockholm and we got the tickets to show so we had to get a place to sleep too.

Scandic Malmen was the perfect spot to stay, just opposite to the Club with trafficlights making the walking over the road safe.

Behind the corner was a stairway to the metro/tube which got you easily basicly everywhere in the city.

The room was like MikaelBman has wroten, 2 floors under reception without a window - Perfect place for resting after club night. Room was clean, wifi-connection worked perfectly, toilet was ok, but the bed was a bit narrow (less then 160 cm) for 2. And the corridor smell a bit like a cellar?

Breakfast was nice, but there wasn't any porridge.

But perfect spot for resting (no window, really quiet, nice toilet/shower) with very good connections (metro, wifi, phone, tv) and good breakfast (though no porridge if it's important).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tero H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Hi,
Glad to hear Scandic Malmen was the perfect spot to stay for you! Our cabin rooms are indeed very convenient for a good nights sleep as they are dark and quiet. Some of the cabin rooms, like the one you stayed in, has a queen bed, and some of them has two twin beds. Please let us know the next time that you would like a twin bed and we’ll do our best to arrange this for you.
Hope to see you back at Scandic Malmen again in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We really wanted to get some sleep and Hotel Malmen has these "cabin" rooms without windows where you don't hear anything from the street. Mind you, if you take a room with a view, you might be woken up every hour by the oppisite clock that strikes on the hour. We also had warm sandwiches downstairs in the restaurant, very good. Breakfast at this hotel is excellent!

Room Tip: If you value your sleep, take the cabin type of room. Also the Business rooms on the Business top fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hyasintti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hi,
I am glad to hear you had a good nights sleep with us and liked your cabin room. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your sandwiches and the breakfast. Welcome back again at any time!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I liked the look and feel of the reception and the bar had a good atmosphere and it's in a good central location, but I was disappointed with my room. I only stayed one night fortunately or I'd have insisted on moving. I booked a "cabin" as had a budget but it was a tiny room, two floors down underground with no windows. I'd have paid the additional Krone to have a bigger room with windows if I'd realised. There was also a slightly unpleasant smell in the corridor outside my room, which they said they were investigating. I would stay here again but not in a cabin.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Hi Janet,
Thank you for writing this review, we’re glad to hear you like the nice atmosphere in our reception and bars. I am sorry to hear you didn’t like the cabin room, but it is nice to know you would like to visit us again and then stay in another room category. Very welcome back in the future!
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had room at Malmen on Sunday 14th July and we loved the room, so did your friends.
Unfortunately we had very noisy neighbors on the other side, their room was the last on the hallway, we were next to them.The group went out and came back around two very drunk and were very noisy.

We called two times to reception and asked for help (firstly as we could not first locate the noise, it is difficult as one wakes up from deep sleep).

The reception sent a guard to check the floors. The noise contained so we called again. I told we had a four year old with us and all of us just wanted to sleep.

We were told that the noise came from next to us. The reception told that there was nothing to do from hotel's side as the group was not playing music or fighting. They were talking loudly and laughing. We were told that at least the people would leave at 4am as they had an early flight and had asked a wake-up call. At this point I as quite astonished as I thought the sleep for Scandic was a priority and this is what one expects from the hotel.
So that it was us that would need to keep awake from 2am to 4 am.
My husband got up and knocked the door of our neighbours, found a group of young guys completely drunk, he asked them to be more quiet so that we could sleep.

The hotel has a good location so if you don't mind noise it might be good for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Guest Relations Manager at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Katituulia,
Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate to get constructive feedback as it helps us to improve our everyday work. I am really sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the neighbors and how we reacted to this. What you describe is not at all how we want our guests to feel like. Thank you for letting us know about this, it will help us to prevent this from happening again in the future. We do hope that you would consider staying with us again so we could get a second chance to provide you with our best service.
Kind regards,
Matilda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
802 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#92 of 154 in Stockholm
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#49 of 154 in Stockholm
712 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
3,086 reviews
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £81 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing