We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
236
220
63
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
220
63
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews church bells royal palace plunge pool gamla stan old town charming hotel nobel museum lord nelson interesting antiques top floor modern conveniences short walk from the central station gluten free options single room excellent location sister hotel thoroughly enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We recently stayed in a penthouse old town apartment with our teenage daughter. The 4th floor apartment had a wonderful feel and personality. Be prepared to carry your bags up to the 4th floor of a winding spiral staircase - but its well worth it. The apartment is very well equipped and very comfortable with everything you need for a comfortable stay. It was magical laying in the comfortable bed listening to the various church bells and then stepping out the door into the history of the old city. Would certainly stay in this apartment again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mcittc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel in June of 2012. We loved it! Our room was a nice size, the staff was very helpful, and the breakfast was pretty good. The absolute best quality of this hotel is the perfect location in Gamla Stan! The hotel is in the oldest, most historic, and most touristy (luckily I am a tourist, so I loved that) neighborhood of Stockholm. It's a stone's throw from the Palace and there seemed to be dozens of neat little bars, restaurants, and shops within walking distance. The only reason I gave this hotel a 4 not 5 is because it lacks some amenities I except from a 5 "star" hotel (i.e. gym, nicer spa, etc...). Don't get me wrong, I loved this hotel and would stay here again, but it is surely better for a touristy couple hitting the town than a businessman laying up between meetings. Last thing, a couple of people have commented on the noise. Our room didn't have AC (hardly ever need it in Sweden), so we had to open the window or turn on the fan for a breeze. The street has lots of little entertainers and what not, so it can be a bit noisy during the day, but we had no trouble sleeping at night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJoliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is a charming hotel in Stockholm's Old Town. Old Town is small and you can walk everywhere. The hotel is a twenty minute walk from the central train and bus station. Decor is made up of old nautical items, and Swedish antiques such as a spinning wheel, old painted cabinet fronts and fine china. Service and staff are beyond excellent as others have said. I did not find the church bells to be a problem. They sound nice, and with the window closed are barely audible. Breakfast is included and consists of a Swedish style "cold board" (bread, cheese and lunch meats), plus bacon, eggs, pancakes and good coffee with warm milk. Oranges and a juicer are a delight.

Room Tip: Our fourth floor double room #42 had exposed wood framing beams on one side. Very pretty, and handy for hanging jackets.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The staff were helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was super...everything we wanted and more, including a little electric juicer so we could make our own orange juice. The beds were perfection -- from the floaty duvet to the just-right pillow, to the extra padding on the mattress and the crisp, white cotton sheets. The location could not have bee better -- close to everything we wanted to see. And we loved the church bells -- all night and all day -- every 15 minutes. Reminded us we were in Europe.

Room Tip: We had a courtyard room and it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The location is excellent. The room was small and the bathroom was even smaller but this is Europe. The hotel was pieced together from 3 houses. The decore is nautical antique. The staff is great. The breakfeast is good. The only problem is the church rings their bells all night. The hotel has ear plugs available. We slept fine the first night after a long day of air travel but who needs the bells, don't they have watches in Sweden?

Room Tip: This is not a hotel for light sleepers.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews