We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money ! so happy...”
Review of Scandic Malmen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Malmen
Ranked #87 of 155 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We would like to express our immense happiness and pleasure during our stay at Scandic Malmen,right from very beginning when we requested for an early check-in due to our cruise arrivals early morning,the lady at front desk was so nice and helpful and she made us an early check-in to have a rest after our cruise journey,Room itself was very clean & up to the mark.Breakfast was World Class with so many varieties of cuisine,lobby during night hours was very cheerful with a nice relaxing music,complete staff was amazingly helpful.We would always consider to stay in Scandic Malmen whenever we plan to visit Stockholm again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank prashantbahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Hello Prashantbahl,

Thank you so much for your review and for your nice words. I’m so happy to hear that you had such a great stay with us.
We are so glad you appreciated the breakfast, the staff and your room. We have three popular bars at the ground floor which we are really happy about, I'm glad you liked atmosphere in the bars and the lobby.

Hope to see you with us soon again. Welcome back to Scandic Malmen.

Best regards,
Lisa Persson
Scandic Malmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

318 - 324 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed as a group of friends at this hotel for one night. Personally I was completely satisfied with our stay: the room was on the first floor, clean and comfortable with necessary amenities. The only thing I missed was a minibar. Despite the fact this hotel is located on a busy street, it's really quiet inside. I should definitely mention the location of this hotel: it takes about 10 minutes to walk to the Old Town with plenty of restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Markus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Marus B,

Thank you for your nice words about your stay with us at Scandic Malmen.
I'm happy to hear you liked your room and the location. About the minibar, that is something that we only have in our suites at the moment.
Welcome back any time soon.
Hope you have a great summer.

Kind regards,
Lisa Persson
Scandic Malmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of a great shopping area with plenty of bars, restaurants and nightclubs but can get noisy in late evening time (it gets noisier the lower the floor your staying on as the hotel Bar can get busy with locals)!!
The rooms were very impressive though they didn't have A/C which was bad for us as we were there in July with 25C heat haha!!
The breakfast was very good with a very large selection on offer and we had a meal one of the evenings and it was very nice!!
Really would stay here again as it was a great location for the old town that was about a 15 minute walk away though it may be a bit hilly for some!!

Room Tip: If u don't want the noise from the surrounding nightclubs best to pick a room off the main stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirish69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello Mirish69,

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the hotel, the brekfast and your room.
Hope the heat didn't keep you awake. The location is as you say, great. There is great conctions from this part of Stockholm and we are really happy to be located here.

Hope to see you with us soon again.
Have a nice summer.

Best regards
Lisa Persson
Scandic Malmen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I am from the UK and was visiting my friend in Sweden, I stayed in the Junior suit and I have to say I was very impressed with my stay overall, the room was clean and well presented, the staff were friendly, the hotel is in a great location and the check in and out was quick and simple. I would recommend this hotel to any wanting to stay in Stockholm and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Hello Kim D,

Thank you for your review and your nice words.
We are glad to hear you had a nice stay with us and enjoyed your room, the friendly staff and the location. We feel very privileged to be located right here in the middle of Södermalm.
Hope to see you with us soon again.

Knd regards,
Lisa Persson
Scandic Malmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Pros:

- sufficient gym
- price
- location (very close to metro station & attractions, still being very peaceful and sympathetic district with its nice and cozy restaurants and urban environment)
- excellent breakfast
- no noise from the street even though a busy street was just next to the hotel (the window of our room faced to the inner yard, don't know if the opposite rooms suffer from the traffic noise)
- night club in the ground level floor (might be a con as well ;))
- we got our room in advance (at 10 am on the check in -day) without any additional fees -> the staff is very friendly

Cons:

- if you wish to stay in a spacious room, this would not be your choice (ours was smaller than 20 m2 in total)
- air ventilation in the bathroom was poor, leading into humid atmosphere and odor in the bathroom (not a problem in other parts of the room, though)
- the noise from the hotels night club was significant during late nights at the weekend (our room was on 3rd floor)
- no minibar
- quite narrow bed for a couple, 140 cm

Room Tip: Rooms in the inner yard, above the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valtteri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Hello Valtteri B,

Thank you for your review.
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the breakfast, the gym and the great location. Alson fun to hear that you got an early check in and thought the bars down stairs also where a plus. We have three bars which are very popular and for that we are very glad, but the least we want is for our guest to get disturbed and I'm sorry for that. The rooms differ depending on which room category you choose and i'm afraid only the junior suites have a minibar. But you can always leave whatever you want to be cold at the front desk and they will help you. The bed is also something that varies, you can always make a request up on arrival that you want a larger bed and we will do all we can to accomodate the request. About the ventilation, I'm sorry to hear that this was an inconvenience and I would like to know in which room you stayed so we could take a look at it?
Pleasa contact me at lisa.persson 2@scandichotels.com.

Kind regards,
Lisa Persson
Scandic Malmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A friend and I chose this hotel as a way to avoid staying in the crowded old town district and get more of a feel for modern Stockholm. It ended up being perfect for that as it's located a short walk from dozens of popular bars and restaurants. In fact, the hotel bar and club (2 separate venues) both had great weekend crowds. And, it was only a short 10 min walk to the old town (Gamla Stan) for more mainstream tourism. For venturing further out the hotel is literally on top of a metro stop so that was a nice plus. The hotel design has a fun rock 'n roll theme, so overall it's a great option for a leisure weekend in Stockholm.

Room Tip: The first floor has both a bar and a club, both of which are very popular on weekend nights; request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Brad,

Thank you for your nice words about your stay here at Scandic Malmen.
I'm happy to hear you had a nice vaccation here i Stockholm and enjoyed the location of the hotel, the interior and our great bars and restaurant.

Welcome back to us any time soon.

Best regards,
Lisa Persson
Scandic Malmen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed at Malmen about 6 or 7 times so we obviously like it (See previous reviews). They have made some changes over the years but the design standard is still very high and the bars are getting more popular all the time. This is on the edge of one of Stockholm's most trendy districts and for us the location couldn't be better.

One important thing for guests to be aware of: some of the rooms are incredibly small. We have been given one of these type of rooms on two occasions. Both times we requested a change and were accommodated. If your room is one of these, just go down and ask the front desk if they have any other, larger rooms. It makes a world of difference in the quality of the stay.

We will stay here again, but if we ever get stuck with one of those tiny rooms, it will be the last time we visit. This hotel is pricey and the rooms should reflect what you pay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RobinLocksley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicMalmenSthlm, Kundansvarig at Scandic Malmen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi RobinLockesly,

Thanks for your review.
Great to hear that you are coming back to us at Scandic Malmen.
We are very happy to be located here in this area.
Just as you say, you are always welcome down to the front desk if you have any comments about your room, and we'll do everything to ensure you'll have a good stay with us. The rooms alss differ in size depending on the room type you choose to stay in.

Hope to see you with us soon again.

Best regards,
Lisa Persson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#73 of 155 in Stockholm
792 reviews
Norrmalm
Downtown Camper by Scandic
Downtown Camper by Scandic
#4 of 155 in Stockholm
255 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Nofo Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Slussen
Anno 1647
Anno 1647
#92 of 155 in Stockholm
245 reviews
Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
Hilton Stockholm Slussen
#49 of 155 in Stockholm
3,057 reviews
SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Hotel Point
Hotel Point
#113 of 155 in Stockholm
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Malmen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Malmen

Address: 49 - 51 Goetgatan, Stockholm 116 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > SoFo & Medborgarplatsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £79 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Malmen 4*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Scandic Malmen - town life, musical experiences and a feeling of home in the heart of Södermalm.Here you can dine, drink, meet and sleep. And loads of other fun things, such as enjoying free concerts for example. When you stay with us in one of our 332 rooms, you will live in a 50th century building in the middle of the metropolitan pulse. You will also have great access to other parts of the city by metro, train, boat or bus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Malmen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Malmen Stockholm
Scandic Malmen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing