We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life in the basement”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #79 of 157 Hotels in Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Life in the basement”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel is in a lively area, lots going on, but if your given a room in the two basement floors it sucks! No windows, no phone signal and completely claustrophobic... receptionist almost laughed when I asked to change rooms... Not for Buisness travelers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianrhodes1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hello Ianrhodes,

Thank you for giving us your thoughts about your stay.
I'm really sorry to hear you didn't enjoyed your visit at Scandic Malmen.
We have two floors with Cabin-rooms which cost a bit less because they are under the groundfloor and don't have any windows. This room is something you only will get if you make a reservation in this category, and we usually are very good at communicate that the room doesn't have any windows. I'm sorry something went wrong this time and you didn't get that information.
A standard queen-or twinroom would maybe be a great option for you.

Hope to see you with us in the future and that we can show you that we could do better.

Best regards,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    518
    352
    144
    64
See reviews for
193
397
89
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Living in Switzerland, I'm used to high prices but still found this hotel not to be good value at USD 270 per night.

The rooms are very small and very plain. There is no closet, just bars and hooks. The bathroom is extremely small (sink is about the size of an airplane bathroom, mine was in the corner even). Except for a tiny shelf, nowhere to put anything down... The shower floor is part of the bathroom floor which results in a nice wet bathroom every morning.

They have little character and the hallways feel like a dormitory.

It was difficult to get the room to be very dark (sunrise at 4:15 am in May).

Breakfast area is good, lots of activity. Which is something to look forward to when you leave the room!

Choice are limited in this city in this price range. Just lower your expectations!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SODA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello Fed S,

Thank you for giving us a review on your stay.
Great that you liked our nice breakfast and was looking forward to it each day.
I'm sorry to hear that you didn't liked your room. The hotel building is marked with a preservation-mark and we are a bit limited in what we could do when we make changes. But I will forward the feedback. You are always welcome to tell us at the hotel, if there is something with your room you don't like and we will do our best to make sure you have a great stay.
We have two different kinds of interior in our rooms, one is a bit darker and might be easier to get dark in the morning and you are always welcome to make a request about what kind of room you want. As an alternative we have cabin-rooms, one and two floors down in the building, they don't have any windows and cost a bit less.

Hope to see you with as again and that we then can show you that we can do better.

Best regards,
Lisa Persson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hotel might check off all the boxes of a 4 star property but the room felt very basic no storage area just a rod with 3 hangers and a small shelf so it was hard to unpack and settle in. Booked a room with 1 large bed ended up with 2 twins pushed together. The biggest issue is the noise well into the early morning from the club in the ground level of the hotel I was 1 level above it and it was completely unacceptable.

The maids do not make up the rooms till vert late the first day I let go but on the second I had to ask the front desk to have my room cleaned it was after 3 PM.

Wifi is excellent fast and you can use several devices.

Loved the morning breakfast and it is served really late on the weekend if you want to sleep in.

Overall great location nice hotel with a few issues but was an ok value and I would stay again just in a much higher floor

Room Tip: Make sure you as high up as the noise from the club is loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Hello Caltom67,

Thank you for your review about the hotel.
I'm glad to hear you liked the hotel, the nice breakfast and that you was pleased with our Wifi.
We have three very popular bars at the hotel and we are really gratefull for them, but we don't want it to compromise the experiences from our guests. The level of sound varies from night to night and I'm sorry to hear that you had trouble sleeping. We have triple glazing in our windows and isolation in the ceiling of our own bar, Lilla Hotellbaren, but unfortunately it is never completely quiet in the area here on Södermalm.
You are always welcom to ask about a room on a higher floor, both when you make the reservation and directly at the hotel, and we will do our best to help you. We also have cabinrooms located downstairs and they are very quiet, such a room could be a good option.
When you make the reservation you could add a request for what kind of bed you want, we always try to accommodate the request but it is not always possible. I'm sorry we couldn't do that this time.
I will forward your feedback regarding the room interior and the cleaning and we will use the information in our efforts to improve ourselves.

Hope to see you with us soon again.

Best regards,
Lisa Persson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Check in is a bit late at only by 3 pm. The room was modern however rather small and the bathroom tiny for 2 people with the most basic of toiletries. Excellent was the location as it had pretty much everything nearby -- restaurants, supermarket, cafés. And the breakfast was a beautiful spread of everything you can imagine and everything organic! From the butter to the coffee!

Room Tip: Choose floors above the lobby. Yes, they have basement rooms. Yikes, I know right?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bambi_Sia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello Bambi_Sia,

Thank you for your nice words regarding our breakfast and our great location, we feel very privileged to be here in the centre of Södermalm.
The rooms are a bit different in size and type, you are more than welcome to tell us if there is any problem with your room and we will do our best to help you at the hotel.
Check out is at 12.00 and earliest Check in is at 14.00, if your room isn't ready you can always leave your luggage in our luggage-room until it is.

Hope to see you with us at Scandic Malmen soon again.

Best regards,
Lisa Persson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Good location in Stockholm. Rooms are quite simple nothing extra. Breakfast is excellent as it is normally in Nordic countries. You of cause see that Scandic tries to run this hotel with minimum personnel. They have nice and popular bar at the lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arska-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hello Ari M,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us.
I'm glad to hear you liked our breakfast and appreciated our well attended bar.
The amount of amenities in our rooms depends on what kind of room the reservation was for, but if you are missing something in your room you are more than welcome to tell us and we will do our best to help you.

Hope to see you with us at Scandic Malmen soon again.

Best regards,
Lisa Persson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location to all of the good bars and restaurants in Stockholm. We stayed here for one night on a friend’s stag do (bachelor party) and the staff were efficient, friendly and accommodating. The hotel is also a 1-2 min walk away from a very good, traditional Swedish restaurant Kvarnen Bar, which whilst expensive, serves up some great food. The hotel bar I was told was also probably one of the best in the south of Stockholm, which on my experience, could be true! Great buffet breakfast as well to shake off the hangover the next day (the bacon was particularly good).

Not cheap, but to be expected in central Stockholm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Hello Darren,

Thanks for your nice review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is also nice to hear that you appreciated the breakfast, the bar and our amazing location in Stockholm.
I will forward the kind words about our staff, we really appreciate it.
Hope to see you with us at Scandic Malmen soon again.

Welcome.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaarina, Finland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights in end of March.
The first impression was good, and it just got better.
This hotel is not perhaps luxury, but it is Nice!
The best part was the atmosphere: somewhat robust, cosy, lots of air, and pleasant lighting and acoustics. Lots of air!
The room was OK. I use the hotel room to sleep and have a shower, and therefore expect it only to be clean and provide me with a good sleep, which it did.
The big windows in the lobby and in the restaurant showed the street life in this part of Stockholm, which I liked.
For me the best part was a truly excellent breakfast, great location (metro station in the same building) and very much the urban surrounding. This part of Stockholm I have discovered just recently, but in my opinion it is the best part of Stockholm, this Södermalm.
Bohemian, down-to-earth, relaxed, cosy.
Nothing like the city center.
Stockholm is my favorite city (in the world, so far) and I have lived here and visited tens of times.
All in all, I probably would choose this hotel next time too, even with my family so I strongly recommend it.
If you come here, be sure to visit restaurant/bar Himlen (Sky) some 4 minutes walk south along Götgatan. On your right you see a high building. Take the elevator to the 25th floor, walk the stairs to the 26th. There is the bar and a wonderful view over all of Stockholm. Don't miss it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gnokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Hello Gnokki,

Thank you for answering our guest survey and for your nice words.
I am delighted to hear that your first impression was great and that we could continue to live up to your expectations. I am also glad you liked the atmosphere and that you were satisfied with your room. Also nice to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and love our location, we feel very privileged to be located in this part of Stockholm.

Hope to see you with us at Scandic Malmen in the future.

Wellcome,
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 157 in Stockholm
638 reviews
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#90 of 157 in Stockholm
217 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
BEST WESTERN Premier Collection NOFO Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Södermalm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
Clarion Hotel Stockholm
#45 of 157 in Stockholm
2,558 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#108 of 157 in Stockholm
72 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#48 of 157 in Stockholm
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Property: Scandic Malmen
Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing