We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice rooms and free clubbing included”
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #71 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice rooms and free clubbing included”
Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

If you're not familiair in Stockholm and would also want to go out in a club this is your choice. We were able to check in early on request, got our breakfast for free when we booked directly and als didn't have to que for the line at their popular and nice club with free entrance for hotelguests.
Forbus the perfect mix of location, interior, facing a nice park/square and very friendly staff.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHague_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    244
    83
    50
    30
See reviews for
61
233
48
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

we spent 4 nights at this lovely hotel. the location is perfect. you can walk everywhere from it. the rooms are delightfully decorated and large and the front desk are always happy to help out. the breakfast is served in a grand dining room which makes you feel quite royal infact. for those who enjoy a late night, there is a nightclub within the hotel which gets very busy on the weekends and was an enjoyable experience for us. the charm exuded by the berns hotel in stockholm will have you pining more for trips there and it is definately worth a visit.

Room Tip: take the slightly larger rooms .. they are worth the extra splash out !
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank shesim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The hotel is upscale, yet takes the steps to make guests feel comfortable. It remains my favorite hotel outside the US.

Room Tip: The berns hotel has an amazing location a mere steps from many of the attractions you will want to v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBDmarketing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a great and historical hotel in the heart of Stockholm right by part of the harbour with great transport links and access to restaurants, boat trips and loads of the museums, easy to walk up to the Vasa and Skansen and lots of other lovely places.

The dining room was stunning with its chandeliers, wood carvings and balconies and there was a decent breakfast with a number of different food choices. You could also sit outside or in the sun terrace.

The reception staff were charming and helpful and when we complained about our first room looking out onto a brick wall and being tiny, we were moved to a splendid room on the 5th floor. We had paid for a medium size room and think this was a mix-up anyway. The new room had two tiny balconies with a view over Stockholm's skyline and a small sitting area. There were mirrors everywhere (even the full wall opposite the toilet!) and on the back of the large screen TV at the end of the bed which we think could be swivelled round so you could see it from the settee instead. I did have to do a bit of dusting when I moved the glasses and nuts from one shelf to a smaller one so I could utilise it for teeshirts. There was not much, but just enough storage space and room to unpack and get the cases out of the way. There was also enough room in the mini-bar fridge to put in milk and water and there was a safe. The only inconvenience was, there being no drinks maker we had taken our own kettle but there was no accessible plug near the desk to put it on we had to have it on the floor by the bed. The only downer was, having a busy disco and performance area (they apparently have some big name entertainers on from time to time) we were disturbed by the boom boom of a bass until 4.00 am but our friends two doors away didn't notice it. The reception staff were really helpful though the breakfast was understaffed and not quite so helpful. I had to wait a while to start eating until they restocked the cutlery tray, for example.

Overall we were really happy in this hotel and it was a great base to explore Stockholm from.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors to avoid the bleak outlook on the wall on the 2nd floor and also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was my favorite hotel I stayed in while traveling around Sweden. The huge windows in the room made everything seem open and modern. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was large enough and very clean.
The whole hotel was very clean and welcoming. There was a charm about this place that you don't feel everywhere. On my next trip to Stockholm I would not hesitate to stay here again.
The included breakfast was not what American's are used to but it was very good and all one really needs for breakfast!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjds71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We ended a amazing vacation with a stay at this hotel. It was a perfect ending. The staff could not do enough to help us. They even upgraded our room to a suite. Every staff member had a smile on their face and an offer to assist us with our needs. The Berns is in a great location, near parks, muesums, shops and restaurants. Their restaurant is dazzling to see, although we did not dine there(it is Asian and we wanted to experience Swedish food). It is truly a European chic hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zimme3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Sat at the airport as I write. I have not slept in 48 hours and so am very tired but at the same time elated to be leaving this poor hotel. When first arriving you a met with a tiny and unwelcoming reception area. The room furnishing and decor is tired and badly needs renovation. However the staff try very hard in difficult circumstances (they face numerous complaints every day). We were initially given a room below the grade we had booked but this was sorted out 7 hours later at 8pm. We thought the difficulties were behind us - not so. When we returned from dinner the cocktail club on the sixth floor and the disco were in full swing. The disco not ceasing to vibrate the Walls and floors until 3am. At 7 am a bunch of workmen arrived to dismantle a marque. I complained and was told that the hotels income was mainly derived from the disco and not the room guests and there was nothing they could do to help. I was one night into a 4 night stay. Faced with three more sleepless nights I elected to leave. This hotels fails to meet the three basis for any hotel. Clean rooms, clean and not threadbare furniture and finally to treat their guests to a peaceful nights sleep. BERNS IS A DISCO NOT A HOTEL. Thank you Mr and Mrs Smith this is probably your worst hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at ally
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaBengtsson, Hotel Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time to review us, something we always appreciated as it allows us to improve our service / product further. I truly apologize that we did not live up to your expectations this time.
It makes me sad and it surprises me. As for Berns Hotel Cocktail club on 6th floor, it was opening that day and I myself was in place. The party ended at 22.00.
Being a hotel located right in the city means sound of city life, if you want a quite place I suggest choosing a hotel outside the city
As for furniture, the hotel is now undergoing a complete renovation and all new rooms will be ready in the end of this year
Again, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review
Warm Regards
Anna Bengtsson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#20 of 154 in Stockholm
1,334 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#11 of 154 in Stockholm
283 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,491 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#24 of 154 in Stockholm
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#50 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing