We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #64 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

We ended a amazing vacation with a stay at this hotel. It was a perfect ending. The staff could not do enough to help us. They even upgraded our room to a suite. Every staff member had a smile on their face and an offer to assist us with our needs. The Berns is in a great location, near parks, muesums, shops and restaurants. Their restaurant is dazzling to see, although we did not dine there(it is Asian and we wanted to experience Swedish food). It is truly a European chic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zimme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    239
    79
    48
    28
See reviews for
56
225
47
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Sat at the airport as I write. I have not slept in 48 hours and so am very tired but at the same time elated to be leaving this poor hotel. When first arriving you a met with a tiny and unwelcoming reception area. The room furnishing and decor is tired and badly needs renovation. However the staff try very hard in difficult circumstances (they face numerous complaints every day). We were initially given a room below the grade we had booked but this was sorted out 7 hours later at 8pm. We thought the difficulties were behind us - not so. When we returned from dinner the cocktail club on the sixth floor and the disco were in full swing. The disco not ceasing to vibrate the Walls and floors until 3am. At 7 am a bunch of workmen arrived to dismantle a marque. I complained and was told that the hotels income was mainly derived from the disco and not the room guests and there was nothing they could do to help. I was one night into a 4 night stay. Faced with three more sleepless nights I elected to leave. This hotels fails to meet the three basis for any hotel. Clean rooms, clean and not threadbare furniture and finally to treat their guests to a peaceful nights sleep. BERNS IS A DISCO NOT A HOTEL. Thank you Mr and Mrs Smith this is probably your worst hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at ally
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review us, something we always appreciated as it allows us to improve our service / product further. I truly apologize that we did not live up to your expectations this time.
It makes me sad and it surprises me. As for Berns Hotel Cocktail club on 6th floor, it was opening that day and I myself was in place. The party ended at 22.00.
Being a hotel located right in the city means sound of city life, if you want a quite place I suggest choosing a hotel outside the city
As for furniture, the hotel is now undergoing a complete renovation and all new rooms will be ready in the end of this year
Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review
Warm Regards
Anna Bengtsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsvinger, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We are 10 norwegian women(age 65+) who visited this wonderful hotel ,may 29.-31.2012
Everything was much more briliant than expected! The rooms, the saloons,wonderful Maya,always smiling,doing the very best for us,as well as the other friendly persons in the staff at the hotel.Exellent beds and healthy breakfast. Quiet, although we lived in the absolute center to everything in this lovely city.
We will highly recommend this hotel and we are all looking forward to our next visit !

Room Tip: We had our rooms towards the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
86 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed in a small room. Very cosy, homey,very thought through planning, beautiful attention to detail, very good min-bar selection. Staff is remarkably helpful out of their way. Located in the centre, walking distance from almost everywhere.
Breakfast in the restaurant is a must!

Room Tip: ask for a room not looking inside the internal courtyard - you can hear Berns' nightclub music t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heggedal, Akershus, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Briliant staff, very nice room (upgraded) and a very good dinner in Berns Asian Cousine.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dag J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This isn't just a - highly agreeable - "normal hotel" with extremely friendly, helpful and competent staff, conveniently located and with an adequate price level. It is an architectural jewel with all the splendors of a bygone era. When taking your breakfast in one of "Berns Salonger" you'll enjoy all the gilded charms of the "Belle epoque" and you might feel as if August Strindberg could turn up any moment. (In fact, his "Röda rummet" is part of the building).
There is, however, some reason for concern: Certain "modern" additions (a revolving staircase made of steel, some seats and tables that do not fit with the red velvet charm of the rest etc), indicate that this jewel might not be as highly appreciated by its owners as it is with art lovers and architectural historians. Let's hope that we are mistaken - Berns salonger are in fact a protected landmark. But better go and experience them as soon as possible.

Renate and Robert Schediwy

P.S. Some people have complained about a noise problem at Berns Hotel. We did not notice any such thing. Our room (507) was perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We'd visited Stockholm before and wanted a good central location. The Berns Hotel turned out to be a fantastic choice and made many of the city sights easy to walk to. The staff at the Berns were very attentive, friendly and helpful. Your slightest need is taken care graciously and efficiently. We can not overstate just how wonderful the staff at the Berns made or trip. We stayed in one of the top floor rooms (6th floor) with a great city view and a nice outdoor deck - which we used every day during our stay in late April 2012. We previously stayed at the nearby Grand Hotel, and prefer the Berns Hotel now we have stayed in both. The room we had at the Berns had free wifi, which generally worked fine, but was spotty once or twice - typical for hotel wifi. The included continental breakfast was more complete than most "continental" fair, with juices, coffee, designer teas, granolas and cereals, fruit, pastries and breads, pancakes, sausages, eggs, etc., etc. Our room was very large (by any standard), quiet and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was large by European standards.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms with a view and very large outdoor deck are well worth the small cost of an upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Augsburg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#9 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#4 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#21 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#45 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing