We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FAB” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #64 of 158 Hotels in Stockholm
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FAB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Tastefully furnished Medium room on the fifth floor with two French balconies. Fab design, nice colours and convenient room. Fantastic location - close to everything. Very nice and fresh breakfast buffet in the restaurant with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. In good weather it is nice to sit outside enjoying your breakfast on the terrace. Restaurant "Berns Asiatiska" is really worth a visit for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. Delicious Asian food and good value for money. Staff in both the Hotel and the Restaurant is professional and personal.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eriksberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    239
    79
    48
    29
See reviews for
57
225
47
184
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

I've wanted to stay at the Berns for over a year, since the last time I visited Stockholm when I had lunch in the hotel.
After staying there for 4 nights in Sept 2012, it is the first time I have struggled to write a review as I have two opposing views on the Berns Hotel.

I found that the Berns as a hotel, a location, and as exterior and interior public spaces to be beautiful and amazing, absolutely everything I thought it would be.
YET, I found the Berns as a hotel room; a place to sleep, distinctly average and overall I found the room to be a real let down.

ROOMS:
We stayed in a Medium room with a french balcony. This cost 2700 SEK (£253 GBP) per night for 4 nights. Unfortunately these rooms are not at all impressive:
For a hotel room in the design capital of Scandinavia, in the Berns Hotel, a decedent, opulent place: this room was definitely bland & average.
The decoration consisted of one photo behind the bed - no quirky features, no unusual Scando design products or fixtures- which is such a shame, since the majority of photos shown on booking websites make the rooms look so interesting and colourful - however, these are the suites and the large balcony rooms only.
The size of the room would be best described as small - The decor consists of a double bed, two bedside tables, a small desk and chair - if someone is sitting at the desk, the other can't walk past... In the bathroom, if you're using the toilet, then you'll have the towel rail on top of you etc
Yes, there was everything you needed within the room, and there was nothing at all wrong with it... But having looked back at the Berns website since returning I feel kind of short changed, as if i missed out on an experience within the room.

HOTEL:
The location of the Berns is perfect - it's close to the water, just over from the old town, near the modern shopping areas, on a quiet peaceful square literally a stones throw from everything - you can walk everywhere.
The exterior of the hotel is beautiful, the interior public areas are opulent with huge chandeliers in the massive restaurant where breakfast is served in the morning. The original looking marble lifts are impressive.
The overall style of the hotel is cool, sophisticated, modern vintage - a great hotel, full of character.

It's almost like the Berns experience as a restaurant, a club, a bar, a famous sight within Stockholm is one thing, and that's very impressive - but, as a hotel room, and a place to sleep- it's a second thought that doesn't really matter...

Room Tip: Go for the more expensive rooms - e.g Large with balcony, or a Suite - as this will be a room fittin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlesForde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

It may be pricey, but so worth it in my opinion. We paid to upgrade to a double room (we were traveling for my husband for work and with 2 of his colleagues that had much smaller rooms) which was a great size for 2. I loved the hip decor with dark stained floors and furniture. The bed was comfortable. The location was perfect. I'd suggest just taking a taxi from the airport. It would probably cost the same as the express train from the airport and save you from having the walk to the station. It's a manageable walk, but not ideal with luggage. Once you are there, you can easily walk to all the major sights. Wifi and breakfast a free, which was nice since that's not the case at all Stockholm hotels. The breakfast was great and should make both Americans and Europeans happy.

We were in Sweden and Denmark for 9 days and stayed at 4 hotels. Berms was by far my favorite.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

This hotel´s got everything you need for a perfect stay in Stockholm! Ideal location, friendly and helpful staff and a feeling of luxury. We stayed on the 5th floor in a "large" room - it was really spaceous and beautyful with a balcony with a view of the rooftops in Stureplan. This hotel and this type of room is just perfect for relaxing after long days and nights in the city. The only drawback was the noise of the nightclub - but our room was so high up that we couldn¨t really hear it.

Room Tip: The 5th floor(it´s called 6th in Sweden) has really good rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank try_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Berns is one of the best hotels in Stockholm. Very friendly and service minded staff. Spacious room with unique features. Excellent breakfast in a luxurious atmosphere. My wife and I will surely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazuki I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012

Saw an add that Calexico was playing Berbs in Late Sept, which led m to want to check it out. Awesome spot. I have room on 6th floor overlooking rooftops of town. Very nice,, and in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: Get the biggest one avialable. Price isnt that high for the killer suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roman1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a week just last week and although it is a nice place I find the hotel identity a bit schizophrenic. The hotel has great heritage with stunning chandeliers and they've made it into stylish boutique hotel, but it gets crazy at night with the hotel turned into a party place for young locals with the girls all in six-inch heels. There's no place for a quiet drink although there's a verandah bar on 2nd floor that just didn't have style, not comfortable and filled with young party animals. There's supposed to be a cocktail bar for 'members' and hotel guests but with only two tables in a small corner. It was raining all week and the cocktail bar is closed when rainy so a bit useless. Overall, the rooms are nice but the bathtub in my room was leaky. Service was fine. Location was perfect. Just wish it was a more classy place as I would have expected for an elegant-looking boutique hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank le_petit_poisson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#18 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Norrmalm
Radisson Blu Strand Hotel, Stockholm
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#9 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#11 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Ostermalm
Story Hotel Riddargatan
Story Hotel Riddargatan
#22 of 158 in Stockholm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#5 of 158 in Stockholm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Property: Berns Hotel
Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#46 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing