We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place on Gamla Stan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Awesome place on Gamla Stan”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

What a great place to stay! The location is probably the best in Stockholm and great views across the water. The room was small but enough space for me and my bags - the charm and character of the room and the boat more than makes up for the small space. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the dining area was another great elegant space on the boat. 5 minute walk and you are in Gamla Stan with many restaurants and bars and shops. Also easy 5min walk to the Metro station. Great deal for Stockholm as well; I was in town for work and everyone else I know paid $30-$50 more than I did for my room (in USD) and all were jealous after seeing the pictures my hotel/boat. I wouldn't stay anywhere else on future trips to Stockholm - will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms are small. If you are worried about this, book somewhere else instead of booking here, fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rungeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    405
    145
    25
    12
See reviews for
103
319
145
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

the yatch hotel is highly overpriced and you get nothing in return. the location is good if you see the day and dark in the night with no restaurants etc nearby.first the room that was given did not have wifi, so the lady at reception said that you can use it at the reception. i had to scold her that i did not pay so much to use internet at reception then my room was changed. then in the new room there was electricity running on the metal doors and the handles which the receptionist refused explaining that in sweden everything is insulated. madame, even i come from a country where everything is insulated but not our brains. after that when i returned in the evening, there were about 50 people gathered at the recption with no place to walk and were have a drinks party.common u should use th bar or the restaurant for that. why causing inconvenience to the people? i would say a big NO to this place. there are better places at lower prices than this over rated place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungIndianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Staying on this yacht makes you feel like you're in an glamourous movie from back in the day. The maritime setup is very charming. The reception staff is very helpful. The hotel is in a GREAT location. The room, though small, was very comfortable. The fact that they have a sauna is a HUGE PLUS!!! I'd definitely recommend staying here. I'll be back!

Room Tip: Floors below main deck have poor wifi reception. I was moved to a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyladytravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Really unusual place to stay compared to the usual hotels. We booked a 1st officers cabin, very warm & cosy. Ensuite facilities, good shower. The boat is full of character & little nooks to enjoy a quiet drink, I would definitely stay again. Great location within walking distance of most the main attractions

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RicksterinTroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our stay at Mälardrottningen was really enjoyable. The atmosphere at the yacht was amazing. Everything from service to the condition of the cabin was excellent. The location is amazing; you can reach all important places by walking. We also enjoyed the breakfast. Only negative point was that we were staying at Purser's cabin which didn't include double bed. The bunk beds were bigger than bunks usually but still small and not so comfortable. Still this was just a minor flaw. Overall experience was excellent and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Aku P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in early September. The hotel is in a great location close to the old town.
We had a pursers cabin which was compact but very comfortable.
The restaurant on board offers superb swedish cuisine and the breakfasts are of a good standard.Staff are helpful and courteous.
If you want to step back in time to the 1920s and enjoy the experience of staying on a private yacht then you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davideHoveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel because the location looked ideal for sight seeing, and it was. You can easily walk to the Palace, the Old City, etc. There is a subway station close by if you want to travel further. Only one stop away from Central Station.

We had the Staff Salon, which was very spacious and had two single beds instead of bunks. The bathroom was small, as you expect on a boat, but very functional. Originally we had booked a smaller room, but were upgraded, which is always nice. Very quiet except for the sounds of water lapping which we enjoyed.

Service was nice and friendly, and we were given good advice about public transport and restaurants.

Only small problem was breakfast. A big group of German football fans were staying there too and they eat a lot of breakfast. The buffet area is narrow, so not much room, and the serving dishes only hold small amounts. The staff could not keep up with demand. We gave up trying to get anything other than bread. If they are going to accommodate large groups, then the management needs to change the way they serve breakfast.

Other than that, a really nice spot to stay, especially if you like boats!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AvrilN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#93 of 154 in Stockholm
264 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
594 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#47 of 154 in Stockholm
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
258 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,048 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing