We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic old world hotel”
Review of Berns Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Berns Hotel
Ranked #68 of 154 Hotels in Stockholm
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Can't miss this Hotel if in Stockholm. Centrally located and top notch staff and first class accomodations. Easy walk into the Stureplan and a the Vasa Mueseum. Night life at the Hotel is wonderful nad the City beuatiful.

Room Tip: Stay away from perimeter rooms if you want to sleep. A lot going on outside into the wee hours.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernsHotel, Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Thank you for your time and review. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm and hope to see you back here at Berns Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Anna Bengtsson - hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (723)
There are newer reviews for Berns Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 723 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Great location, stylish and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast, helpful staff. Some of the items on sale in the room were a lovely addition to our vacation routine. This was my second time staying at Berns and I didn't even think twice about looking at any other hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariya1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernsHotel, Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

We are so happy fpr your visit and your fantastic review. We're hoping for a third, fourth and many more stays when you come back to Stockholm.

Best regards,
Anna Bentsson - hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I only come to Stockholm usually once a year since 2009 and have stayed at the Berns in 2009,2010 and 2012. We actually stayed at the Grand Hotel in 2011 however the Grand does not have the WOW factor like the Berns as it is too big and you do not feel as special as a guest also the rooms in Berns are not as stuffy compaired to the Grand and the staff in Berns definately make you feel more welcolme.

Staying in Stockholm stay in Berns.

We have booked our room for March 2013 cannot wait, it is my favourite city hotel that I have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quieter due to large nightclub
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryWellTravelled69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernsHotel, Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Hi Colin,
thank you for these kind words. We are proud and happy that you've chosen to stay at Berns Hotel and will come back next year. We hope that we can wow you during your next visit. Welcome back.

Best regards,
Anna Bengtsson - hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed for one night. We arrived at the hotel early and went in to see if we could store our luggage whilst we spent the day in Stockholm. The front of house staff were really helpful, welcoming and friendly and immediately offered to see if our room was ready so we could check in early. After a few minutes we were checking into a very cool, very clean room with French doors looking out over the back of the hotel.
If I was being really picky then I'd say it was a shame the beds were two singles pushed together but really can't fault the hotel room, front of house staff or the breakfast which was epic.
There was so much choice and everything was of a very high quality. Everything was on offer, from waffles to cereals, choice of bread, cereals, juices, chocolate (yes really), pastries and cakes. I am sure there was more!!
We ate dinner in the restaurant (not the garden bistro). The staff at the bar were very knowledgeable, friendly and were happy to make any cocktails we liked! The food (Asian fusion) was delicious if not a bit pricey. Again the waiting staff were happy to talk us through the menu options and how it all worked (what we needed to order with what).
We had a cup of tea in the cafe at the front of the hotel one afternoon and this was the only negative part of our stay. We didn't realise that it was coming to the end of what was essentially afternoon tea (which looked amazing also by the way) and although we only wanted a cup of tea, the two staff were not very attentive and seemed a bit put out that we wanted a drink despite that fact that we were guests.
All in all, a great hotel, a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2trynewthings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

It was my first time in Stockholm on business and the Berns Hotel was great. Very comfortable room at a great rate for a major city. I loved the hotel restaurant...very trendy setting and the meal was wonderful. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SovSocGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BernsHotel, Manager at Berns Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you very much for your review. I'm happy that you enjoyed your first visit to Stockholm and I and the staff at Berns Hotel would like to welcome you back any time. Thank you again and hope to see you soon.

Best regards,
Anna Bengtsson - hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Berns is conveniently situated in the center of town right on Berzelii Park. Cool theatre and Asian restaurant in the buiding. But the rooms, lobby areas, elevators are worn down and need a renovation. I think it's overrated as a four-star hotel, but if you get a great price for the hotel, then it's worth it.

Room Tip: Pick a larger room
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Berns is my favourite Stockholm hotel for business trips. I have stayed at Berns about 8 times over the years and really looked forward to it every trip. The building is stunning and the rooms are a quirky modern nautical kind of style - ranging in size depending on your rate from Extra Small to very Deluxe. I love the breakfasts at Berns and the restaurant is also fabulous for dinner, which turns into a night-club on the weekends. Really loved my stays at Berns

Room Tip: Depending upon your budget - the small rooms are very small so if you can afford to splurge, go for...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stockholm hotels
Norrmalm
Nobis Hotel
Nobis Hotel
#19 of 154 in Stockholm
1,390 reviews
Norrmalm
The King's Garden
The King's Garden
#5 of 154 in Stockholm
330 reviews
Norrmalm
Miss Clara by Nobis
Miss Clara by Nobis
#6 of 154 in Stockholm
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norrmalm
Freys Hotel
Freys Hotel
#17 of 154 in Stockholm
1,301 reviews
Ostermalm
Hotel Diplomat
Hotel Diplomat
#12 of 154 in Stockholm
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Berns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berns Hotel

Address: 8 Naeckstroemsgatan | Berzelii Park, Stockholm 111 47, Sweden
Phone Number:
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Stockholm > Norrmalm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Stockholm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Stockholm
#48 Luxury Hotel in Stockholm
Price Range: £127 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Berns Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to one of the best-kept secrets in Stockholm. Located in a central city alley, Berns Hotel is a premium boutique hotel full of modern design. At the same time it is part of the legendary house of Berns dating back to 1863. Maybe it's the secret entrance that has made guests such as Rihanna, Bill Gates, Noomi Rapace and Dalai Lama pass through the doors. Or maybe it's the majestic breakfast hall with crystal chandeliers and mirrors. Either way, Berns Hotel is known for excellent service.Berns Hotel also opens the doors to Stockholm's hottest nightlife. When your stay include days from Wednesday to Saturday you will get a VIP wristband allowing you to jump the queues to the best nightclubs of the central city. You may also sleep in the morning after and receive a refreshing Bloody Mary before your late check-out. Private parking is found nearby and costs 550 SEK per day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Berns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berns Hotel Stockholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing