We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest rooms but the location makes up for everything else”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Modest rooms but the location makes up for everything else”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

There are plenty of boat hotels in Stockholm, If that's why you want to stay here, you can certainly look at other places as well. However, this hotel enjoys a location that most others do not. It is within walking distance from Central Station. GamlaStan is also just across the bridge from the hotel so you are right in the center of everything. Also, the views across the water are far better from this side, trust me!

Rooms: Very small, but I suppose I should have expected that anyway. My friend and I opted for bunk beds which was fine except that it was virtually impossible to climb onto the higher bed. There's a ladder but no room to actually move it around and use it! Other furnishings and amenities are basic but adequate. After reading reviews here, I made sure we picked a room on the main level (and not lower level). Thanks to this, we had good wifi throughout our stay. The bathroom was so tiny that I struggled to use the sink (and I'm just 5'6!). Room service was prompt and efficient though.

Breakfast:A variety of breads, some meats, cheeses, fruit juices, coffee, tea, swedish pancakes, scrambled eggs and cereal. Basic but quite filling.

Concierge:VERY helpful and always ready to offer suggestions for shopping/dining etc.

Tip to find the boat: Walk behind Ridderholmen Church and you'll find the boat docked across the parking lot. I had some trouble finding it initially since the maps were not of much help (but it was also getting dark).

Overall: Great value for money considering that every hotel in Stockholm is ridiculously expensive!

Room Tip: Pick a room on the main or upper levels if you plan to use wifi. The stairs are small and narrow. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vikramts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    405
    145
    25
    12
See reviews for
103
319
145
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, just minutes walk from Gamla Stan. Very nice atmosphere. Rooms are naturally a bit small. It could be an issue to move inside the bathroom especially in single rooms.

It is one of the best options if you like to stay in Stockholm for a 3-4 days touristic visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank AhTunG
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

A few mins walk from nearest Metro station and good access to the whole of Stockholm. Stayed in a double cabin which really was very small, and any view from our single porthole was obstructed by the walkway leading from land to reception. Such a shame. Room was tiny - I could lay across flat and touch both walls. I know you get what you pay for, but I considered it a fair price so would have expected a bigger room. Not a problem as we only stayed one night but I imagine had we spent any longer than the minimum time necessary in that room it would have felt very claustrophobic. Breakfast was average, views from the restaurant are nice. Perfectly fine for a short stay but would not want to spend any longer than sleeping time in the room we had booked.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blowy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here from 23-26/1/14. Very close to everything, even walked to the other side of stockholm by tv tower in under 40mins. Cooked breakfast was great lots of bacon and eggs!! Very good views over stockholm!! Recommend!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Strainers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I loved staying here, the hotel has a lovely character, staff were friendly and helpful, my room(113) was cosy, clean had everything i needed. The location is fab, waling distance to most things and right in the old town which was beautiful. I also ate in the on-board restaurant which was very good and reasonably priced, i recommend the fish stew. Breakfast was also very good. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I didn't have a sea view but as i wasn't there during daylight hours this was no problem. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lp23egg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2014

great location, very close to the old town/shopping area. rooms are small but fine if you're out and about. Breakfast good. Reastaurant and bar closed during our visit (early jan). Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
1 Thank JLT263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lund, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

The rooms were really small and uncomfortable but the boat/hotel is well situated. The service was not good at all, for instance one of us forgot our Iphone at the hotel, called immediately from the airport and was very bad treated. We managed to get help at last after almost two weeks of calls to different staff members, including the CEO. The breakfast was ok and you sat in a nice surrounding.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Mariatorget
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
The Red Boat Hotel & Hostel
#92 of 154 in Stockholm
264 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Victory Hotel
Victory Hotel
#10 of 154 in Stockholm
594 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Scandic Gamla Stan
Scandic Gamla Stan
#48 of 154 in Stockholm
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lord Nelson Hotel
Lord Nelson Hotel
#73 of 154 in Stockholm
257 reviews
Södermalm
Motel L
Motel L
#8 of 154 in Stockholm
2,049 reviews
Gamla Stan & Riddarholmen
Lady Hamilton Hotel
Lady Hamilton Hotel
#33 of 154 in Stockholm
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant
Address: Riddarholmen, Stockholm 111 28, Sweden (Formerly Malardrottningen Hotel and Restaurant)
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Stockholm
#23 Family Hotel in Stockholm
#44 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Malardrottningen or that the ship is really called: Lady Hutton, began its journey in 1924 and no one knows where or when it ends. With its amazing history, she has managed to take care of Barbara Hutton, the British Navy, traveled around the world and since 1982 moored at Riddarholms Quay. The Yacht has 61 cabins, sauna, restaurant and is perhaps best known for the latter. The restaurant with the beautiful view of Malaren, serves Scandinavian dishes using only the best ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Malardrottningen Yacht Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malardrottningen Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing