We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant for the price... but blimey the cabins are small!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Brilliant for the price... but blimey the cabins are small!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Yes I would stay there again, but probably only if I was on my own. The cabins are fine but very tiny and this can get a bit annoying when sharing with someone else, even the strongest relationship will be tested by the space and the inevitable clutter once you open your suitcase.

That said I was very happy with the hotel. The bathrooms are also very small but modern and very very clean. The bathroom is basically a wet room but there is nothing wrong with that. The space in front of the toilet is suitable for a child, but you might find yourself sat on the toilet seat sideways as I am NOT tall and my knees were touching the wall!

We stayed in a room with bunk beds and I was 'lucky' enough to get the top bunk. There is only about 2 feet between the mattress and the roof and slightly disconcertingly there were no bed rails on the top bunk, but all was fine. The room was a bit too warm, there was air conditioning throught out but there was no option to control the temperature, I noticed there was a heater in the room so it seems you can regulate the heat but not the cold! In all fairness the weather was over 23C and muggy outside. There is a TV in the room with some American type channels and BBC News. The rooms are very quiet, we didnt hear any other guests apart from when they closed their cabin door. The port hole window can be closed to create a blackout blind so we got a cracking nights sleep.

My biggest grumble was that there was no kettle in the room, I really did miss this. Breakfast was really nice, it was continental, the table was constantly attended and topped up and the breakfast area/room kept clean.

The location is amazing, right on the edge of the old town, but far enough away to not be bothered by any of the noise or bustle of the area. There is also a lovely little out door cafe just outside the reception entrance that offers lovely homemade cakes! We didnt try the restaurant on the boat because we didnt think it would have much of an atmosphere, but we didnt even venture up there to check it out so cant pass any comment on that one.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    403
    144
    25
    12
See reviews for
103
316
143
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The marketing for this hotel takes you back to the heady days of society millionaire's daughter Barbara Hutton. However the connection with the ritzy past of this yacht ends there! The yacht is now a reasonably priced budget hotel in the centre of Stockholm that is need of a little love and attention. The good points for this hotel are the location, the breakfast and the bathroom is pretty reasonable (although the toilet is virtually in the shower). The hotel arguably has all you need when taking a city break - the price is fantastic for Stockholm and the location is brilliant - it is easy to access Gamla Stan (the old town) - it is a short walk. Gamla Stan is THE place to visit in Stockholm, so it is ideal for that and is on the harbour and access to beautiful views and lovely walks. The room was very quiet and you can't hear sounds from other cabins.

The downside is the size of the cabin (room) is that it is small....very small!! Also, don't expect a romantic night as the double room are bunk beds!! There was no kettle in the room or drinking facilities which was a shame, so you can't make a drink unless you want to pay the reception for a rubbish coffee for £2!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Razzaline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caceres, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Starting by its location, this place is all of an experience if you want to be close to everything in a nice environment and as part of a different accommodation.

It is clean, it is one of the best ones of its style -from what I´ve seen- and with nice decoration -very suitable indeed-, and quality-price is the right one. You get a discount in the restaurant for a dinner.

Rooms well equiped and good breakfast served in a nice room.

Staff is really nice, specially the one in the afternoons, never got to know his name, but if they actually read this, just would like to thank him for his nice service.

The sauna is private and you have to book it in advance. It is free for the customers.

I stayed in a sailor´s cabin and it was not so small as it might be thought. I spent 6 nights in there, actually, and was not a problem at all. Make sure you insist in getting one of these small ones where the windows (mine had two, actually) can be opened and with views to the water. You can nearly touch it!!

There is a cafe just opposite to it. You are close to the subway station, and to the central big one. You don´t have all the busy atmophere of Gamla Stan, but are two minutes away from it. Location, just perfect.
//
Bien ubicado y buena relación calidad precio.
La habitación más pequeña (sailor´s cabin) es acogedora y está bien equipada, además de limpia.
Asegúrate de que te dan una con ventana que pueda abrirse y con vistas al agua, y verás que casi puedes tocar el agua con tus manos!!
El desayuno está bien, completito, y se sirve arriba en una bien decorada sala.
La sauna es privada, y se reserva con antelación (mejor hacerlo en la mañana) y puedes usarla hasta las 23h prácticamente, después de un duro día de turismo, viene genial. Tiene ducha también dentro.
El personal es muy amable, sobre todo el de por las tardes.
En general muy bien, y su localización es estupenda, cerca de la estación de metro y la central, cerca del bullicio de Gamla Stan y a un paso de todo lo importante. Hay un café frente al hotel, justo con vistas al Ayuntamiento (donde se dan los Nobel).
Recomendable, sin duda.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EsmeraldaFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2012

we booked this hotel, well knowing what we could expect. when you book a "sailor's room" you know you won't get the "owners' cabin"!. the (bunk)beds were very comfortable, the cabin was small but cosy. in contrast to other reviewers, we could open the windows easily! as other reviewers mentioned before: the location is the BEST in Stockholm! we will certainly return in the future and recommend this hotel extremely!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juffran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I booked this hotel because it was 'different' being a boat! I was also aiming for somewhere fairly central and was pleased to find it was a 10 minute stroll from Central Station. As a 3 star I expected basic accommodation and small rooms as they are of course cabins. The room was compact but certainly more spacious than I had expected. We stayed for 2 nights at the end of an 11 day trip so we had quite a bit of luggage. We were pleased to discover there was room to store our bags, and a wardrobe to hang our clothes. We had an Officers Cabin, so we had 3 small windows and a double bed. The bed was comfy, and there was even space for both a bedside table and a small table and 2 chairs. The en suite was clean and newly refurbished. It was an ideal room for a city break where you are out and about most of the time. It was pleasant and comfortable to return to at the end of the evening. The sauna was well presented, and you booked it in advance for your own private use. There was a shower and space to change afterwards so you didn't have to parade around the hallways in your towel to get back to your room! We were also provided with fresh towels for the sauna in addition to the ones we used in the room.

Breakfast was served in a light and airy room and the selection was magnificent. We didn't try the restaurant but I perused the menu and thought the pricing was reasonable for Stockholm.

The staff were polite, friendly and very helpful.

We were close enough to walk to all the attractions Stockholm has to offer, which is a great benefit as it's a beautiful city to walk around.

Overall a good experience and although not the most luxurious accommodation it was excellent value for money. I would recommend this to couples and friends who intend on spending their time in Stockholm out and about, but who enjoy a good breakfast selection and want to be central without spending a fortune!

Room Tip: I would say it is worth going for an Officers Cabin and if you email the hotel you can request a do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

The location makes the fantastic city of Stockholm very walk able.
The cabins are small, we had a twin with about 2' between the beds. But the shower room was modern and the shower was fab.
The whole boat decor is rather tired and sadly not in a shabby chic way. The breakfast buffet was adequate.
The staff seemed reserved which can appear rude and disinterested. We were told someone would come to see if our port hole could be opened but no one appeared. Apparently only some port holes open, so I would avoid staying here in hotter months as no independent conditioning in cabins.
It is also next to a long term construction site although we were not disturbed by any noise.
But I would stay here again as the location is so convenient and an oasis of calm in the evening looking out over the water.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyViewsOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

This boat hotel is one of the coolest lodging experiences. It's a converted boat. The rooms are tinsy tiny, but I don't spend too much time in the hotel rooms anyway. It's close to EVERYTHING. The bathrooms are small, but the beds were comfortable and the rates were reasonable. The staff was friendly and the place was clean.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#94 of 154 in Stockholm
261 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
578 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#46 of 154 in Stockholm
651 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#27 of 154 in Stockholm
462 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#74 of 154 in Stockholm
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing