We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel with perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Hasselbacken
Ranked #81 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed 1 night in the hotel on business. It is an average hotel with perfect location, several attractions at walking distance, just 50ms from skansen.
It is an old building but has been renovated. Average size room, good bed, silent location.
Air conditioning making constant noise during the night.
This is an average hotel, no major issues, it just that I found the price extrem, it was over 220 € for one night. For this you would expect much more but guess this is Sweden so that's why it is so expensive.
Bar, restaurant quite nice, has a special atmosphere. Breakfast is nice, big choice and a view on the water.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Szilvia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 691 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a work event.
The hotel is a little way away from the station from the airport, closer to a waterfront and only 500 yards from the Abba Museum!
The taxis don't really know how to get there, both myself and a colleague had taxis who reversed down the one way road.
Arriving in the dark I wasn't sure if I was at the right hotel as it didn't resemble any of the pictures and felt a little odd. I had a room where you went up a floor in the elevator, down the hall and back down some stairs. I guess it must be because its an old building and they've modernised some bits but not all.
The room was ok, I didn't like the wood flooring but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, it was very quiet and the showers were amazing. There is free wifi too.
Breakfast was good, very Scandinavian and the restaurant has a great view, although service was rubbish.
The function room was very grand and the function spaces got to the heart of the history of the building.
If the price is good and you're ok with the location, its an ok hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and looking over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMacL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed at Scandic Hasselbacken for two nights on a business trip in september. Hotel is undergoing outdoor maintenance, so the visual appearance wasn't that good, but the hotel fits nicely in with the other buildings in the area. Close to Circus, the variety theater and Skansen scene and museum, and off course Gröna Lund, the amusement park. The area also has the newly refurbished dock area with nice, small cafees and fancy restaurants. Not to mention the Vasa museum; fantastic!
Close to Stocholm downtown in a quiet area.
The hotel has nice bar and restaurant areas, and the room were very clean and tidy.

Room Tip: Do NOT accept the rooms from 201-208 if you need an elevator to get to the room, because this sectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reidarkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

If you want to be away from city rush, but still a block away this is the place to be.
The staff are very helpful and kind.
Breakfast is great. if the weather allows you can eat in the beautiful garden.
The area is nice and quite, near Skansen and a great park, but still not so far from city center.
Transportation is just outside the hotel.
The only thing bother us was the double bed which was 2 separated one and moved all the time, and there was no clock.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tampepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were here for a wedding.
The grounds are great we were very blessed with the weather so was able to sit outside most of the time.
Rooms the one we stayed in was very small lacked spaces to put our clothes but the cleanliness wasn't as good as it could of been but we were never in the room for long. The bed was comfortable.
Breakfast was more than adequate plenty of choice.
The wedding reception was held here too and the room was decorated beautifully and the food was delicious.
We had a fantastic time and would like to thank again the lady on reception that. Went out of her way to try and order us a pizza Sunday night as everywhere was closed for dinner she was great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doylelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Just opposite the new ABBA museum, Grona Lund. No 7 tram into city centre in less than 10 minutes. Lovely traditional hotel. Only thing lacking is no tea/coffee making facility in the room. Good location for other museums and the Aquaria was a great way to spend the last few hours of our trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a very well located hotel. Situated in the lovely Durgarden, near to the amusement park and several good museums including the excellent Skansen practically next door. You can walk to the main shopping area or the Old Town in between 15-30 minutes or hop on the tram which stops right outside. We found rooms are clean unlike some other reviewers, average size, with good bathrooms. The buffet breakfast offers good choice and is regularly replenished. The restaurant menu is somewhat limited. Don't go if you don't like kids. When we were staying there were a lot of families with young children and breakfast time was hectic. One word of warning - there are building works going on and a large number of rooms cannot open windows as they are covered by scaffolding and plastic. We had to ask to move. Check before you go.

Room Tip: book early for a good rate, chose a superior extra room which is bigger with extras and only a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter51_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#74 of 154 in Stockholm
746 reviews
Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Villa Kallhagen Hotel
Villa Kallhagen Hotel
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Sure Hotel Collection by Best Western Hotel Esplanade
Hotel Skeppsholmen
#3 of 154 in Stockholm
1,325 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#55 of 154 in Stockholm
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hasselbacken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hasselbacken

Address: 20 Hazeliusbacken, Stockholm 115 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £126 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hasselbacken 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Restored Hotel on Royal Djurgarden, near museums & art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hasselbacken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hasselbacken Stockholm
Scandic Hasselbacken Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing