We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apartments in the square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Ranked #33 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

First of all, this review is about one of the Apartments run by the Lady Hamilton hotel, not a room inside the hotel itself. To find it, search for Collectors Hotels and there's a link to apartments.

The location of the Miranda Apartment is great - at Skomakargatan 26 - you couldn't get more central if you tried. It is steps away from the old town square with the Nobel museum and the Cathedral.

But there are a few things to know before you book the Miranda or any of the three apartments beneath it. From the Collectors website there appear to be quite a few more apartments and I don't know where they are each located.

First, to get from the Lady Hamilton hotel (where you have to check in) to the apartment is a short walk across hostile cobblestones. A girl carried my small bag but I was left with my 22kg suitcase - I ended up carrying it above my head rather than risk breaking the wheels off my case - and they would have snapped off in seconds.

It's bad that the hotel doesn't provide any porter service. Just as bad, taxis rarely make it into the square (certainly they can't or won't make it to the front door) so you have to lug your bags back to the hotel to get a taxi. Top tip: when we saw a taxi in the square, we spoke directly to the driver and arranged a time for him to come back and pick us up, which was much easier than going back to the hotel reception. It's not a long walk at all but with bags over cobbles, it's a pain and (in the rain) potentially dangerous.

The other thing you should know is that the way up to the Miranda is a very old, winding, stone, spiral staircase all the way to the top floor, three or four floors up. I would NOT recommend this for elderly, infirm, obese or very unfit people. Put a foot wrong and you could have a nasty fall. Getting up and down this staircase with your suitcases is, fortunately, something you only have to do once. There is no elevator.

Note: As an apartment, there is no maid or housekeeping service, so keep things tidy!

The apartment is set over two floors, with most of the space upstairs. While it's big, the one problem with the unit is that there is not a full bathroom upstairs, just a toilet and basin (set in what looks and feels like a sound recording booth, with glass through which you can see and be seen!) Luckily I was upstairs on my own.

The unit needs a full bathroom upstairs because, as it is, everyone (up to four of you) is sharing the shower downstairs, which is far from ideal.

Also, again, it's a little spiral staircase between the two floors.

The apartment does have a washing machine (in the bathroom), which was very useful, and a small kitchen, which could do with bringing up to date (though there is a dishwasher if you need it). It's comfortably furnished in keeping with the old building.

Like everywhere in Stockholm, it's fairly expensive, but for three of us who wanted to be together in "our own place" and share drinks before dinner, that sort of thing, rather than be in separate hotel rooms, this place fitted the bill.

But please be aware of the logistics (the walk between hotel and apartment, and the winding staircase) before you book, because the hotel and website does not point this out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Lady Hamilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have stayed at the hotel many times, and have always met the same good service.
The hotel has a lot of character; lots of old things and curiosities can be found in the lobby, in the staircase, etc. The beds are comfortable and the bathroom fully refurbished. Located in the old town, the hotel is a good choice if you want to be close to both places of touristic interest and business (tube stop close by).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The interaction I had with staff, I found them to be very pleasant .
The receptionist Cecilia was most helpful and accommodating in aiding with managing my flight booking - checking in online and printing boarding passes which was really much appreciated and commend the same.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Siobhan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The Hotel Lady Hamilton is located very central, in the midst of the Gamla Stan (Old Town). A perfect location for doing sight-seeing, as it is almost next to the Royal Palace and just around the corner from the Storkyrkan (Cathedral). You are amidst of the colorful old-town with its cobble-stoned streets and historical houses. And the hotel is located in one of these characteristic historic houses. The building dates back the 1470s, at the time of Sten Sture the Elder. Since 1975 the property was turned into a hotel. The old feel of the house has however been preserved as it has been filled with a collection of antiques in the Swedish peasant style, both in the room and general areas of the hotel. The result is a hotel which oozes charm.

As with all hotels located in the Old Town the rooms are small, quite small indeed. So be prepared for that! We stayed on the third floor of the hotel, having a view far down on one of the charming cobble-stoned street and overlooking the red and yellowish painted historical houses across the road.

The beds were very comfortable, and although the room is small, they managed to squeeze a desk and a chair in a corner. WiFi, although a bit slow, worked perfectly. The bathroom was clean and had everything needed, but I have to admit that it was a little bit too cramped for my liking. The walls in the rooms are most likely very thick as not once I heard the noise of other guest. The only sound I heard was the bell-tower from a nearby church. A charming sound in my ears, with a delicate toll of the bells at regular intervals throughout the night.

Breakfast was so,so. I guess my disappointment had to be honest more to do with the presentation than the actual content of the breakfast. Because thinking logical, all was there you could expect, it only didn't feel like a full breakfast to me at the time.

The price for staying at this hotel is not cheap. But everything is relative, as all hotels in this part of Stockholm are very expensive. To be honest, the Lady Hamilton is in fact one of the cheaper ones in this part of town. So can I recommend the place? Absolutely! I enjoyed my stay very much! But when staying in this part of town I might prefer the Rica Hotel Gamla Stan. This hotel has the same atmosphere and also located in the Old Town. The differences are tiny, but somehow I did feel the Rica being the better one of the two. In favor for the Lady Hamilton is without a doubt its better location.

In the photo you can see the tower of the Cathedral (Storkyrkan). The building on the very right is the Lady Hamilton Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sim1_Travels2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

OK, this is not your usual business or even a tourist hotel. First of all, the place is shady. I mean it is as if the lighting is fixed to create shadows, behind chairs, in the corners, etc. If you like it bright, this is not the place.

Secondly, the hotel has the smell of old buildings. It is not dirty or dusty but it is just all those little old objects here and there must have collected this invisible dust or something. You know, the smell of old books or antique stores? Yes, that is what I am talking about.

The bed was super comfortable, the bathroom was renovated and beautiful. The room is quite small but this is to be expected in such European cities.

One thing that really bothered me was the fact that the window was facing the sky! So there was day light in the room but all I could see was the sky. Not even a roof or a branch! This was very annoying. (I stayed in room 45)

In the elevator there was a sign that said all women travelling alone will get a special surprise basket. However I got nothing...

The breakfast buffet was good. Sausages, scrambled eggs (a bit on the dry side) and crepes. Plus cereals, some cold cuts, cheeses, jam, butter, some fishy spread, tomatoes, cucumbers etc. The bread was good, so was the coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Hande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Great location in Gamla Stan. Charming hotel filled with many antiques. Breakfast was very good as well. Rooms are small but that is not uncommon in Europe. Very clean. Staff was helpful with the usual in dinner suggestions, etc. We had a medical emergency while there and I found the staff extremely helpful and empathetic. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Courtyard side is quieter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a quaint, European hotel meaning it's NOT the usual cookie-cutter Hyatt-style hotel, which is a positive in my book! Thick walls (so you don't hear your neighbor breathing), smallish, but well-appointed rooms (with heated bathroom floors!!), good breakfasts, efficient and friendly service.

Two things to consider before booking: the first is that it's situated very near a church with bells that sound EVERY 15 minutes (one bell at 15 after, two bells on the half, three at the quarter to and four on the hour PLUS whatever time it is). And they are somewhat loud. We got used to it (with the help of earplugs!) after a few nights, but if you're only staying one night and the windows are open it could be a problem.

The second is that it's in the middle of Old Town, which is the very touristy area (with crowds to match). That's both a positive and a potential negative, depending on what you're looking for. But, the walls are thick and we didn't find the crowd noise to be a problem ('course we were there in October, so I don't know what it's like in summer).

An excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
608 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
676 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#72 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#56 of 154 in Stockholm
1,333 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Sven Vintappare Hotel
Sven Vintappare Hotel
#81 of 154 in Stockholm
169 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lady Hamilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Hamilton Hotel

Address: 5 Storkyrkobrinken | Old Town, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen , Södermalm
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#39 Business Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £123 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lady Hamilton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With it's genuinely personal touch, the Lady Hamilton Hotel is a feminine and romantic hotel in a fantastic location next to the Royal Palace in Gamla Stan, Stockholm's Old Town. The hotel's charming personality goes hand in hand with the amazing collection of antiques in the Swedish peasant style, which decorates both public areas and hotel rooms. The Breakfast has a organic, fairtrade and homemade profile, and a selection of typical Swedish delicacies. The hotel's Sauna and Relax area with a Cold water plunge pool can be booked and used free of charge. There are also complimentary Coffe and Tea making facilities on all floors. In the Autumn, Winter and Spring the hotel serves Afternoon Tea during most weekends, for details please inquire upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Lady Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lady Hamilton Stockholm
Hotel Lady Hamilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing