We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in beautiful surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Hasselbacken
Ranked #80 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We - a family of five, two adults and three children, 15, 12 years and 9 months - stayed one night at this hotel in a family room.
The over all impression is that it is a great hotel if you want to be nearby the mandatory tourist attractions like Gröna Lund, Skansen and such. Next to Gröna Lund you can take the boat to the royal castle and old town.

We got what we wanted. A clean room with beds for four. The beds were comfortable.
The family room is on the bottom floor, so if you go here in the summer and want the view, you wont get it there. We did not mind since the winter weather is grey and it gets dark very early. We only wanted to sleep there.

The only downer is that a family room would need a microwave oven for heating food to a infant. The waste bin could also be bigger. There is a lot of waste with diapers and such. Of course we realize that not all family's travels with infants, but we did, and therefore its a downer.

We would stay here again if we go to Djurgården area.

Breakfast was OK with all you need.

The price is reasonable because of the location.

Room Tip: The family room we got was on the bottom floor with no view. We did not check if there was any on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ch00dA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    257
    152
    70
    40
See reviews for
289
158
10
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kauniainen, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Scandic Hotel Hasselbacken is a nice historical building with an excellent location next to Skansen and Gröna Lund and several museums & attractions.
The breakfast room is beautiful and the morning buffet is good. The wireless network is free of charge and works well all around the building.
Hotel Hasselbacken will be one of my favorite hotel in Stockholm.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mielikki68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavle, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Perfect location if you shall visit Skansen, Gröna Lund, The Abba Museum or the theater Cirkus.
Nice and service minded staff. Good size room ("family room") with comfortable beds.
Great breakfast in the restaurant with a very nice view. We also spent the evening in the restaurant having a very tasty Christmasdinner.
We stayed here in december and will come back in spring or summer. I think you can enjoy the surroundings even more then. For example take a walk around Djurgården.

Room Tip: The family-rooms or 3-bed rooms are in good size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villejust, France
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel is ideally place next to Skansen (the famous park where you can visit the Christmas market, the scandinavian animals, old farms and old way of life) and also next to the park and ABBA museum.
It is a quiet one, not very modern but fine enough. Rooms are pretty small for the price.
The breakfast is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This hotel is situated on a small hill about a mile away from the city centre. The road up to it is one way but most taxi drivers don't realise this! It is an older-style hotel with just five floors. The check-in was efficient and the room looked comfortable. It took a while to find the hidden wardrobe but it was not worth the effort as the hanging rail was just 16 cms long. Just as well my wife was not travelling with me. The room had twin comfortable beds with good lighting and there was a good desk area with free, but not sparkling speed, wifi. There were no coffee/tea facilities but there was an ironing board.

The air conditioning was most annoying. There was no indication of the temperature, just a simple +/- dial and there was no way to switch off the quite noisy fan.

Arriving fairly late I went down to the bar. The immediate area around the bar is very small, and the barman had long since forgotten how to smile. There is a larger lounge area but has chairs that at first look child size, and are not at all comfortable. There was an event of some sort going on and space in the lounge area for residents was very limited. The main reception area also has limited seating if you are waiting for a colleague or a taxi.

I did however sleep well once I had got used to the fan noise. Breakfast was excellent, though along with a number of other people I waited at the desk to be seated only to find that did not apply to breakfast. Each of the breakfast tables in the ornate dining room had a candle in the centre, and the tablecloth was badly marked with candle grease. Uninspiring! Smiles were also totally absent from the few staff visible in the room. The view from the restaurant is good but does not offset the dowdy feeling of the room. The evening menu seemed rather limited but no-one in their right mind would eat in rather than going out into the city, which is about a 10 minute ride on the Number 7 tram from close by the hotel.

Overall I'm glad this was a one-night stay that a client was paying for! The hotel seemed to have no warmth about it and the staff seemed to be going through the motions rather than making a point of being welcoming to guests. As with a number of recent stays in Scandic hotels I sense that none of the senior Scandic executives have stayed here for a while and asked themselves whether the hotel is as good as they (hopefully) would like it to be.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stockholm hotels

Gyor, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed 1 night in the hotel on business. It is an average hotel with perfect location, several attractions at walking distance, just 50ms from skansen.
It is an old building but has been renovated. Average size room, good bed, silent location.
Air conditioning making constant noise during the night.
This is an average hotel, no major issues, it just that I found the price extrem, it was over 220 € for one night. For this you would expect much more but guess this is Sweden so that's why it is so expensive.
Bar, restaurant quite nice, has a special atmosphere. Breakfast is nice, big choice and a view on the water.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szilvia133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed here for one night as part of a work event.
The hotel is a little way away from the station from the airport, closer to a waterfront and only 500 yards from the Abba Museum!
The taxis don't really know how to get there, both myself and a colleague had taxis who reversed down the one way road.
Arriving in the dark I wasn't sure if I was at the right hotel as it didn't resemble any of the pictures and felt a little odd. I had a room where you went up a floor in the elevator, down the hall and back down some stairs. I guess it must be because its an old building and they've modernised some bits but not all.
The room was ok, I didn't like the wood flooring but it was clean, the beds were comfortable, it was very quiet and the showers were amazing. There is free wifi too.
Breakfast was good, very Scandinavian and the restaurant has a great view, although service was rubbish.
The function room was very grand and the function spaces got to the heart of the history of the building.
If the price is good and you're ok with the location, its an ok hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and looking over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMacL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Pop House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Villa Kallhagen Hotel
Villa Kallhagen Hotel
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
397 reviews
Slussen
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
Scandic Sjofartshotellet
#75 of 154 in Stockholm
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#44 of 154 in Stockholm
668 reviews
Ostermalm
Scandic Anglais
Scandic Anglais
#76 of 154 in Stockholm
1,075 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
First Hotel Reisen
First Hotel Reisen
#58 of 154 in Stockholm
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hasselbacken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hasselbacken

Property: Scandic Hasselbacken
Address: 20 Hazeliusbacken, Stockholm 115 21, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Djurgarden & Djurgardsbrunn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hasselbacken 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully Restored Hotel on Royal Djurgarden, near museums & art galleries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Scandic Hasselbacken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hasselbacken Stockholm
Scandic Hasselbacken Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing