We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful Service and Scammed Out Of Money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crystal Plaza Hotel
Ranked #83 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Seemed ok when we first walked in. They helped us book a taxi to take us to the airport when the stay finished at their special discounted rate! Got into the room and it was boiling and the thump, thump thump of nightclubs around us. Had to open the window and the noise was even worse. The radiators were broken and stuck on the 'On' position (in summer) making it unbearable. Complained and got told to try a single pair of ear plugs for my wife and tissue in the ears for me! Paid a lot of money to have to put tissues in my ears! Finally managed to get a room change the following day which was better. No apology for the awful night sleep that wrecked a whole day of the holiday. Still noisy but, bearable! We checked the taxi price several times with reception and end up with a nasty shook when we got to the airport and were charged massively more. Called the hotel to sort but, they stated they had booked the wrong company for the taxi and we would have to pay and I would need to email in. 2 weeks now and no response. I am starting to wonder if this is a hotel scam they have going? Terrible service and they do not know what they are doing. Stay away!

Room Tip: Do not allow yourself to be booked into a room below the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 204 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

The Crystal Plaza is situated close to the main party strip in Stockholm. I had a room at the back of the hotel so it was quiet the front rooms no so quiet.

The breakfast is great you can make your own pancakes. There is a great selection of foods from yoghurt to scrambled eggs to cold meats and cheeses

It's a shot walk from all the tourist spots. My advise bring a very comfortable pair of walking shoes.

Comfortable friendly and great location.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Teenagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked the Crystal Plaza at relatively late notice and it was one of the few hotels of a certain standard (e.g. room with a window, breakfast) that had availability.

Firstly, the location is fantastic. We didn't use public transport or a taxi at all once we were in the city centre - everywhere was walkable (caveats: it is probably a 30 minute walk to the old town and we did also use one of the hop-on, hop-off boats to get to some of the other islands).

The hotel has an element of faded grandeur, from the old fashioned lift and staircase to the rooms. We had booked an economy double, but when we arrived had been assigned a triple room (three single beds). Apparently we had been "upgraded", but it wasn't quite what we booked. The staff were very helpful and offered us a change of rooms.

The room we had was facing the main road on the second floor. As it was warm we had the windows open, so it was quite noisy, with plenty of traffic and noise from nearby bars.

The beds were ok, but quite old. In the triple, two of the singles were standard and one was a little wider, so pushing them together wasn't really the answer.

The bathroom was clean and functional.

Breakfast is a continental buffet in the hotel restaurant "Ming". The food was quite reasonable - cereal, fruit, cold meat & cheese, pickled herring (of course), breads and so on, plus some hot options.

Overall, quite a serviceable stay. I think the price was probably just on the high side for the quality, but the location and staff made up for it.

Room Tip: Higher floors are likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mispra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Erik H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Extremely well located near a park, this hotel is an old building and is a reasonably priced budget hotel by Stockholm standards. Large buffet breakfast and pleasant staff. Hardwood floors. I asked for a quiet room and got just that, facing the inner courtyard. The doors are lined so that they don't slam noisily -- why can't all hotels take this simple step?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelculture123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. Had a superior room on the 1st floor at the front which was spacious and very nice.The room was very clean, well equipped and the bed comfortable. However at night when trying to sleep it was pretty noisy with the local nightlife being in full swing despite the double glazing .
The next morning we asked to change rooms. The lady at reception was very helpful and changed us to a room at the back of the hotel. This was smaller but very quiet so we were much happier.
Otherwise the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good

Overall would recommend this hotel but if you are sensitive to noise, would recommend asking for a room away from the main street at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Chose a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew7MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

It is often difficult to find a hotelroom in Stockholm. All my standard hotels were full, but Crystal Plaza had a room for me - absolutely overpriced, though.
Service in reception was perfectly fine and room was OK (had its top in the seventies perhaps).
Had a businessmeeting in the lounge which worked fine. Free internet too. Service from the bar was not very impressive. The guy behind the desk need to wake up.
Even if this hotel is located close to the famous party-street, "Stureplan" I did not have any noise in my room. Had a good nights sleep and an excellent breakfast next morning. I appreciate when the scramble eggs are good. This was fantastic!
Pre booked taxi was in time and check-out worked like a clock.
Not bad, but a bit too stiff on the price?!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Olaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
Comfort Hotel Stockholm
#64 of 154 in Stockholm
2,176 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western Kom Hotel Stockholm
Ostermalm
Hotel Drottning Kristina
Hotel Drottning Kristina
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vasastan
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
Freys Hotel Lilla Radmannen
#30 of 154 in Stockholm
655 reviews
Norrmalm
Scandic No. 53
Scandic No. 53
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
1,592 reviews
Norrmalm
Best Western and hotel
Best Western and hotel
#45 of 154 in Stockholm
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crystal Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal Plaza Hotel

Address: Birger Jarlsgatan 35, Stockholm 111 45, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Price Range: £70 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crystal Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Stockholm city centre! A stay here sees you right in the heart of Stockholm, a stone's throw from the beating big city pulse of Stureplan, with restaurants, shopping, cinemas and theatres on your doorstep. Crystal Plaza Hotel offers 111 rooms combining classic charm with modern comfort and personal service. Whether your visit is on a weekday night for business or a weekend break in Stockholm, we will do our utmost to ensure you a pleasant and memorable stay. Welcome to Crystal Plaza Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Crystal Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal Plaza Stockholm
Hotel Crystal Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing